×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Saving Graces
     

Saving Graces

4.5 60
by Patricia Gaffney
 

See All Formats & Editions

Meet the Saving Graces, four of the best friends a woman could ever have.

For ten years, Emma, Rudy, Lee, and Isabel have shared a deep affection that has helped them deal with the ebb and flow of expectations and disappointments common to us all. Calling themselves the Saving Graces, the quartet is united by understanding,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Saving Graces 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book almost 3 years ago and to this day it still sticks in my mind. I am one who reads all types of books from the classics to historical fiction to mainstream lit. THe writing wasn't fancy but the story was extremely well told with real emotion. I wanted to be friends with these girls. I do not agree with the first reviewer when she says it is confusing. If you read the name at the top of the chapter, you know exactly who is taking in that chapter of the book- not too difficult at all. ALL girls should be lucky enough to have a group of friends like the characters in this book. HIghly recommended.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've never written a review but feel compelled to let every woman know what a MUST READ this book is. I just happened across it and grabbed it to take on vacation. Lukily I was with a bunch of women that wouldn't allow me to sit in a chair and read while in Puerto Vallarta because that's exactly what I would have done. I could barely tear myself away. I cried so hard I couldn't read the words and a little while later I was laughing so hard the tears were streaming down my face. I was literally depressed when I was nearing the end. I wanted to still be a part of these womens lives that I had come to love. I've finished the book and I miss them terribly. Every woman should read this. I don't think a man would get it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I like primarily that this book is written very well. It has great passages that all women can relate to, from relationships with other women, with men and our relationships with our kids and parents. Its insightful, smart and real about how we all have ups and downs in life and it just makes you want to have a bonding sisterhood like this one where you can share all the bitter and sweet moments in your life like the saving graces do.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read and read this book! It is amazing!
EBrown More than 1 year ago
I may have been more moved by this book than I normally would due to my own recent diagnosis of breast cancer, however, I wasn't able to put this book down. I chose this book based on other reviews, but not really knowing what the story line was. I was not sorry! I struggled a little getting into it at first because of there being four main characters telling the story from their own point of view. By the end, the author had done an amazing job of defining each woman as an individual within the group. I would strongly recommend this book - especially to those women who have had the blessing of a longterm friendship with another woman. Great read!
teenadag More than 1 year ago
You will fall in love with all 4 ladies. Each has an interesting story and point of view. Hard to put this one down.
Casidk More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed hearing about a woman's group that is there for each other in all times of life. I think a book club would enjoy the camaraderie of the group.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My mother-in-law gave this to me and at first glance, it appeared to be stereotypical chick lit. However, this is not the case. The book was not predictable and there were enough twists and turns to make it very interesting. Once I got into it, I did not want to put it down. The characters are believable. This book is abot 4 close friends and each chapter is told by a different character. You actually get wrapped up in each life. The character's lives are believable and so is the storyline. A great story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't say I disliked this book, just found it boring. I thought the beginning chapters were introducing each character and giving a little bit of background for the story. I like to read a story all put together, not jusr chapters on characters. Got bored and quit reading at about page 83.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kwrunner More than 1 year ago
An overall enjoyable read, HOWEVER, it is peppered with totally unnecessary F-words that not only dumb down the writing, but also the characters. Surely a creative writer can come up with a better word to use. I got so tired of them that I put the book down for a long time before I picked it up again to finish, and even considered returning it. For this reason, this book will not be a part of my permanent library.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This has become one of my all time favorites. Well written and gets you so emotionally involved with the characters. You will laugh and you will cry and you will not want to put this book down. One that you just didn't want to end. Enjoy!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I could hardly put it down. Any woman with at least one great girlfriend will laugh, cry and relate to every aspect of this book. The author did an excellent job of capturing that perfect yet unexplainable relationship we have with our girlfriends they make us laugh harder than anyone we know, let us have a good cry when needed, and keep us level headed with an honesty only they cuold get away with, even when we are angry with them their friendships would not be traded for anything! I buying this book for my best friends!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
For the most part, I have given up reading fiction, because so much of it is either unbearably predictable or poorly written. However, I was looking for something fun to read while on vacation and came across The Saving Graces. Although it took a while for me to relate to the characters once I did I was unable to put the book down. I believe that we can all relate, on some level, to at least one of these women. I also believe that we can all learn at least one lesson from them. Ms. Gaffney writes as if she's speaking to you and keeps things interesting by telling the story from each characters unique perspective. Definitely worth reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My daughter, who is 16, Jade. She HATES books, with a passion she once told me. One day I was reading the Saving Graces and she wanted to read it too, all of the sudden I looked at my dresser to read more into the book and I could'nt find it. It was in the bare hands of my daughter Jade, she could not stop reading it. Somedays she would want me to bring her dinner to her room so she could read more. THANK YOU SAVING GRACES! for making it so intresting to all ages.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this was disappointing. The book didnt get good until the last 100 pages or so. It was dragging for a while there, and got confusing at times with all the switching around.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book made me feel like I knew the characters personally. I could relate to all the ups and downs the Graces experienced. It makes you realize how important the support of your friends is.