×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Second Nature: A Love Story
     

Second Nature: A Love Story

4.0 13
by Jacquelyn Mitchard
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author Jacquelyn Mitchard’s novels, with their riveting stories and unforgettable characters, have won the hearts of millions of readers. Now, from the author of The Deep End of the Ocean and No Time to Wave Goodbye, comes the fierce and moving tale of one woman’s fight for her identity and her life when

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Second Nature 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
ILvBksMusicArt More than 1 year ago
With "Second Nature", Jacquelyn Mitchard is holding her heart in her hands, and is asking all of us to do the same...to really take a good, long look at what is going on inside us all. Once again, this excellent wordsmith fashions an engaging story from many occurences that might befall any of us. She draws us into a near-future world where science has become reality. She puts us on a rollercoaster of emotions : love, fear, anquish, bravery, despair, loneliness and triumph all merge together in this moving tale of Sicily Coyne, a young woman, who at age 13 had survived a terrible fire, but had been horribly disfigured by it, physically and emotionally. I challenge anyone to read Ms. Mitchard's description of that fire and NOT be affected in some way; I found myself haunted by it. Her words will mesmerize and terrify you simultaneously, and at the end of the first chapter you will not be able to put the book down. Extremely realistic conversations between her characters have always been one of Ms. Mitchard's fortes. You often feel you're eavesdropping - listening in on something personal and private. Sicily's story will allow you many chances to listen in, and, in turn, consider 'what would I have done? or said? or felt?' This novel is sure to be a book club treasure, as there will be so many avenues to explore and so very many questions to discuss. Ms. Mitchard paints a moving picture of the human condition, with all it's flaws and messes, but leaves us with a lasting view of the unending and amazing beauty of living.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bub. Hujujm.I h hgmh hj hhh..
slrrn101 More than 1 year ago
A wonderful book that I could not put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a story that didn't seem to know what it was about. Jumping all over the place, it was difficult to get into and Made for a very interesting book club discussion. (no one liked it.)
charlottesweb93 More than 1 year ago
Every now and again you run across a character that you find yourself relating to more than any character you have read in a while. For me that was the case with Sicily Coyne in Jacquelyn Mitchard's new book, Second Nature. You may recognize the Cappadora name from Mitchard's most famous work, The Deep End of the Ocean. I honestly did not put it all together until I went back and read the synopsis more than half way through the book. You do get to catch up with several of the characters from that story, but the heart of Second Nature belongs to Sicily. I am giving Second Nature a "Best of 2011" tag because of the feelings evoked by Sicily and her story. I cried when she cried and I felt extremely protective of her during certain sections. But most of all because her story touched my heart and stayed with me days after finishing. Who doesn't love a book that does that?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
martaann More than 1 year ago
I love Mitchard and how she writes. I always feel that I am "in the skin" of her characters. This one misses the mark by a long shot. While I think she does a great job with the main character, I had trouble with the motives of the others. I never could figure out Vincent and what he really wanted. And Joey? His thought process and disappearance from the book should have been more explored. A good story that could have been better. Oh well, I'll read her next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book had me engrossed from the beginning. Not only does the story move along expertly, you are really in the heads of every main character through their journeys. What each of these characters experience is something I can't come close to relating to, but the book opens your eyes to a whole new compassion for what severely burned victims must endure, and the struggles they face - inwardly and outwardly. The medical knowledge was amazing too - the author definitely did her research. The book is also ahead of its time for what could be the "face" of face transplants. We may get there sooner than we think. Thanks Ms. Mitchard for a novel that was wonderful on so many levels!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KSowa More than 1 year ago
Sicily Coyn lost her father and was horribly burned in a fire when she was 13 years old. Twelve years later, Sicily has grown into an accomplished adult with a close circle of family and friends who see beyond her scars. When a doctor offers her a chance to have a face transplant, she refuses, feeling like she doesn't need it to live a good life. When she learns some hard truths about her fiance and calls off the wedding, she changes her mind about the surgery and places herself, and her family, on an unforgettable path. (If you read The Deep End of the Ocean, you will become reacquainted with the Cappadora family.) This book reaches out and grabs you on so many levels that it's hard to put it all in writing. First of all, the description of Sicily's life before she decides to have the transplant is what really makes the book. I think many readers wished that she would just get it done already, but in order to appreciate the after, you must know the before. On the surface Sicily is confident, but beneath that facade is a woman who believes deep down that she must settle for what she can get. Mitchard obviously did research on burn victims and what they go through after they try to rejoin the life they had before their circumstances changed. The deep and bitter-sweetness that is infused into the decision making process makes you wonder, along with Sicily, whether this is the right decision for her. Her life after the transplant is all about discovery; not only a discovery of a new life with a new face, but of who she really is and how much her injury has crippled her emotionally. It's in the second half of the book that we find her more isolated than she ever was with a disfigured face. A dramatic turn of events forces her into isolation and gives her a chance to appreciate, worry, and examine who she really is and what she really wants. This is not a conventional love story and it's not a romance novel. There are no neat little packages to be wrapped up at the end. This is a story that is engaging and emotional, with decisions that stay with you long after the story has ended. I gave this book 4 stars.