×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

SEAL of God
     

SEAL of God

4.3 36
by Chad Williams, David Thomas (With), Greg Laurie (Foreword by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Days before Chad Williams was to report to military duty in Great Lakes, Illinois, he turned on a television and was greeted with the horrifying images of his mentor, US Navy SEAL Scott Helvenston, being brutally murdered in a premeditated ambush on the roads of Fallujah, Iraq. Steeled in his resolve, Chad followed in Scott’s footsteps and completed the US

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

SEAL of God 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Golden_Girl13 More than 1 year ago
I first heard about this book on Facebook. A few of my friends had posted about it, and since my dad is a Navy veteran, I thought it sounded interesting, so I went ahead and purchased it. I started reading it, and it immediately drew me in. SEAL of God is the autobiography of Chad Williams, an ex-Navy SEAL. In it, he tells about his decision to become a SEAL, his training, his years as a SEAL, and, most importantly, his acceptance of Christ as LORD of his life. He shares how his experiences as a SEAL helped him better understand Christ's love and sacrifice. Chad did an excellent job in writing this book. He pulls you into his story. A good portion of the book shares his experiences during SEAL training, and that was absolutely riveting. He shares how his lack of feeling fulfilled once he reached the top of the ladder and became a SEAL led to his conversion to Christ, and eventually, to him entering the ministry. This was an excellent book. It's most definitely worth reading, whether or not you have any interest in the Navy or the SEALS. I read the entire book in just two days because I couldn't put it down. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has it all, good story, good writing, happy, sad, tension, and best of all redemption! I can not recommend this highly enough! Please read it for yourself! Read it out loud to the family! this is a great book. Chad Williams has a future as a writer! Bought the book myself, read it, loved it, shared it!
kristen4mk More than 1 year ago
Chad Williams is an aimless kid - always on to the 'next' thing. Successful one minute and making horrible decisions the next. Going all out - and then burning out. He has excelled in a number of pursuits, but always moves on to something else....so when he tells his parents he is going to be a Navy SEAL, you can imagine their reaction. His dad finds someone to train him (US Navy SEAL Scott Helvenston), and Chad so respects their relationship that he takes the workouts very seriously and subsequently begins to change. Just before Chad is scheduled to begin basic training he turns on the television (to begin his workout!) and sees a newsflash that his mentor and friend has been brutally murdered - ambushed - in Iraq. Now more than ever, Chad is determined to become a SEAL and make Scott proud. Chad details the super-crazy-extreme-hard-really hard-life changing things one must go through to become a SEAL. He also shares his own complete life 180, committing to follow Christ which transforms him in so many other important ways. I loved reading Chad's life story. This is a world I don't have much experience in and I just found it fascinating, as well as inspirational. Please read this book!
SeekOutWisdom More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be a wonderful read. I've read a little about the training special forces personnel like Navy SEALs go through, but not a personal account such as this. Chad is very open about so many experiences in his life I'd probably be uncomfortable sharing about mine. The way he bares his heart, and lets you see things through his eyes is quite compelling. Even if you are not interested in the military, but just want to see the difference Christ can make in someone's life, SEAL of God would be well worth the read.
dkinney1 More than 1 year ago
The path toward salvation is never the same for 2 people. Chad Williams shares his path that took him through teenage rebellion, SEAL training, serving our country, and now full time ministry. More than half the book is about SEAL training. It is not until the second half of the book that Chad starts to think about God and his relationship with Him. I enjoyed both halves of the story and wonder where God is leading Chad now.
Shane_Duffy More than 1 year ago
I heard about this book from a high school boy who was in a class about which I was writing a news story. After reading it, I felt it was a good book for almost anyone. It did not contain any bad language, and it shared a man's view of the world as he grew and matured. It would be a sort of example for what a young man today might face and have to make decisions about in his own life. The parts about being a Navy SEAL were interesting as well as the thoughts and situations that led to his entering the ministry. The book is definitely worth reading. It describes the situations a man faces and how he made choices for his own betterment as well as those around him. It was well written, and I would be pleased to have a son who turned out like Williams did, or even mostly like that. Learning to face the future and make positive decisions, regardless of the circumstances, is probably the most difficult task a person faces in their life and this particular story is one positive example that young people can draw from.
MarkNorton More than 1 year ago
SEAL of God is an excellent story of how a wandering, wayward life can be transformed completely and when least expected. The author uses the first 2/3 of the book to paint a vivid picture of how his life was self-destructing all the while he was experiencing success and achieving his personal and ever-changing goals. In the final 100 pages though he describes how a single night, set out for his own selfish purposes, came to be the turning point in his career and his aspirations. Mr. Williams is able to tell openly of his highlights and failures, each of significance, and lead the reader to turn the page looking for more of what happens next in his journey. SEAL of God is an autobiography of sorts, a personal tale of survival in many respects, and always a story of a young's dreams coming true ... sometime of his world, and ultimately of His world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book ever by far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great meaning worth the time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, but it kind of jumps around a lot.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best books I have read lately.
Jstut More than 1 year ago
This is a very fast read. I have never read a book in 3 days, but I couldn't put it down. Would give it 10 stars if I could. God Bless
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story with not your typical ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A truly good envoloping book that shows a man going form rags to the riches of jesus througout his life time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a well writen book! I only wish it was longer! You had me feeling the cold water and holding my breath. I know that most people would love this book. I hope they read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is it a good book
mayo5150 More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be very engaging. I didn't want to put it down and, in fact, hardly did before finishing it. I came to read this book at a time in my life when I needed a boost, a dose of inspiration. This story did that for me. I felt like I was right there with them in Seal training! Great read, great story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patriot-Mike More than 1 year ago
A very inspirational tale of growing up in American and learning what it takes to make adult decisions. The challenges Chad experiences is not far from those the majority of American youth experience. He makes a lot of bad choices in his journey and then shows how that with the right choices you can over come anything.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did enjoy this book despite a few issues that I have. With the exception of the parts concerning SEAL training, the story was disjointed, jumping back and forth with little cohesion. The writing style is simple which actually helps in keeping the story rolling. Chad's story is uncommon at least from what I have seen. Most people do NOT pour everything into whatever it is they are trying to do, so I think quite a few people will have trouble relating to the author. His conversion and subsequent studies are also uncommon. Most Christians take years to read the Bible if they do at all. All in all though, "SEAL of God" is an enjoyable and easy read. You will find inspiration in Chad's story even if you, like me, have trouble relating to him as a person.