×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Schindler's List
  • Alternative view 1 of Schindler's List
  • Alternative view 2 of Schindler's List
     

Schindler's List

4.1 49
by Thomas Keneally
 

See All Formats & Editions

The acclaimed bestselling classic of Holocaust literature, winner of the Booker Prize and the Los Angeles Times Book Award for Fiction, and the inspiration for the classic film—“a masterful account of the growth of the human soul” (Los Angeles Times Book Review).

A stunning novel based on the true story of how German war profiteer and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Schindler's List 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
LeandraCA More than 1 year ago
Seeing the movie first, I had an idea what the book would entail. Reading the book, would put image in my head from the film. There were some days that I couldnt read it because it was to intense. The book made me cry but also made me smile. This book is a must have for your permanent library for years and years. All should read this.
tory Nelson More than 1 year ago
Thomas Keneally has had a series of wonderful novels under his name but this has to be one of his best. Oskar Shindler starts out in the book as supporter of the Nazi party and an undercover agent for the Nazis to hold in their horrific plan to seize Poland. He is a smooth talker, a visionary, and a young entrepreneur by the start of the memorable World War II. By just getting an understanding of his background, you would never believe he would become a hero for not just the 1,100 Jews he saved, but for the rest of the world. Keneally does a great job showing the starting life of Shindler. We see his succession from the war and his transformation from a man who was doing fine making profits to someone who uses his fortune to open factors not just for his benefit. He supplies work and a sense of safety for Jew workers he hires. Previously having confirmations with Nazis and being arrested two times before, he is a warrior who finds a liking for danger. This story is not only about Shindler. We hear about the journeys of Jews in the ghettos and what occurs in the concentration camps. Some of the things you will hear can be disturbing but we all need to just be thankful that we didn’t have to go through this horrific time period. We hear stories from his friend like Itzhak Stern. We learn how important Shindler is to their lives. I loved this book because I see that guardian angels are real. Keneally shows this by providing us visual of Shindler looking after the Jews not just in the multi factors they went through but also at their ghetto. I wasn’t able to put down the book and I finished it within two weeks. Being the savior of 1,100 doesn’t seem to be much compared to the 6 million lives destroyed by the Nazis. 1,100 lives is a ton. He saved families and if you think about it, those people had off springs. His story still makes impacts on people and I’m glad he was honored by the Jewish world. Troy N.
BrandyGirl More than 1 year ago
I wanted to read this and just finished it. I thought I would really enjoy it after all of the great reviews surrounding it. It gave a very good history of Schindler and the people surrounding him but to me that was the problem. It read more like a history book to me than a story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is an amazing account of one mans desire to help people who were singled out for their religious beliefs. Anyone who has ever been a history buff or not will find this book compelling and will have trouble putting it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SayarpreetCougar More than 1 year ago
This book is about Oskar Schindler, a man who came into the metal-making business just to make money. Then, he turned around and used his wealth to extricate 1,200 Jews from death camps all around Poland. He did it because he contradicted with what the SS did to Jews. Schindler took Itzahk Stern¿s quote that ¿ He who saves a single life saves the world entire¿ and ran away with it. He put his own future at risk for the plethora of Jews he tried to save, so they could also have their own future. Oskar Schindler was not alone on this quest of saving Jews, as Julius Madritsch, fellow business tycoon of Schindler¿s would have undertaken this quest. If he believed that this scheme had a chance of being successful he would have added 3,000 more Jews to Schindler¿s 1,200 that they both would have saved. This book urges you to as the saying ¿ do unto others, as you would want due to you¿ like Oskar Schindler did with overwhelming charisma, grit, and fortitude. As other camps were serving meals that ranged from a meager 700-1,000 calories a day as Alexander Biberstein, a doctor who experienced a normal death camp and Schindler¿s pointed out; Schindler distributed meals that ascended 2,000 calories a day. He opened his heart to all Jews when many did not even classify them as human beings; he created labor camps called Emalia and Brinnlitz with his own hard earned money. He fulfilled the promise to his Jews that they would ¿ survive the war under my care¿. Schindler¿s List inspired me to stand up for what I believe in and not shy away from your goal when nothing is on your side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C_Gus More than 1 year ago
World War II was a dark time in German history, but there were the few Germans that silently fought against the oppression. One man who did such deeds was a businessman by the name of Herr Schindler. "Schindler's list", by Thomas Keneally, is about Herr Schindler and his story about how he saved thousands of Jewish prisoners from the Nazi concentration camps by telling them that they were used for cheap labor. This book was exciting to say the least. It was near impossible for me to put it down. The story was gripping, intense and emotional. Keneally did an unbelievably phenomenal job adding detail to everything, making it even more irresistible. This book is a must read for anyone who is looking for a book that will give them a good look at WWII. It was a remarkable book. The only large negative about the book is that it was slow in the very beginning. It took a while for me to get into it, but after the first couple of chapters, it really took off. The reason for this was that Keneally wanted to set up a lot of visuals, so most of the beginning was descriptions and other things of the nature; which makes for a slow start, but was necessary for the rest of the book. If you are a little on the squeamish side, then this book is probably not for you. It was a little graphic at some parts. If you are a WWII fan looking for an accurate and exciting book, then this is the one for you. It definitely will not disappoint anyone who can stomach it. "Schindler's List" was an amazing book, and the movie is just as intense. I would highly recommend the movie if you enjoyed the book. The next best WWII book that I have read would be "Night". That is another WWII book that really brings out what it truly was like during that time period.
Big-Gordy More than 1 year ago
This was a novel that I had been waiting to read for a long time because of my great interest in the WWII era of history and I must say that I was not disappointed. Mr. Keneally starts by using the best method an author can use, which is description. On page 13 he describes Schindler and a gift from him to a camp leader and party host, Amon Goeth, in doing so he gives you a very clear picture of Schlindler: ".a tall young man in an expensive overcoat, double-breasted dinner jacket beneath it and- in the lapel of the dinner jacket- a large ornamental gold-on-black-enamel Hakenkreuz (Swastika)." The description truly adds to the sheer greatness of this book and it presents itself in many forms throughout the book. Another example of Keneally's descriptive prowess lies in a paragraph on page 88 and continues on through page 89; "During those morning journeys across town, Oskar noticed the plan for the city trolleys was to go on rolling down Lwówska Street through the middle of the ghetto. All walls facing the trolley line were being bricked up by polish workmen, and where there had been open spaces, cement walls were raised. As well, the trolleys would have their doors closed as they entered again in the Umwelt, the Aryan world, at the corner of Lwówska and sw Kingi Street. Oskar knew people would catch that trolley anyhow. Doors closed, no stops, machine guns on walls-it wouldn't matter." That whole last paragraph shows how one of the most mundane tasks had been completely revamped in a negative way by the Third Reich because, as you could tell, the walls were being constructed to separate Aryans and Jews and the trolley had to be armed because of the turmoil of the whole situation. The last quote that I would like to present is not a piece of Keneally's description but it gives you a bit of insight on his much adored off-trailing ; "Pemper would one day become secretary to Oskar, but in the summer of '44 he worked with Amon." even though this doesn't seem too major, it happens throughout the whole book. There is a reason that this is a critically acclaimed work, and I had found it. The reason behind this books success is in Keneally's high quality writing and his use of masterful artistic techniques. In all reality, this book is one huge use of pathos in a sense that it uses the tragedy of the holocaust to appeal to its readers and he does this well. His use of Pathos is used very well from the very beginning on page 22 and 23 when he describes the level of abuse that Goeths' Jewish maid, Helen, receives from her employer and how Schindler kindly gives her a kiss on the forehead and a bar of chocolate. Another reason that this book is so great is that you have a flawed hero which, to me, always gives the book a better and more realistic feel and these aren't just subtle flaws either, he is a smoker, a drinker a womanizer and a war profiteer. Therefore I feel I can have more of a connection to Oskar Schindler. This is just such a great book with so many elements contributing to it's overall greatness, so many that it is impossible to name every one, but that in itself tells you a lot about the quality of this novel. I would highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a classic Hard-to-put-down, captivating read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cougar_H More than 1 year ago
The story of Oskar Schindler is one that would not be easily forgotten. This man saved the lives of 1200 Jews and their descendants who would have other wise been killed in the massacre of WWII, but there's a saying, "do onto others, as you would want done to you." Would you help??? Schindler must have had that saying in his mind during the holocaust. Picture yourself in a life-threatening situation. You definitely would love help, and you would probably help also because if you were in that situation that's what everyone wants. Think of all of the bad things that could happen if he helps: he could be arrested, killed, tortured, or even sent to the slave camps. Yet he helped. Although this is a great story of survival, it gets you thinking about all the other people who weren't as lucky to have worked for such a man. Thousands of Jews died in the worst conditions possible and for those who did survive, the faced the memories of the suffering and the violence that happened before their eyes. It was inspiring to see the change of hear that Schindler had when his mindset changed from mocking money to saving lives. Itzhak Stern had a huge part to play in the conversion of Schindler because he was in change of the business end of their factory, so he was the one who did all the employing. Schindler and Stern were like Batman and Robin. Stern worked relentlessly in making sure that, as many people as possible were able to come to the 'place of refuge.' Schindler created a future for so many who thought there was nothing else for them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is by no means an easy thing to rate Schindler's List poorly. It is in all senses of the word an Epic, yet it is a history book. Not a historical fiction, but a text book. Although some prefer this style, I do not. I found it lengthy and nondescript, all unnecessarily so. He, in my opinion, failed to capture the emotion of the Holocaust in an editorial fashion, relying instead on the reader's emotional interpretation. The majority of the novel is background. It is laid between bits of narrative, moving narrative, but then back to history. Every character, great and small, is introduced ad nauseum. Every event and idea introduced is given a fascinatingly boring historical context. Although not very interesting, I understand its necessity (I could never keep by Oberstrumfürers and my Obergruppenfürers straight). I have no problem with history, I love history; I just don't like reading if for fun, especially when the author makes a half-handed approach at making a pseudo-narrative. His attempts at creating an on the dot recreation of the events of the Holocaust goes for four-hundred pages without many of the trademarks of fiction. Schindler's, Goeth's and Stern's characters are static (granted, complex character development and symbolism is rarely a natural byproduct of history). I respect the work put into the novel. I respect the actions depicted. I respect his historical authenticity. I just found it dry. If you, like I, had seen the movie and wondered what the book is like, I must warn you. Cinema has the ability to leave out choice chapters. The cinema evokes painful amounts of emotion. The cinema only takes three hours. Keneally's style, although I appreciate it, leaves a lot to be desired. He does not beat us over the head with disturbing imagery, but doesn't allow for enough, of any kind. See the movie, read a text book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Recently I had talked with a relative of mine who doesn't quite understand why God would tell us that He would protect us if we followed His Commandments 'referring to the Holocaust'. 'Look at all the people who died,' she said. All I could tell her was, 'But look- He sent them Schindler.' There is now a great respect in my heart for this odd hero- an ordinary man who did the right thing. Now, after reading this book and doing some independant research on the subject of Oskar Schindler, 'schindlerjuden' has become a sacred word for me as it is what the Jews rescued by Schindler call themselves. This a moving book with rough material that I think EVERYONE should read. I believe that the faint of heart will mourn as they turn the pages and that the corageous will close their eyes at the horrors in this 'true-story-based' novel.