×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Say the Word
     

Say the Word

3.8 28
by Jeannine Garsee
 

See All Formats & Editions


Everyone in Shawna Gallagher's life expects perfection and Shawna does her best to oblige. She gets good grades, dates the right boys, and is tirelessly polite. But when her estranged mother dies suddenly, Shawna's not sure how to have the "perfect" reaction. She's still angry that her mother left ten years ago and embarrassed that she started a new family with

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Say the Word 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love to read and I am very picky about what I read. I picked up this book by chanca and read it in two days, I LOVE DIT!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I honestly can't say I'm impressed with this book, but I can say I enjoyed reading it. It has a lot of ups and downs, scenes that make you laugh and cry, etc. It's easy to understand Shawna and really be in her shoes throughout the situations she must endure. Regarding the plot twists, surprises, etc.: there are a fair amount, but it's easy to see them coming. The foreshadowing of events are there, but obvious enough. The storyline is unique and is written out well, however. Props to the author. The ending is bittersweet and very realistic; the fact that the author did not go for the gushy, happy-go-lucky ending is fully appreciated and impressive. I would recommend this book. Although I wouldn't force others to read it with clamors that it's a fantastic book and etc. and etc., I would still recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Be nice they were just asking how would u like it if someone said that to u huh? Ya thats what i thought. Rude
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wil someone lend me this?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing and a super fast read!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive been wanting this book forever,now that i have finally read it i could not have been more pleased. Sad yet happy ending. I promise you will enjoy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kenzie Roark More than 1 year ago
336 pages. uses the f word 4 or 5 times by the first 170 pages, not something for younger children. but its a pretty great book!
Leslie Suarez More than 1 year ago
very awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
PrettyLittleLiar_Nina More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! Its was so detail, I could picture in my head perfectly! he books story was so realistic and true! Its also a funny story about overcoming your fears and problems, and dealing with things.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MLaVoraPerry More than 1 year ago
I was very upset with Jeannine Garsee after I read Say the Word. The author made me care so deeply about 17 year-old protagonist Shawna Gallagher that when she (Shawna) made certain choices, I wanted to march right into her world (where, thanks to Garsee I uncomfortably lived for the day and a half it took me to finish the book during every spare moment) and advise Shawna to think twice. On page one of Say the Word, "perfect" Shawna's world is turned on its head when she discovers that her estranged and lesbian mom is dying-anytime now. The story rolls downhill from there. Shawna's used to doing whatever her control-freak dad says. Oh, by the way, he hates Shawna's mom and the woman she left him for. But when Dad's edicts conflict with what Shawna knows is right, and those edicts may just lead to someone's suicide, Shawna starts to let "evil" non-compliant Shawna be heard-loud and clear. This book is filled with so much to praise-fully fashioned characters, believable dialogue, heartbreaking drama, and imperfections all over the place exhibited by people I care about in spite of them. Based on Say the Word and debut novel, Before, After, and Somebody In Between, I'm a certified Jeannine Garsee fan. I will read anything this author writes-even if it ticks me off. LaVora www.mlavoraperry.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i bought this book out of complete boredem, and after reading a chapter, i couldn't stop. i'd never read a book, so, real. the books pretty emotional. but i promise if you read it, youll love it. Some parts, are hard to understandd, but after re-reading it, you'll get it[: for anyone overr age 12, its a good read.!
BrookeReviews More than 1 year ago
Shawna Gallagher has many different sides: there is Perfect Shawna: who always does and says the right things, Evil Shawna: who snaps at people and doesn't want to be good anymore, and Pathetic Shawna: who grovels at people's feet. When her estranged lesbian mother dies, Shawna is forced to deal with the many emotions that are flooding through her being. She's angry at her mother for leaving when she was young and never coming back, embarrassed over her mother's lover and children, and she's tired of following her father's every rule. Not only does Shawna have to deal with her family drama, but people at school are starting to talk about her sexual orientation, and her best friend, Lee Lee, has a secret that could ruin their friendship forever. I have to say that Say the Word was a terrific read and wonderful addition to the Young Adult world. Garsee has a very strong voice, and it comes rushing at you through her characters. This was so well written, that I found myself angry at the actions the characters were taking, and furious at the way they reacted to the events in the story. So, kudos to Garsee for getting my blood boiling! Following Shawna was like riding a rollercoaster. Her emotions were all over the place, and with reason; she's struggling with who she is, what she wants to be, and how people see her. Readers please don't think that Say the Word is just a story about lesbians or about a girl dealing with the death of a family member. It's so much more than that. It's about family bonds and losing old ones and gaining new ones. It's about standing up for what you believe is right, even though it may hurt the people you love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is NOT the same girl as North of Beautiful. If you compare the covers, it is obvious that they are not the same. Come on, people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg, i just noticed. The girl on the cover is the same girl on the cover of north of beautiful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One word wooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwwww
PCKR More than 1 year ago
YA author Jeannine Garsee offers yet another amazing book. As always, her characters are well drawn, and thoroughly believable. They engage you, draw you into their world, and present the reader with all the gritty realities of life. Say The Word touches upon a myriad of difficult and challenging subjects facing teens and YA today...a girl facing the reality of not only losing her mother, but coping with her mother's lesbian choices, and the 'other' family she leaves behind. That her mother's second family was Jewish only compounds the problems. The deeper you go into this story, the more compelling, and challenging the issues become. A great read.