×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Scribbling the Cat: Travels with an African Soldier
     

Scribbling the Cat: Travels with an African Soldier

4.4 23
by Alexandra Fuller
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Alexandra ("Bo") Fuller was home in Zambia a few years ago, visiting her parents for Christmas, she asked her father about a nearby banana farmer who was known for being a "tough bugger." Her father's response was a warning to steer clear of him; he told Bo: "Curiosity scribbled the cat." Nonetheless, Fuller began her strange friendship with the man she calls

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Scribbling the Cat: Travels with an African Soldier 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I went to live in Zimbabwe in 1983. Rhodesia had been dead three years, but lived on in the hearts of the white population. In both her books Alexandra Fuller captures the poignancy of the war and the defeat of Rhodesian dreams, and also the hopelessness of the situation of the the Africans. I heard many stories of atrocities similar to the one recounted by K. These stories reflected what happens in all wars - young men with guns and power and an under-developed sense of responsibilty do terrible things. Everything about both her books rang true, but the second was a very brave attempt to portray the horror of war. I hope she writes more.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed both the books written (and have re-read Lets go to the dogs 3x) but Scribbling the Cat gave me quite a shock at the Bloodnut in the book was my husband,Terry He spelt it Bludnutt because actually he was whitish blonde but had thin hair (something to do with a ringworm treatment in Zambia where he lived on a farm as a young child.)His scalp got red as a rookie, hense the nickname. His photo is also in the book. I wondered why he was wary of dogs. He passed away in 2002 at 47 so I had a good cry last summer as it was unexpected seeing his picture, then the dog memory of K. Many friends have bought the books since I enlightened them.....
Guest More than 1 year ago
trying to explain the Rhodesian war to my american friends living in germany is like trying to explain snow to an african who's never travelled - it is so different to anything that they could ever experience that - they cannot understand why I would want to go back to zimbabwe (to visit)and heaven forbid take my young kids there - for there are 100's of K's - men who were young and patriotic and followed their leaders blindly into battle (a bit like the young ones in iraq) - or the vets of vietnam - these men have never fully recovered or had any kind of PTS counselling - they are the worst of us displaced zimbabweans that are scattered around the world -put into a search engine rhodesia and you will be amazed at the websites and the need to cling on to our past because the country does not exsist anymore - it has become a burnt out shell of what it once was - she travelled there because its her past. you cannot begrudge her that. It was such a small white community clinging on to the impossible (thank god)that we became an extended family and to this day I can go to any country anywhere in the world and ask for assistance from a fellow zimbo and we will help each other - even though we had never met before. Only when I became an a teenager as Bobo did I realise how wrong the ideals were - don't think why did she consort with these people - they were us - it was everybody fighting for survival - I can just see a young american writing a book like this about the iraq war in years to come - what a waste of young lives, what a waste of what was and still is in many ways a beautiful country the wildlife and countryside is fantastic - but how long can the animals survive if the people are starving - 5yrs ago it was a progressive country in africa. if your american and intrested in africa brush up on your history
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name- Rainsplash. <p> Gender- Tom! <p> Age- About 20 Moons. <p> Rank- Warrior. He'd be honored to be a mentor, though. <p> Appearance- He has simple cream fur and wide yale blue eyes, filled with curiosity and determination. <p> Personality- Rainsplash has many parts to him. He can be playful and cheery. He can also be serious and collected when needed to be. Being through his mother and father's situations from the past, he has grown a fair amount skills of adaptation. Meet him, being social is a big trait he got from his mother! <p> Crush- Heh. Let's see.... Yes. Um, more to be found out. For now he has made a promise to put everything he can into helping the clan, so love may have to wait for later. :c <p> Mate- No... <p> Kits- No... <p> History: Nothing worth characters or your time. <p> Other: As everyone says, ask!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Owlflight Appearence: A golden she-cat with nice auburn colored paws,percing amythest eyes and brown legs Personality: Fearce,independent,kind,loving,and great durung battle Crush: When she was a apprentice...she had a crush on Flightpaw Friends: Goldfoot Mate: Not yet! Kits: Wha? History: mysterious Other: Just ask! I don't bite! ^&bull;^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
W&alpha;vebre&alpha;k <p> &female <p> orange tabby with green eyes. <p> usually kind but she can get feisty. <p> mate:hopefully someday... <p> crush: nope. <p> kits: firekit and mintkit (adopted) <p> history: im about to write her life story! <p> freinds: lilywolf, and thts about it. <p> enemies: crocodilefang(from her past. He will be in her lifestory though!)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Age: 18 moons. <p> Gender: &female <p> Rank: Warrior <p> Look: Light Blue cat with Blue Eyes. <p> Crush: It starts with an R. <p> Mate: Nope. <p> Kits: None. <p> Personality: Bubbly, Happy, Smart, Loves kits, Silly, loves fun and is fun, Loyal. She is very kind. <p> History: Ask! <p> Kin: Vesperwind (mom, missing.) Jigsaw (dad, missing) rest unknown. <p> Sibilings: Flightpath (&male alive) Emeraldfire (&female Alive in Rainclan) Risingpaw (&female alive in Rainclan) Rabbitpaw (&female alive) <p> Other: Ask!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name &bull;&bull;&bull; Spottedpine <br> Gender &bull;&bull;&bull; Tom &male <br> Age &bull;&bull;&bull; 20 moons <br> Rank &bull;&bull;&bull; Warrior <br> Description &bull;&bull;&bull; he has cream colored fur, with brown spots scattered across his pelt. His eyes are deep, chocolate brown. <br> Personality &bull;&bull;&bull; he is sweet, loving, and cares for his clan a lot. He is also mischevious, playful, and can be a bit of a troublemaker. <br> Kin &bull;&bull;&bull; Moosetail(father), Silverbolt(mother, dead), Shiningfoot(sister) Flowernose(sister) <br> Crush/Mate &bull;&bull;&bull; Mistyrose <br> Kits &bull;&bull;&bull; hopefully <br> Theme Song &bull;&bull;&bull; How To Save A Life - The Fray
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name:Orangemist &hearts Age: About 18 moons. &hearts Gender: Female &hearts Likes:Hunting,Running and Swimming. &hearts Dislikes:Ignorannce,Stupidity(when people perposely do it.). &hearts Persona: She is sweet ,kind and loving. But will protect what she loves most and is loyal most to at all costs. &hearts Looks (discription): She is and Orange She cat, with short fur and long tail. She has a white socks,tailtip,ear tips, and nose. She has light Spring green eyes with speckles of black. &hearts Crush:Heh i have some one in mind. &hearts Mate:Maybe in the future. &hearts Kits:Maybe in the future &hearts Signature: &star OrangeMist &star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seperate places for each because I get lazy and some are quite long. Updates in the results that follow them. Rosepetal-"petal of the rose" all results. Crystalkit-"crystal falling" all results. Opalburst is now dead but his biography is at "opal death" all results. Ebonpelt, too, is dead and his biography is at "ebon heart" with updates at "ebon" all results. Thank you!<br>~Rosepetal &hearts~<br>-Crystalkit &star<br>~&Xi&beta&sigma&eta&rho&epsilon&iota&tau<br>-Opal &star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
~~~~~Nightfang~~~~~ <br> &bull;Gender: Male <br> &bull;Age: Adult <br> &bull;Rank: Warrior <br> &bull;Mate: Velvetstar <br> &bull;Kits: Many. I have a bad memory, but i do remember some. <br> &bull;Family (short version): Barklight is his Brother, Moonwool is his Aunt, Earthbeam is his Daughter, etc... &bull;Crush: Still and always Velvetstar. <br> &bull;Apperance: A jet black tom cat with cold icy blue eyes. He has broad sholders and is lean and muscular. His right paw is moonstone-white. He has a moon pendant anklet on that paw. He has many scars and one ear has a large nick in it. <br> &bull; Personality: He is very cold toward newcommers, but once he gets to know them better, he warms up to them. He can at times seem mysterious and hostile. He every once and a while has his moods. He loves kits though and will help those in need. He is loyal to his clan above all else. He is not battle hungery, but he doesnt back down in a fight. He will fight untill he cant anymore, if he belives it is right. <br> &bull;History: If you wish to know, ask me, It is long. <br> &bull;Other Info: I am mainly a night time roleplayer. I do have a social life, so sometimes i get kinda busy with other things. i always try to be on as much as possible. I am on Central Time. <p> ~~~~~Earthbeam~~~~~ <br> &bull;Gender: Female <br> &bull;Age: Young Adult <br> &bull;Rank: Warrior <br> &bull;Mate: FreedomClaw <br> &bull;Kits: Expecting at the moment. <br> &bull;Family: Father Nightfang, Mother Velvetstar, Uncle Barklight, Aunt DreamShine, Great Aunt Moonwool, etc.... <br> &bull;Crush: FreedomClaw <br> &bull;Best Friend: OrionStreak <br>&bull;Apperance: She is a brown shecat with silver flecks through out her fur. She has bright forest green eyes. She is slender and has her mothers build. She has a yellow butterfly pendant necklace around her neck, a gift from FreedomClaw. <br> &bull;Personality: Earthbeam is very open and lovable to everyone. She is social and loves to hang out with her friends and clanmates. She is always with a smile on her face and couldnt stand leaving a cat in need. She loves kits. <br> &bull;History: She was born and raised in Horseclan. Her first crush was Moosetail, but things didnt work out. She became mates with FreedomClaw. But secretly she has always had a small crush for her best friend OrionStreak. <p> ~~~~~Barklight~~~~~ <br> &bull;Gender: Male <br> &bull;Age: Adult <br> &bull;Rank: Warrior <br> &bull;Mate: Dreamlily <br> &bull;Kits: Many kits, and again i have bad memory. Songlight and Jaypaw were his step-kittens. <br> &bull;Crush: Still and always Dreamlily. <br> &bull;Appearance: He is a brown tabby tom with warm golden yellow eyes. He it built just like Nightfang, with broad sholders, lean and muscular. <br> &bull;Personality: He is sweet and fun loving, and loves to spend time with his kits and mate. <br> &bull;History: He was a very happy-go-lucky cat, until Dreamlily dissapeared. He started searching for her nonstop, slowly sinking into depression and greif. He soon became so captured in his greif that he would forget to eat and groom, leaving him week and exashted. Now that Dreamlily has returned, he should get better, hopefully. <p> ~~~~~Moonwool~~~~~ <br> &bull;Gender: Female <br> &bull;Age: Old <br> &bull;Rank: Elder <br> &bull;Mate: None <br> &bull;Kits: None <br> &bull;Crush: None <br> &bull;Apperance: she is a smoky grey she cat with light warm blue eyes. She is frail and bony because she is older. <br> &bull;Personality: She sometimes has a temper, but most of the time she is calm, warm, and happy. She loves company and telling stories. <br> &bull;History: She was a loner before she joined the clan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name: Flowernose <br> Rank: medicine cat <br> Gender: shecat <br> Looks: yellow fur, bright green eyes, bright pin nose. <br> Personality: determined, caring, suspicious <br> Former mentor: Sparrowsun <br> Current apprentice (as of this date): Flightpaw <br> Kin: (too many to name them all. I'm just gonna do the basics.) Silverbolt (mother, dead) Moosetail (father) Goldpaw (brother, inactive) Spottedpine (brother) Shiningfoot (sister, inactive) <br> Crush/Mate/Kits: in case your too dull to realize it, I'm a medicine cat, but in case your wonderig, no, I don't have a crush or mate or kits (duh)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name cometstorm <p> Gender tom <p> age twenty five moons <p> Rank warrior <p> Personality goofy, wary of rival clans, kind, friendly <p> Description, white tom with silver speckles and blue eyes. <p> Mate minnowfern, though her nook broke and im not sure if shes returning :( <p> Crush i dont know <p> Kits mistyrose springbrook cloverstone <p> Kin lilywolf(mother)goldenstripe(father)velvetstar, rose(aunts)nightfang(uncle)fang(grandfather, deceased)wolf, lynx(grandmothers)wolfsun, shellpool, poppydawn(deceased)snapdragon(deceased), sunflare, smokerise, rainsplash, larkfrost, cougartooth(siblings, plus a kabillion more i dont know about.)mistyrose cloverstone springbrook(children)minnowfern, moosetail dreamlily , joyleap bluefleet, spiritgaze(cousins. Plus a kijilaion more i dont know about.)spottedpine(nephew)flowernose (neice) <p> History, dont ask, its super long <p> Likes swimming, friends <p> MISTYROSE <p> Name ..... <p> Gender she <p> Age eighteen moons <p> Rank warrior <p> Personality bubbly, goofy, kind <p> Description pale grey she. Amber eyes. White spots on chest <p> crush/mate spottedpine <p> Kits nada <p> Kin. See cometstorms except wrap it to fit since mistyrose is cometstorms daughter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Name// Icefire <br> Nickname// Ice <br> Age// Lilywolf's age. They have known each other since kithood. <br> Gender// She-cat <br> Rank// Warrior/Mentor <br> Description// a pure white she with silver paws. Her pelt almost shimmers with different colors in the sun and moon. Her eyes are icy blue, and can be as hard as ice. They can be warm and loving too. Her build is for speed and endurance-just running in genral. She can run for a really long time at high speeds. Basically, really fast. She has been a runner since kithood, when she used to play with Lily(wolf), Rose(petal), and River. <br> Personality// she is shyish, respectful, and very hard-working. She is shy, respectful, sometimes bubbly, and even submissive every once in a while. That is when you first meet her. When you get to know her, she is fun, happy, still reectful, happy to help, and she gets in a lot of cat's ways when a friend is dying, hurt, or missing. She loves to help, and might get mad if she can't help or know what is happening to her friends and clannmates. <br> Crush// none <br> Mate// see this: Ice's love life is conplex. She would love to have one, but doesn't really try. <br> Kits// Stormyeye&male (adopted son) <br> Likes// running, having all her friends together, HorseClan, rabbit and sparrow, hunting, seeing kits grow into warriors, climbing trees, etc. <br> Dislikes// fish, mean cats, doesn't care for swiming, friends dying, etc. <br> Friends// Lilywolf, Rosepetal, Velvetstar, Cloudripple, Smokerise[?], Earthbeam[?], hoping for more. <br> Apprentice// Spottedpaw (Spottedpine. She finished his training), Mystpaw <br> Kin// ... <br> History// coming soon! <br> <p> ------------ <br> Name: Stormyeye <br> Nickname: Stormy <br> Age: hmm...22 moons maybe? <br> Gender: tom <br> Rank: warrior <br> Description: dark gray with three black stripes down his back. His eyes are dark blue with navy dots under each. Three navy dots under each eye. One paw is black. He wears a dark blue fire opal pendant carved like a lightning bolt. <br> Personality: bubbly, happy, loving and caring, jumpy, sometimes clumsy. He is just a fun cat! <br> Crush: ...Larkfrost <br> Mate/Kits: none <br> Kin: unknown <br> Friends: Larkfrost, Rainsplash <br> Likes: sleeping, sparrow, hunting, running <br> History: basiccaly he was abandon by his parents because he was the runt of the litter. He survived on his own untill Icefire found him on the border. He grew up in HorseClan and met Larkfrost, and he hopes one day they can be more then just friends. He grew closer to Rainsplash, Lark's brother when Lilywolf lost her eighth life. He has been friends with him ever since. His history will still move on! <br> Other for BOTH CATS!: ask! <br> <p> Signature: &downarrow P.S. I almost always use four stars. I use one if I am mad, and five if I am typing a bio. Other then that, I use four stars. P.P.S. Thanks for reading my bio! <br> <p> ~Icefire&star & -Storm&gamma&epsilon&gamma&epsilon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horseclan's camp: House on The Prairie result 1-8 <br> Horseclan's territory: House on The Prairie result 9-30 <p> Leader: Velvetstar <br> Deputy: Goldenstripe <br> Ask one of us or Lilywolf to join and you'll be asked to complete either 1 hunting patrol or 1 border patrol and then you will have a warrior ceremony. <br> Clan Meetings are held on Tuesday evenings <br> Pact Clan Meetings are held every other Sunday, all day. Ask Lilywolf at camp for more info. <p> -Velvetstar-
obeythekitty More than 1 year ago
unlike her first engrossing memoir of growing up a white child in Africa, the author expresses more emotion and opinion in this tale of a journey thru old war zones with an ex-Rhodesian soldier. insightful though not comprehensive look at post-colonial Africa, the main story is her travelling companion's edgey mental state, that connects with our current American vets struggling with PTSD. In a chilling scene, the author is sharing sleeping quarters with 3 former soldiers, and is awakened repeatedly when each and all of them scream out in the night from war terrors 20 years old. I'm looking forward to reading her third and newst book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
One has to wonder about Fuller's true motivations for becoming so intimately involved with such an unappealing character as 'K' and his violent,low life cronies. Ostensibly, she is embarking on a voyage of discovery in order to experience first hand the aftermath of a long and brutal war and the lasting effect on its survivors but the question that must be on the mind of every reader is why would she (who professes to have a close attachment to her children, if not her husband), embark on such a hazardous undertaking and place herself in such a vulnerable environment in order to gain some insight into these hopeless and basically uninteresting characters, whose vocabulary is largely limited to four letter expletives. This is a legitimate question because the story is as much (or moreso) about her than the characters she encounters and the places she visits but she never really gives any insight into her personal life as she so freely did in 'Don't Lets Go To The Dogs Tonight'. Was the real reason for her odyssey romance, impulse, adventure, escape or, truly, research as she would have us believe. The reader is given no clue and is left wondering -'why'? Fuller's prose is wonderful but the dialogue in this story seems stilted and does not flow as it did in 'Dogs'. In this reader's opinion,'Scribbling' does not live up to the considerable promise of her first book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Satisfying and captivating. This is a haunting, yet beautifully textured, continuation of Fuller's younger life memoired in 'Don't Let's Go to The Dog's Tonight'. After skimming over seven years of living the fat life in the US she's drawn back to the raw life of her African childhood to research the wars which raged on around her youth. She encounters soldiers reluctant to reveal the realities of being a warrior, including her father. Bo's faced with a new understanding of her own history, the people she's left behind and of the war torn Africa (specifically former Rhodesia and Mozambique) that was beyond understanding as a child. Though this isn't meant to be a history lesson in itself, however, it's timely; considering the HIV epidemic and the many conflicts currently raging round the globe, the attitudes of those that start wars, and how wars effect so many for so long. Her travels are written with the eyes of a painter along with humerous, soulful, philosophical observations of what it is to be human here on earth. It's all here; love and longing, fear and hatred, courage and bravado, depression and abuse, faith and endurance, peace and tranquilty: and advice from Alexadra Fuller's father, 'Don't look back so much or you'll get wiped out on the tree in front of you'. We're left wondering if Fuller has learned the lessons from her travels with a soldier that are obvious to the reader regarding accountability and volnerabilty. I missed the unapologetic observations she's famous for regarding her view of her role in this journey. Fuller finds herself, however, unapologetically halfway around the world from her husband and children with some pretty questionable characters and claims she is the same person she was at the beginning of her travels. I loved this book but I can't help but feel it's a memoir written too close to real time to be completely told. I'm not sure if she hit the tree or not but maybe that was her intention. Read it and decide.