×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Seat of the Soul
     

The Seat of the Soul

4.2 80
by Gary Zukav, William David Griffith (Read by)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Travel on an exciting, thought-provoking journey of discovery with the bestselling author of The Dancing Wu Li Masters. With a scientist's eye and philosopher's heart, Gary Zukav illustrates our evolution from a species that pursues external power—power based upon the perceptions of the five senses—into a species that pursues authentic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Seat of the Soul 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 80 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just finished the book, and all I can say is 'awesome.' Kind of a trendy word for a 41-year-old to use, but it's all I can think of to appropriately describe it. Mr. Zuvak puts everything into such powerful perspective, cuts through all the greed, anger, and jealousy that this world is thriving on now, and gets to the common root that we ALL have, a soul and spirit. Sure, we all love our SUVs and summer vacations and trips to the mall, but it's not what this life is all about. It's the life the five sense personality has created for itself, and as a result, we're all walking around like a bunch of empty shells wearing designer labels! I think Congress should cancel the upcoming inaguration balls (they've spent enough time on this election already!) and use the money that is wasted on yet more greed and misuse of power, and instead mail a copy of this wonderful and insightive book to every person in this country. It would be money much well spent. What's more important, discovering our true selves and ridding the country of some anger and hatred, or tuning in to see what color gown Laura Bush is wearing??!!
AnneNY More than 1 year ago
This book is a "must read" for all those individuals who are trying to make sense of how our life's lessons are developed and used for our spiritual awakening and journey. All those who enjoy psycho-analyzing themselves, want to understand why situations occur, and wonder why they have been placed in situations need to read this book. Furthermore, the best thing about this book is that it is the first that I have seen on how our personality is reflected through the soul's journey. It is an important piece to a puzzle of evolution of a person's soul on Earth. Gary Zukav makes it clear and helps to distinguish why some of us see things through our senses, and others see things through more developed senses and intuition. If anyone wonders why they are different from their mates, etc. and how in the world they connected and wonder why others don't see things the way they see things, this book is useful to unraveling the mystery. Gary maps out why we have come to Earth and how we connect to the universe in an understandable and simple way. I loved this book-- but I believe nothing happens by chance. I was told about this book by a well known astrologer.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In my training as a therapist I have studied many theories of personality. Like the Transpersonal Psychologists Gary Zurkov, in his book ¿Seat of the Soul,¿ challenges psychology to include the language of the spirit. Psychology and spirituality are integrated in Transpersonal Psychology but the American Psychological Association, APA, does not recognize Transpersonal Psychology because the ¿soul¿ cannot be verified scientifically. However, many of Gary¿s descriptions of the human psyche ring true for me. That we are evolving from a five-sensory to multi-sensory beings; that we have non-physical teachers; that our purpose in life is to align the personality with the soul; that mental illness is a shattered spirit; that we are reincarnated; that our choices result in positive or negative karma; that evil is an absence of light and that the universe is alive, intelligent and compassionate. It¿s sad when a physicist presents a more comprehensive theory of personality than a psychologist. But I¿m also glad that ¿Seat of the Soul¿ had touched and helped so many people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, could not put it down. I am reading it a second time and finding new things that I missed. Would read over and over just to make sure I don't forget the teachings in it. You do need to have a very open mind to be able to really learn and expand your insight.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hold on to your seat as you read through this book. It will open your mind in ways you may not have thought of before. For me, it was reassuring to the way i feel and think. Glad we are coming together! Unconditional peace and love world wide! Thank you Gary!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Gary Zukav clarifies our movement from sensory knowledge to intuitive understanding. The topics presented show our evolution moving from outer changes to inner unfolding of consciousness expressed as both personal and social transformation. I gained many insights from 'Seat of the Soul' and highly recommend it as a guide to transformation work.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book brought to the surface basic understandings that needed to be recognized. I felt a sense of inner strength forming as I read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Seat of the Soul is with out a doubt the most inspiring book I have ever read, I have searched for many years for some spiritual guidance and direction, and until I read this book had not found any. My life has changed dramatically, in that I take full responsibility for my thoughts and actions, and realize I am not alone in the Universe. I recommend to anyone searching for truth and clarity to read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enriching and enlightening.
RoiGirl82 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. A must read for enligthening the soul. :)
JCarrollSS More than 1 year ago
A Masterpiece of Spirituality.A book for the ages.Sheer metaphysical genius, done simplistically, concise, and with reverence, it is a book I treasure and keep at my bedside. J. Carroll Author of Silver Threads.to Gold
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although he is not the best in articulating his vision in a convincing way, I have to say that this book is evidence that Zukav is on his way to something wonderful. Though his commercial success may serve as a impediment in his own path, I think that he has made a positive and significant contribution to public consciousness through this book. All I can hope for is that he continues developing his understanding and uses his fame in a responsible and positive way. If you are looking for this type of vision that is explained in a much more articulate manner, read 'The Ever-Transcending Spirit' by Toru Sato. If you read Sato's book, you will see how it all comes together and also feel incredibly inspired!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Seat Of the Soul wrote by Gary Zukav has very directly affected my life in a way that is hard to decribe. For a five-sentory thinking world at times, I often wondered who it is that I am? Because; I just don't fit in to that way of thinking. I can forgive the crimnial, the crime, and look beyond the face, and now see his spirit. There we can find the reason for his deed!! This could chance the world as we know it!! Gary Zukav has said it. He had the courage to bring it to light. That forgiveness and love, compasstion and understanding our fellow Earth school pupils just might be the right thing to do. More inpotantly; it might be the REAL thing to do!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't know how Gary Zukav does it, but this book speaks to me like very few books ever have. I just read this book for the third time and I am reminded why so many people love this author so much. Every time I read it I find new meanings, new inspiration and new ways of looking at myself and my circumstances that help me grow as a person and be happier.
Bcoolreader More than 1 year ago
Great book to read, it took me 3 weeks to finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
great read, highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a wonderful journey to introspection. At the beginning, it seemed like a rehash of some other books I've read, but in the second part of the book Zukav surprised me by introducing ways to look at myself and others. Although some may not believe in karma and some of the other beliefs Zukav speaks about, it is still an excellent book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Zukav's deep and intense thoughts are arranged and described in impressive fashion. Some of what's here is a bit subjective and imaginative -- I think this is part of the book's mystique.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book truly inspires me. I have picked it up several times now, and every time I¿ve read different things that influence my life in a profound way. One of the things that opened my eyes that Mr. Zukav writes is: 'When perception of the physical world is limited to the five-sensory modality, the basis of life in the physical arena becomes fear. Power to control the environment, and those within it appears to be essential.' Control has been one of my `issues¿ for a long time. And indeed, now I¿ve become more in tune with my intuition and other `sensors¿, my life has become some much richer. I embrace the concept of multi-sensory perception. I¿ve discovered that I know so much more than logically I should be able to know. I¿ve recently met this wonderful guy; we¿ve `known¿ each other for only 2 weeks now. But I know him and about him for what seems forever. We¿ve even started to communicate `telepathically¿. It¿s so wonderful. And this has all happened since I¿ve become aware of the possibilities of multi-sensory perception. Mr. Zukav has helped a lot in that area. Other people who have helped me trust my intuition are Shya & Ariel Kane. They have written a book about their technique Instantaneous Transformation¿. The book is called 'Working on yourself doesn¿t work' and I can very much recommend this book to anyone interested in the topics mentioned above. I¿ve also bought the tapes (Magical Relationships is one of them) and it has truly redefined my life. Everything has become so much easier and so much fun. If you¿re looking for easy & simple enlightenment you must read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The purpose and intent of this book is worthy, but it is 90% conjecture about irrelevant peripheral issues and concepts. The author spends an inordinate amount of time discussing the attributes and functions of karma, teachers, guides, etc. Moral issues are dissected in excruciating detail with the seeming implication that the author has access to some sort of moral authority. If you are seeking spiritual guidance I would suggest Eckhart Tolle who books "The Power of Now" and "The New Earth" deliver th
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is not a quick read nor a once read book. Author will have you thinking outside the box in such a joyful way. Very up building
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago