×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Scent of Rain and Lightning
     

The Scent of Rain and Lightning

3.8 1801
by Nancy Pickard
 

See All Formats & Editions

One beautiful summer afternoon, Jody Linder receives shocking news: The man convicted of murdering her father is being released from prison and returning to the small town of Rose, Kansas. It has been twenty-three years since that stormy night when her father was shot and killed and her mother disappeared, presumed dead. Neither the protective embrace of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Scent of Rain and Lightning 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1801 reviews.
JoanieGranola More than 1 year ago
When this book was released, I assumed it was another "feel good chick book" based on the cover and the title. After reading the description I was intrigued, but still did not expect to be blown away. I was pleasantly surprised both reading the book and reaching the end - this book far exceeded my expectations. I recommended it to a coworker while I still had 30 pages left to read! This book begins in the present day - a story of a girl whose parents have been murdered and how they deal with the news of the murderer's commuted sentence. After the first chapter or two, the book turns back 23 years to tell the story of how the girl's parents came to be dead. The story switches from past to present to explain the characters and their relationships to each other. This book is well written to explain the details of what happens in not only the crime, but in the characters' daily lives as well. While you're involved in the book, you think you know who did what and what really happened, but you'd be wrong. You may have some idea of how the characters/plot is developing, but you'll be taken aback by the twists at the end of the story. This book is good enough to keep you turning the pages, but toward the end you'll be hard-pressed to put it down until you've read the last word. There is a part of this story that's a little corny, and it's the relationship between the girl and the murderer's son who, as an adult, helped his dad get out of prison. It's corny and a little predictable/unbelievable, but it doesn't take anything away from the story as a whole and becomes an endearing part of it by the ending. I give this book five stars because it is worth it. I was really surprised by the twists in the story and was satisfied with the ending.
laners_08 More than 1 year ago
When I read the summary of this book I knew it was going to be good, however I did not expect it to become my top read so far in 2010. This book is completely captivating and pulls the reader into a small town community that is tight knit and shows the strength in numbers, even when they are wrong. The story that unfolds is unlike any other story I have ever read, and trust me, I've read a ton of books. Nancy Pickard did and amazing job and the twists and turns in this book are truly unique and make for an amazing and intriguing book that is well worth buying! I know I will be reading it again in the future.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Rose, Kansas, the Linder family owns the town. The powerful ranching clan runs a tight ship especially in terms of protecting twentyish schoolteacher Jody Linder. In 1986, Billy Crosby was arrested for killing her father Hugh-Jay Linder dead; the victim's wife and Jody's mom Laurie vanished. Billy was convicted of the murder as he had motive after being fired from the High Rock Ranch and Laurie's bloodied sundress was found inside his truck. Billy's son, attorney Colin believes his dad is innocent and has spent years working appeals. He obtains a new trial and secures the release of his father while the retrial takes place. Colin's deep conviction shakes up the town and its leading family as each goes back two decades to relook what happened. This is a great legal thriller enhanced by a strong family drama. The story line grips the reader as two families were impacted in 1986 and must go through the horror once again with one hoping for the same results and the other for a different conclusion. Although the denouement re what happened twenty plus years ago is too neat, fans will set aside time once started on one of the year's best dramas as this is a character driven crime tale that is impossible to put down. Harriet Klausner
Beth_Groundwater More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved Nancy Pickard's The Virgin of Small Plains, but this book is even better. Nancy is a magician at making you feel what her characters are feeling and at weaving enough suspense into her writing that you just know that something dreadful is going to happen on the next page, and you have to get to it to find out what. She uses different viewpoint characters who only see part of what's going on and understand even less, and lies, and hidden objects to draw you into a mystery that will lead you in many different directions until you're shocked by the surprise at the end. This is a mystery that transcends its genre into mainstream, almost literary, fiction because of its beautiful prose, the spot-on descriptions of the Kansas cowboy country setting and life, the complexity and depth of the characters, and the masterful way that it's plotted. I don't want to give anything away about the story, because in no way do I want to diminish someone else's joy in reading it, and joy you will find!
BLUEEYEBE More than 1 year ago
The mystery involves a rich and powerful ranching family in a small Midwest town and a murder that took place twenty some years ago. Much of the book takes place in the past; the events leading up to the murder of Jody's parents. At twenty-five, the world as she knows it is dumped upside down. The killer of her parents is being released from prison, pending a new trial, and he is back in town. It's also a love story and a story of a close-knit family. A memorable, engrossing, captivating read that is totally unpredictable. I thoroughly enjoyed!!
Pebbles730 More than 1 year ago
This is the second book in the Barnes and Noble recommends that has been added to my collection of favorite books. I was drawn into the story so deeply I felt like the characters were old friends of mine. The way the Author explains the details about them and how they are feeling and what the scenes are around them is amazing. I felt that I was right along with them throughout the book. The surprise ending had me sit up and say NO WAY!! I thought it was great, I am going to purchase her previous book since I liked this one so much. Once you get started with this one you won't be able to put it down. It is so easy to read, nice flow to the story and a totally enjoyable experience.
roem3 More than 1 year ago
I was sceptical when I first heard of this book. I decided to take a chance reading it based on positive reviews of the author, who I was unfamiliar with. I could hardly put it down once I started reading. It conjured up so many emotions in me: a sense of awe at the landscape, fear, anticipation and surprise at the denouement. I will try another book by this author but this is one to definitely recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is outstanding! It is different from what I normally read, so I wasn't expecting much. I just saw the book on this website and thought I would try it. I was sucked in by the story in the very beginning and couldn't tear my eyes from the pages until I was finished. The author fantastically draws her characters. I felt so invested in their lives. The writing put ME right there in Rose, Kansas, experiencing and feeling everything, which is something that is often missing in books I have read recently. Books have also left me bored because they are so predictable. With THIS book, I was left guessing until the very end- and nothing that I predicted was even close to the truth.
born2b1 More than 1 year ago
I was able to vividly picture the town, the homes, the people - the entire landscape of this novel. I was spellbound by each character's personality and descriptive daily life. The characters were my neighbors or the ones down the block; the plot believable; the main love story was every woman's dream! Difficult to put down.
Leslicsa More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read by Nancy Pickard and I absolutely loved the story. The characters are very believable, the plot maintains your attention and, there are some great twists and turns. I highly recommend if you would like a fairly quick read - 292 pages that will keep you asking for more. This is the 3rd book I have read based on B&N recommendation and I have never been disappointed! I have discovered a new author for my library and I really look forward to Nancy Pickard's next book.
Trishinomaha More than 1 year ago
This book was an excellent read and hard to put down. I finished it in about three days (Love my new Nook by the way =)). As I was reading I kept trying to figure out "who done it" but was blown away by the ending. I read her first novel as well and enjoyed it too. I grew up in Kansas and I think that was part of the allure for me for beginning to read this author's books. I hope she has another one in the works. I'll be looking for it.
grandmareadsalot More than 1 year ago
Finished this book in one day. Many characters but very easy to follow. Liked the writing so much I went online and ordered her other novel.
KatieG802 More than 1 year ago
The characters in this book were so realistic and I could clearly picture them. There was just enough detail to picture the scene and the characters, but not so much that you get bored. I thought the beginning was a little slow, but it's definitely worth continuing on! It picks up soon after the first chapter and draws you in with mystery and the depth of her characters. I thought it was a beautiful story and well written. I definitely thought I knew how it was going to end and was completely wrong! And I read/watch a lot of mystery kind of shows and can usually guess what's coming next. I'm certainly going to read more from this author!
Lady_Hawk More than 1 year ago
This is a great quick read for the summer. Well written with just enough twists and turns to make it interesting.
litred More than 1 year ago
My first Nancy Pickard book. I enjoyed the story, good small town adventure. Charecters personalities came alive and the plot pulled you in. This book has romance, suspence, murder keeps your interest. I will purchase more book by this author and recommend it to friends. Read Read Read
Reny44 More than 1 year ago
I was a little more than disappointed in this book, hoping for a thrilling, suspenseful tale of murder in a small town and, instead getting a romance novel with a rather obvious ending. I would recommend this book for a pre-teen or teenage girl but not for an adult of either gender looking for a "good read".
1DANA3 More than 1 year ago
This gripping story begins in the present as Jody, an English teacher, whose father was murdered 23 years before and her mother disappeared the same night learns that the killer has been granted a new trial and is released from prison. She was only 3 years old when it happened. Two families were affected in 1986 and must go through the horror all over again. Jody is faced with questions of whether her family's influence caused the wrong person to be arrested for 23 years; whether it is possible to love someone connected with the convicted murderer and what her role should be. This was an exciting story line that will keep readers glued to the pages! I recommend!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent story, wonderful characters...didn't want it to end!
katehasl More than 1 year ago
this makes a nice book club selection. i'm not a huge mystery fan, but this book keeps the reader interested all the way through. the author has a refreshing style that doesn't leaving you hanging for long, but fills you up with surprising twists and turns. a really enjoyable book.
Paavec More than 1 year ago
A totally entertaining murder mystery. I am not a very good sleuth, but if I can figure it out before I am halfway, I put the book down. This was not that book. I did not have a clue until the final chapter. It was awesome!
vlw More than 1 year ago
The story was a really good idea. I loved the writing and the suspense and frankly I was surprised by the outcome. However, the book could have been longer; I feel like the last 50 pages were rushed and the author put too much information in the last few chapters. The ending was rushed and, I felt, could have been laid out just a bit better. However, overall, good book and I would recommend it.
Just_the_facts_Maam More than 1 year ago
Not my typical read, but saw it recommended in the Nook blog (Unbound) and was also recommended by the manager at my local B&N, so I thought I might give it a try. It's the story of Jody Linder, whose parents were killed when she was a little girl. Now grown, a storm is approaching the small Kansas town where she lives--but there is also a different kind of storm approaching, involving the killer, and others who were involved on the night of the murder. Its easy to sense the approach of the rain storm, but not everyone sees the real storm that's coming. The characters are real and interesting and hte plot keeps you involved, I read this book pretty quickly because it is so interesting--I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
... that you are actually in Kansas. This book is excellent because it is a mystery at it's finest, in which case you really can't guess who did what up until the very end.
pcjeff More than 1 year ago
This book was a lot of fun to read. I found myself quickly being drawn into the story as the book narrated the few weeks leading up to the "big event." I was especially pleased that the story presented some "twists" and "turns" that were unexpected! The only thing I found disappointing were two gratuitous sex scenes that truly didn't help the book's story in any way shape or form. They seemed simply tacked on as an after-thought. Otherwise, a great read.
Iris617 More than 1 year ago
I must say this is one of the best books I've read. I am usually good at knowing the ending before hand, but I must say the author used a very original ending. Definitely recommend it and will probably read it again =-)