×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Saving Juliet
     

Saving Juliet

4.4 93
by Suzanne Selfors
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mimi Wallingford is a teen actress from a famous Broadway family. Unfortunately, she wants no part of a life in theatre, nor can she stand Troy, the teen pop idol who is cast to play Romeo opposite her as Juliet. When she and Troy are suddenly thrust back into Shakespeare's Verona, Mimi meets and befriends Juliet, seeing that they have more in common than just

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Saving Juliet 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
Bookgal14 More than 1 year ago
In Saving Juliet by Suzanne Selfors Mimi Wallingford is an actress from Manhattan playing Juliet Capulet in Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet with pop sensation, Troy Summers as her Romeo. On the night of the performance the necklace filled with the ashes of Shakespeare's quill pen that Mimi's wearing breaks and transports them back to Romeo and Juliet's Verona, Italy. Mimi is mistaken for being a Capulet and is whisked away to Capulet house. There she meet the Ice Queen-like Lady Capulet and the spunky Juliet. Now that she becomes friends with Juliet she wants to save her from Paris, her husband-to-be and her tragic ending. She starts falling for the hot and smooth Benvolio. Everything really picks up when Mimi finds Troy and the story unfolds very wonderfully. Troy works out a pop song with Mercutio before he fights with Tybalt, Juliet's cousin and dies. All the characters are awesome and it's great that Mimi and Troy end up together. And did anyone else notice that Lady Capulet's first name is Veroniue and Mimi's also controlling mom is named Veronica? Creepy similarity. Coincedence? Maybe, maybe not. Read Saving Juliet. It kept me laughing the entire time with Mimi's hilariously funny first-person narrative.
loveforthemoon More than 1 year ago
This was a very cute, and entertaining book, that I wouldn't mind reading again. It's funny too. I was a little worried that I might have trouble reading it. I was worried that when she goes back and meets Romeo and Juliet and all of the other characters that they would talk in Shakespearian. Luckily for me, they don't! They talk in a way that I and every teen can understand. :) Overall a good book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It take the tragic twist of the famous Romeo and Juliet into another perspective, more... modern, though in 1590's still. I read this book in under 20 hours, it is just one of those hard to put down books. I loved it!
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
I thought this book made a lot of great points and it was cute to see things end up so totally different, but yet the same characters are involved. The main character is Michelle(Mimi) Wallingford, the great granddaughter of a very famous theatre actress and someone who is not at all interested in the theater. All she wants is to go away to college...do something else for once and not have it involve theatre. Actually she hates the theatre, so much so that she has terrible anxiety attacks that most of the time leave her sick and frozen in place. Mimi finds out that her mother has been raiding a trust fund account that she was hoping to use for college on the West Coast to prop up the cash strapped theatre, enraging her and she blows up at her mother, on stage, right before the show, with an audience able to hear it as well. Storming off she runs out of the theatre and thru a twist of magic, lands in fair Verona, right at the time of Romeo and Juliet....the REAL one. What happens next is a race to understand what is happening as an outsider, and also not get herself and Troy, the hunky guy who plays Romeo in the play back home, killed by the warring Capulet and Montague houses. But Mimi takes the original story, and really "saves" Juliet because in this story she, nor Romeo die. We see Juliet as the young beautiful girl we expect, but we also see her as someone who truly did not want to marry an arranged man, who wanted to do so many other things. All the depth of a real teenage girl comes out in this story and you really get behind the plan to get them out of Verona and change the face of history. What I liked was not only did Mimi accomplish that task, but she broke thru her stage fright, she was brave and showed a lot of spunk. Plus the flirting she has with Benvolio back in Verona is sweet and full of young love. But it is her admission of affection to Troy that is the most satisfying and really lovely to see. Overall, the story is great and the dialog is wonderful. Not a line for line retelling of The Bard's original, but truly a new work that keeps you from scratching your head at Elizabethan English. The characters are all good and I can't think of any that I would take out. If you want to have a fun, fast read, then this will be good for you...just don't use this as your basis for your paper on the original, kay?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You should really buy this book! I LOVE the characters in this book, they're soooo funny
DaisyBuchanan10 More than 1 year ago
Why is it full of typos? Even the title is spelled wrong on the title pages.
Madeline Michels More than 1 year ago
Omg this book is EPIC!!! the perfect thing for a shakespeare geek like me teehee but omg i just about died from laughter when it talked about tybalts creeper codpeice.....i love this book!!!!!
PuzzleMe More than 1 year ago
I have always love Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet and have always wondered what it would be like if it ended happily. This allows me to see it. Suzanne Selfors did an amazing job of incorporating Romeo and Juliet into her original plot. The way she wrote this book was all around perfect. This is a book that any Shakespeare fan can enjoy. You may enjoy it even if you are not a Shakespeare fan. This book is unique. I have to say that I have never read one like it. I would recommend it. It is sweet and I love the ending. Guess you will have to read it to see what I mean=].
Tracy Majer More than 1 year ago
I throughly enjoyed this book! What a great twist on a classic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Age recpmendation please
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is rare to find a book that is such an epic read....you wish there were more when you are done. Brilliance of creativity and the unknown realms of imagination completely envelope this book. There are numerous tricks and even steamy scenes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book because it had a big twist on a classic tale I definitely reccomend this book to all readers Suzanne selfors, well done
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Never before had I thought about Romeo abd Juliet this way before! It was romantic, funny and adventurous! I must agree with Mimi, this up-beat retelling of the timeless tragedy has a better ending than the real version (no offense Shakespear)! A must read!!!