×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Scarlet Nights (Edilean Series #3)
     

Scarlet Nights (Edilean Series #3)

3.7 225
by Jude Deveraux
 

See All Formats & Editions

What if you learned that your fiancé was not who he claimed to be?

Engaged to the charming and seductive Greg Anders, Sara Shaw is happily anticipating her wedding in Edilean, Virginia. The date has been set, the flowers ordered, even her heirloom dress is ready. But just three weeks before the wedding, Greg gets a telephone call during the night and leaves

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Scarlet Nights (Edilean Series #3) 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 224 reviews.
kimba88 More than 1 year ago
This book had me from the first few pages. Jude Deveraux writes about Mike Newland and Sara Shaw. Greg is an undercover detective who is assigned to return to his home town of Edilean, VA. He has not been there in years, even though he has a sister Tess who lives there. His job is to protect Sara from her fiance Greg. Greg is really the son of a famous con-artist who has escaped the authorities for years. Her and her son are after something Sara has but what? Mike never talks about his past, his woman have all been criminals wifes tied to cases. How does he handle a good girl like Sara? this book is book 3 of the Edilean Series but can stand alone. You'll love it!
AuthorKellyMoran More than 1 year ago
Author Jude Deveraux is the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of thirty-eight books. There are more than sixty million of her books in print worldwide. Other titles include: Days of Gold, Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, and Secrets. She resides in North Carolina with her family. This book is part of the EDILEAN SERIES, though can be read as a stand alone novel. In the quaint little town of Edilean, Virginia, Sara Shaw is making wedding plans, much to the distress of her family and friends. Greg Anders is not the man they would have chosen for the town's "golden child." Greg isn't like everyone else in town--he's abrupt, rude, and has a superior attitude. Plus, most think he's cheating on her. But Sara is devoted to him, assured that Edilean just doesn't know him. Then Greg leaves town unexpectedly, leaving Sara to wonder when he'll return and where they stand in their relationship. Strangely enough, undercover cop Mike Newland shows up just after Greg leaves. And the town all but bows down to the newcomer. When Sara learns that Mike was sent to Edilean because her fiancé and his mother are career criminals and planning the heist of a lifetime, Sara doesn't know what to do. Worse, she's finding herself attracted to the man, a man who cannot emotionally or physically commit to her. Either way, Mike and Sara need to figure out what it is Greg's family wants from her, before they find it first and she becomes expendable. The only fault I found with the book was that the characters backgrounds and inner thoughts didn't always seem to match their actions. For instance, Sara is witty and smart, yet she lets this Greg guy push her around and doesn't see through him. And Mike, who refuses to ever commit and marry, who lives a thousand miles away, quickly falls for Sara and is a bit soft at times. In saying that, I always take pleasure in a Jude Deveraux book. She writes with a poetic simplicity that makes her stand alone. Though a romantic suspense, this is heavy on the contemporary romance with intrigue elements. The hero and heroine were hilarious in their dialog. Back and forth, back and forth. I laughed out loud. As typical of her books, Deveraux is at her best when describing her settings. It puts the reader right there in the pages with the characters. The secondary characters were a nice add to the storyline. I can't wait to read more about them. Recommended. Kelly Moran, Author and Reviewer Bookpleasures
MzLittleBird More than 1 year ago
First let me say I love it when Ms. Deveraux writes books in series, and the Edilean series is very good. I recently purchased a NookColor, which I love. I was excited to again start reading Ms. Deveraux's books again. But I have to say I am a bit disappointed. I've read the five books currently available in the six book "Edilean" series. I'm not sure if Barnes and Noble is responsible for my disappointments or if Ms. Deveraux is responsible, but I believe it is a combination of the two. In the first book I found a reference to a character and the name was wrong, page 177 "Joce and Luke", should be "Ingrid and Luke". Throughout each book every time the word "historical" is used, the word "an" is before it, this is grammatically wrong, and hard to read time after time. These are probably issues that should be direct to Ms. Deveraux. However, having the ebooks numbered incorrectly, whose fault is that? I just finished #5 which has a preview for #3 which clearly indicates that "Scarlet Nights" #3 is after "The Scent of Jasmine" #5. Also, on every page of the story portion of the ebook version of The Scent of Jasmine in the top left corner is "Judge deveraux" so the name of the author is wrong on every page and the author's last name is not capitalized. Who is responsible for that? Now let's talk about ebook number #4 in this series, the fault of both Barnes and Noble and Ms. Deveraux. Having read five of the six books in this series, I have to ask, what were these people thinking? First #4 is not anything more than a seventy page short story, and completely unnecessary to the series as a whole. The enhanced portion of this book, which by the way this book is only available in NookColor format, is video. I was hopeful that the videos would add to the story. They do not. To make matters worse, the videos are all of poor quality and have a very amateurish feel to them. Again I have to ask, what were these people thinking? If I was buying this series as regular paper versions, I would be extremely upset that book #4 in the series was unavailable to me. The story series is very good, and I still love my NookColor and Ms. Deveraux is still one of my all time fav romance writers (I've read probably more than 20/25 of her books), but I am disappointed in the execution of these books to electronic format. Please someone tell me where is the quality control and editors when these conversions are done?
Kristan Pounders More than 1 year ago
While I have some questions about some things I'm hoping will later be answered, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's like the Montgomery/Taggerts again. It's a great, fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful book. as usual Deveraux has yet again kept me on the edge of my seat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
songbirdsue More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story and the characters in it. It kept my attention from the start all the way until the end. The banter between our two main characters is fun and I saw the development in both of them take place gradually as they came to appreciate and love one another. The mystery was good and progressed well throughout the story. More sex than I prefer but a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Please tell me how to get to Edilean! I want to move there, but the next best thing is this series that immerses me in it. Jude is so clever to create an endearing town, and her characters are intriguing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good . Hard to put down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a fast moving funny romance with hidden mysteries ... strong characters, female and male, they will put a smile on your face and a question mark in your mind ... great series a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The series is wonderful. The characters are well rounded, each story can be read on its own. The characters are intertwined nicely from one story to the next with out having to repeat or give an extensive backstory. This book moves fast and draws you in quickly. A lot of action in this one that men would enjoy it too. This is a good book to read together with your spouse. The love scenes are beautifully discripted and very realistic to a new couple discovering each other with out being vulgar. Also a great action packed ending! I loved this book and will read it again.
CDC1 More than 1 year ago
True Jude Deveraux.
Pretend_Spoon More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
RomanceLoverKO More than 1 year ago
Well written and wonderful characters. Read the first two books in the series a year or so ago, and was able to pick up in the story line just where I left off. Hoping to read the next book in the coming weeks!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
booboo4584 More than 1 year ago
This series is great!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago