×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Saving Grace (Katie & Annalise Series #1)
     

Saving Grace (Katie & Annalise Series #1)

4.5 16
by Pamela Fagan Hutchins
 
Katie Connell is a high-strung attorney whose sloppy drinking habits and stunted love life collide hilariously during a doomed celebrity case in Dallas. She flees Texas for the Caribbean and escapes professional humiliation, a broken heart, and a wicked Bloody Mary habit, but ends up trading one set of problems for another when she begins to investigate the suspicious

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Saving Grace 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
LorieSP More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I am partial to real characters who do things according to their intuition, despite what might seem unreasonable to the rest of the world. This book was fun and had me laughing aloud, gasping, a little nervous at times, and not wanting to put it down. Fun, fast-paced and well done. I will be purchasing the next two! I got this free for my Nook through BookBub.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished Saving Grace, and though I didn't have high hopes because it was a free ebook, it was excellent! the plot was great to follow and the heroin was realistic, smart and funny. You could really relate to Katie, her workplace crush, a seemingly devastating professional blunder, and the best friend who is always there for you not matter what. Plus, haven't we all had some vacation in a spot that we never wanted to leave? Enjoy! I usually don't do series, but I just purchased book no. 2.
Anonymous 4 months ago
A multi faceted, feel good story from beginning to end. I cant wait to read the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
grouchyFL More than 1 year ago
I loved the characters and the story.
linzdeanna More than 1 year ago
A very good read although it took me about three chapters to really get into it. The main character (Katie) has a lot of struggles, a married coworker who she is very much in love with, alcoholism, a job that clearly makes her unhappy, and the unexplained death of her family. When she gets a chance to visit the island her parents died on she creates a new life for herself. The author did a wonderful job of creating such colorful characters. I really enjoyed this read and the ending was great.
smallstone More than 1 year ago
A quick read. Enjoyable, was a page turner in parts of the book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love to read books about characters that are "real", flawed like we all are. Katie, the main character, could be your sister, your best friend, your co-worker, even you. You become attached to the character and feel her pain, root for her victories. It's a great read! I've read other books by this author and this did not fail to remind me what a great writer she is.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great summer read. A funny, romantic mystery that I would recommend to all my friends. I look forward to picking up the sequel.
JerseyGirlBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Katie Connell is a Texas attorney whose life is in a tailspin. Her career has suffered a major setback when she lost her first criminal case. She hates her job, she drinks too much, she has a failed office romance, and she lost her parents in an auto accident on the island of St. Marcos. Stressed out and needing to get away, Katie returns to St. Marcos where she hopes to uncover information about her parents' mysterious deaths in the auto accident. Once there she becomes friends with Ava, a young island girl who is having an affair with a married Senator. When the Senator ends up dead, Ava is accused of stabbing him to death, and Katie decides to defend her. While on the island, Katie falls in love with an abandoned estate called Annalise, which is rumored to be haunted. Will she be able to fulfill her dreams of refinishing the house, save Ava, and solve the mystery of her parents death? Saving Grace is a fast-paced entertaining mystery that has just the right amount of drama, suspense and romance that keeps the readers intrigued and turning the pages. Author Pamela Fagan Hutchins weaves an exciting and humorous tale told in the first person narrative by sassy Katie Connell. Katie takes the reader along for the ride on her journey in search of answers, while transporting them between Dallas and the island of St. Marcos. This story has clever subplots, action and suspense that entices the reader to follow along as the mystery unfolds. And if that isn't enough for you, it has some heartfelt and emotional romance and friendship thrown in the mix. With an engaging cast of characters who are realistic, have flaws, and who are easy to relate to; witty dialogue and interactions; and a richly descriptive island setting; Saving Grace has it all: mystery, romance, drama, suspense and laugh-out-loud humor. This exciting whodunit is one heck of an entertaining read!  Saving Grace is the first book in the Katie and Annalise Series.
coziecorner More than 1 year ago
Pamela pens "Saving Grace" with a story line that is witty and humourous. Her characters are very realistic and relateable in this thrilling mystery that will keep you turning the pages. I love the way it takes place in very descriptive exotic places, as it makes you feel your right there. Highly recommended for all readers. This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.
Carol_W More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book and can't wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ganderson523 More than 1 year ago
The author graciously gave me a digital copy of this book when I didn't win the book she was giving away in a contest. Katie Connell is a Dallas attorney who is having a bad time dealing with life after losing her parents on the US Virgin Island, St. Marcos to an auto  accident.  Katie is a successful attorney but has a problem in that she is attracted to her investigator that happens to be married and on top of that  he doesn't return her interest.  Katie turns to alcohol to help deal with her pain and frustration.  Her brother and her assistant confront her to get into rehab to get some help but Katie decides to go to St. Marcos to try to get to the bottom of what really happened to her parents.  She isn't   buying what the police report says about the accident.  Her parents were celebrating their wedding anniversary and would never get into the kind of situation reported.  Katie loves the island, makes friends, and falls in love with an abandoned house on the island.  She tries to buy the house but the deal falls through so she goes back to her job in Dallas.  Once there she immediately has to take a criminal case and since she is not a criminal attorney, this is a problem.  She isn't prepared and the celebrity defendant tries to pay off a witness.  The whole thing blows up in Katie's face.  However she gets a call from St. Marcos that the house deal is on so she heads back to St. Marcos.  Adventures continue there and the book was hard to put down.   Read to find answers to how Katie deals with her situation on the island and dealing with her feelings with the investigator back in Dallas as well as answers to her parents' deaths.  The author does a great job making one see the island through her eyes.  There is suspense, island culture, as well as island politics. Things do come together for Katie.   I'm looking forward to Katie's adventures in the next two books.