×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Saving Sailor: A Novel
     

Saving Sailor: A Novel

3.8 316
by Renee Riva
 

See All Formats & Editions

The year is 1968. After spending the first half of summer vacation driving her Italian family crazy with her fake southern accent, 10-year old A.J. finds a soul mate on the other side of the island to divert her attention.

She is intrigued to learn that Danny shares her same burning desire to know God and realizes that few people her age think as deeply as the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Saving Sailor 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 316 reviews.
JEX More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the story of A.J. and her summer on the island State Park. The Author Renne Riva perfectly captured both her sense of wonder as well as intense feelings about life in general. A world where right is right and wrong is just plain old wrong. The Title Saving Sailor is a wonderful title as it shows how a single act of compassion can affect everyone around you as well as your attitude toward everything,not always in a positive way. Her relationships with parents, siblings, friends and pets has been carefully brought out through the eyes of a 10 year old. The large Italian, Roman Catholic family reminds me of life when I was a child. We were not Italian, but the Catholic teaching was ever present in our lives as well. A.J.'s pets, and all animals in general were so important to her. All of God's creatures both big and small meant the world to A.J. She felt as though she were under the watchful eyes of God while she was here on earth. Here to protect and value all living things. The star watching nights on her beach were so precious to her, and while reading this story I remembered my own star watching nights while camping all those years ago. Ms. Riva wrote a very valuable story about life, love and family. It was as though the Author Renee Riva, had a video of my life as a child, and brought forth many of the intimate feelings and memories of my youth. Some things I did not even remember until the Author told of them and then POW, That's right, I remembered that, or I did that too! I hope you all read this story and remember what it was like to be 10 again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Saving Sailor was an entertaining story with christian values and characters. The story was entertaining and easy to read. It was a short read that would be good for kids from 5th grade up. There were some characters struggling with their choices in life that keeps me from reccommending this for younger children. I very much enjoyed the read and hope you will too.
dr_phantasmagorical More than 1 year ago
I don't usually read stuff like this. My time being limited I usually go for scifi or fantasy. Wow what a good book. I laughed, I cried, I remembered. It was a heck of a trip down memory lane. The funny parts were so funny I laughed out loud, people looking at me sideways wondering what was I reading.(had my nook in a waiting room) The sad parts were so emotional I cried. (thank goodness I was alone then) It really brought back childhood memories of my own. Boy I wish I could write like this. It was a good story and it was a free one too. Hope you get as much out of it as i did. Well enough heart warming stuff, back to scifi/fantasy for a while.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story--I am an avid animal lover so of course I was drawn in by the cover--I am glad I was. The story is a good one and it is an easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun read and I admit, I laughed out loud at times. This is a "Young Adult" book that even adult adults will enjoy. I love to read books that are page turners and you stay up until 3a finishing them. This is not that book, instead, It is an easy read, easy to put down and easy to pick back up, which for its own purpose and own time is also fun to read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I received this book as a free download on my nook. This book has a little of everything: sibling squabbles, family traditions, honesty, love, humor, religion & guilt, turmoil and forgiveness. I really identified with the characters in this book. It was an easy, entertaining read -- a great book to take on vacation. It is good for tweens, teens and adults. I am itching to read the next two in the series. Thank you B&N for introducing me to a new author.
Dareads More than 1 year ago
Let me start off by saying I'm a die hard mystery fan. I chose to read this book because it was free through ebooks and I thought a little light reading would be nice for a change. I thought this book was great! I loved the characters, they were laugh out loud funny. It was a very refreshing read of a time that was so carefree. The story brought back memories of my lazy summers camping and boating on the lake. I highly recommend this book and I will be reading the sequels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just bought my nook and downloaded to check it out. This story had me captured immediately. If you just want to read a good story; download this book.
CheekyTN More than 1 year ago
This book was very touching and I loved all the characters. I found it to be sweet and so funny that I found myself laughing out loud sometimes. I have thought of some of the funny things in the book several times since I read it. Great family book that I will recommend to my family and friends.
frostyintx More than 1 year ago
This was a quick, enjoyable and heart-warming read. I find myself still describing scenes to my friends and co-workers that made me laugh out loud or made we reevlaute life simplified through the eyes of a child.
SeaKar More than 1 year ago
This book is classified as children's literature and, while I'm certain it would be an entertaining read for anyone in their early teens, the true messages of the book will likely be lost on them. With a unique writing style, this story -- set in a time when life seemed more simple -- is told through quirky characters and with humor. The importance of family, faith, friendship, and forgiveness are ever present. The 10-yr old main character seems wise beyond her years. I found myself thinking "I remember (doing) that!" throughout this book and thoroughly enjoyed the memories that came back to me because of it. I would recommend this book to readers of all ages, readers of all interests.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent story about growing up with your first dog. What summer is suppose to be like when you are 10. Enjoying the lake, spying on your siblings, tormenting your parents. A wonderful story about family and faith. This is a story for the keeper-shelf.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I picked this book up as it sounded good and once I started reading I could not put it down. This story is what time's were like in the 1960s and AJ's love of animals as well as how she lives her young life makes you want to go back to those good old days. This is laugh out loud humor and a book you would recommend to anyone who wants to enjoy a good read, good family and clean fun entertainment. I hope the author let's us be part of this family again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable and cute read about a girl's summer vacation. The book reminds me of the "Wonder Years". It is a Christian fiction novel and I enjoyed A.J.'s trust and love of God. This is a good read for a young girl but adults would enjoy the simple, easy story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this book. A.J reminds me of myself...wanting to save every animals she finds. I have the same love as A.J had for Sailor like I do for my dog. A quick and enjoyable read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Life through the eyes of a 10 year old is comical at times. She is very much aware of her spiritual needs and strives to walk in the direction.
bookworm62TG More than 1 year ago
this book was a cute story. I think a teenage girl would really enjoy it. It is about a young girls summer vacation with her family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it from start to finish....fantastic story...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this story! I chose it because I also had a dog named Sailor when I was a child. He also was a collie mix. I laughed so hard at the antics of this family. I really think the book should be made into a movie! The author, Renne Riva is a talented story teller and I look forward to more of her books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book !!! It was well written, I laughed outloud . It made me think about life and brought me back to my childhood. please read , you will be glad you did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good, funny enjoyable quick read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful and touching
GHott More than 1 year ago
I'm generally a plot reader and while the storyline is good - there is no plot. I really enjoyed A.J.'s thoughts on God. He's a huge part of her life and makes it clear to everyone where they stand. She's also very honest - wondering, like a 10 year old does - what exactly she is to repent for and when it's not really a sin.
janeshmoe More than 1 year ago
This was a "nice" book, it wasn't earth shattering like Old Yeller or anything like that, just a nice ordinary book that lets your reminice about childhood summers, if you ever went camping on family vacations or went on vacations that were not expensive but you had fun anyway and made life long friends while there, then let this book take you back to those days.......this book is set in a simpler time yet the relationships and emotions and feelings are the same ones that children and adults still have today that doesn't change.