×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The School of Essential Ingredients
     

The School of Essential Ingredients

4.1 313
by Erica Bauermeister
 

See All Formats & Editions

A "heartbreakingly delicious" national bestseller about a chef, her students, and the evocative lessons that food teaches about life

Once a month, eight students gather in Lillian's restaurant for a cooking class. Among them is Claire, a young woman coming to terms with her new identity as a mother; Tom, a lawyer whose life has been overturned by loss;

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The School of Essential Ingredients 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 313 reviews.
maggieNJ More than 1 year ago
This book was wonderful. Makes you want to take the class or start one of your own. My hope is that she will write another book with a new class. Her descriptions of aromas and tastes are phenomenal. Make your mouth water and the way she brings it to a conclusion in such a short time is a wonder. Enjoy the book then go cook up a great, slow meal.
angeleyesAS More than 1 year ago
The endearing characters meet in cooking class where meals are not only prepared but are a healing mechanism to heal the inner spirit. Appetites are connected to the eight students aspirations and soothe the heart and soul. The chapters are told from each student's perspectve in flashback. This is a beautiful in-depth character study that will warm your heart! Wonderful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was a truly beautiful story. Even though each character only got a chapter, I felt like I knew and understood each one. It was very easy to see how each of their stories would connect them in the end. Lillian is the only character that I wish was developed a little more. She has such a powerful impact on each of the students in her class, I wish I connected a little more with her background. Each time I thought a character was a favorite, I started a new chapter. The book and each individual story was resolved perfectly. The imagery was amazing. I could easily see everyone and everything in the kitchen and the restaurant and I could smell and taste everything they were cooking. I have been inspired to go to cooking school. The book was DELICIOUS! I also think it would make an incredible series. Each book could have a new group of students (characters) with their own stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This beautifully written novel really makes you more aware of the little miracles in life and appreciate them in a whole new way. I am a sucker for anything with magical realism and this book is no different. The sensual and joyful celebration of food carries over to other aspects of life easily. It stands out, ezpecially during this time in our lives where the simple things mean the most to us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this story a lot, even though it was a bit predictable at times. The stories describing the individual characters seemed genuine and made the characters interesting. I would have wanted more details on their lives. The main tie, the cooking school through the seasons, is original and tight. It is a feel-good story with a resounding note of realism. I look forward to this author's next book.
I_read_books More than 1 year ago
This wasn't a book I would normally read, but I bought it for book club at my local BNN, and I completely LOVED it! The story, the characters, the everything was so wonderful, just like a great meal. I highly recommend this book for anyone, whether you like to cook or not. And if you don't like to cook...you will!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. It was a pleasant, entertaining, and easy read. The end gave me the impression that there may be more to come. I hope so. The ingenuity in the dishes they prepared in class were inspiring to my own culinary creations.
Frisbeesage More than 1 year ago
This is a beautiful, warm-hearted book that is perfect for getting through to dark days of winter! Its the story of a Monday night cooking class presided over by Lillian the chef of a romantic little restaurant. Lillian knows that each of her students come for a different reason. Some come for confidence, some for adventure, and some for comfort, but each will leave with wisdom and passion they never expected to find.
Erica Bauermeister writes about food with impressive detail and feeling. This is a book that will leave you hungry for lovingly prepared, delicious food! Her writing style reminds me of Maeve Binchy. She weaves together the stories of fascinating, sympathetic characters. You will fall in love with them! Like a big bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup on a cold January night this book will leaave you warm and satisfied. I only hope that Erica is hard at work on her next novel!
Avocado More than 1 year ago
The School of Essential Ingredients is a warm and compelling read. The students at the cooking school learn much more than how to cook: the teacher uses cooking as a strategy by which to address spiritual issues within her students. Bauermeister¿s eye for vivid detail and engaging voice will make you want to cook, eat, and read her next novel.
Anonymous 9 months ago
It was hard to stop reading, I felt like mine as part of these lives
DoranneLongPTMS More than 1 year ago
This school for essential life ingredients is wonderful. I had to read the book very slowly, in order to capture every flavor, just as Erica recommends we savor the smells, tastes, and memories associated with food, cooking, and life itself. I can't wait to read this book again, to dive deeper into the lives of the characters and of course the food! I would love, love, love to see this as a movie.
Mcfan97 More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Fun chick-lit book with a fun backstory. The only problem was there were so many characters to keep straight. Would definitely recommend. as a rainy day pleasure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like ingredients in a recipe, Erica Bauermeister blends individual character's lives together to create a wholly satisfying story. Sensually evocative imagery and language make this a warm blanket and tea pot read. The only down side for me was that it was too short. Thankfully there is another in the series! I suggest you curl up, get cozy and enjoy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was a really nice read...style like Meave Binchey ...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading and I think this is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. I agree with whoever said it could make a wonderful movie (if done right; the casting would be tricky). I don't even cook and would not cook most of these recipes even if I did - I am a vegetarian. Doesn't matter - I loved it anyway.
Ronnabakerb More than 1 year ago
Amazing...it has been months since I read this and I still cannot quit thinking about it! 
Ivyst275 More than 1 year ago
After reading the 1st chapter decided to go no further.  I've just purchased a book for the donation pile.  So sorry too, I had wanted to enjoy this  read.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lovely writing. The story just flowed, characters own personal stories revealed gently and with grace and dignity.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GrammieCA More than 1 year ago
A friend gave me this book and I fell in love with it and have given it to others. In this book, a group of people take a cooking class, and the teacher proves as much counselor as cooking teacher. Descriptions of food are poetic!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Esme1952 More than 1 year ago
Bauermeister is a brilliant author. Her books are stories, wonderful stories that tell about characters that are so real you expect to run into them on the block where you live. Their lives, and feelings all blend into a full course meal created with diverse ingredients of happiness, tears of pain, tears of joy, surprises from characters that grow and mature right in front of your eyes. She is an amazing author and a must read.