×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Scholastic Children's Dictionary (2013)
     

Scholastic Children's Dictionary (2013)

4.1 19
by Scholastic
 

See All Formats & Editions

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Scholastic Children's Dictionary 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
ProudMomma More than 1 year ago
I purchased this dictionary for our son who is in first grade. There were three dictionaries written for children and he selected this one himself. The dictionary is colorful and the spacing and typeset make it easy to use and is not intimidating as more "grown-up" dictionaries can be. Our son uses his dictionary weekly for his spelling words, he goes through the alphabet and picks out the words that interest him. As an added benefit his vocabulary has grown tremendously.
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
This is a great resource for the elementary-aged student.  Color photos and illustrations plus text boxes including the history of some words make good visual breaks in the columns of text.  The cover states, "The only children's dictionary currently featuring a thesaurus, grammar guide, punctuation guide, idioms guide, and a geography section" and while I can't confirm that fact, those sections in this dictionary are indeed helpful.  There is information on numbers and measurements, plus a two-page spread giving info on each president up through Barack Obama and including a small color photograph.  Flags, facts, and maps of countries of the world and each U.S. state and territory and Canadian provinces increases the benefit to young learners.  Printed tabs for each letter help to quickly find words in the dictionary.  In addition to the intended grade level, this resource will work well for older students who are struggling readers and also for those learning English.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
elig More than 1 year ago
they love the book and is very educational
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eva40 More than 1 year ago
I have 2 kids in second grade and I bought them both a dictionary. What I didn't think would happen was that they would just sit down and look through the book just for fun. They love the dictionary because of the easy reading and the pictures which I even enjoy! So this is great for any child.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liisa More than 1 year ago
My Grandchildren are very happy with the book. They are young (7 and 6 years old), but they both enjoy reading. Even when the book is made for older children, it is clear enough for younger children to understand, and will hopefully be beneficial for many years to come.
JenniferEvette69 More than 1 year ago
on a childrens level
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
We enjoy using this dictionary very much. The illustrations arouse our children's curiosity. It turns into a learning extravaganza! It is also age appropriate. You can turn it into a game as well. Have fun with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this book for my Granddaught that is just starting school. I think it will be very helpful to her in all her subjects for many years. It has so much information in it, then just words and their meaning. I would recommend it for all ages. I wish they had something like this when I was in school. I would like to have one myself someday.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This dictionary is great! My son is six years old and a bit advanced but he will literally spend hours reading through this and checking out the pictures. The reference material included inside are awesome! Highly reccomended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Font should be in style like Times Roman, that is easily read. Not in the straight style that is used above, in your RATINGS wording.