×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Second Son
  • Alternative view 1 of The Second Son
  • Alternative view 2 of The Second Son
     

The Second Son

4.0 10
by Jonathan Rabb
 

See All Formats & Editions


On the eve of Hitler's Olympics, Chief Inspector Nikolai Hoffner, a half-Jew, has been forced out of the Kriminalpolizei. Yet his career is the least of his worries. His son Georg is missing, swept up in the sudden outbreak of the Spanish Civil War. Hoffner has already lost his elder son to the Nazis. But Georg is not what he appears to be, and Hoffner is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Second Son 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
TFGreen More than 1 year ago
I didn't know much about the Spanish civil war and this novel was a great way to see inside that terrible time. The characters were really strong and I liked the surprises along the way. Rabb is a very good writer and I could see all of the places in Spain he described. This was my first time reading Rabb so I'm going to read the other books that come earlier in the trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a memorable book, more of a man's journey than a who-done-it. It is a good story, well told of a Berlin detective in 1936, who travels to Barcelona and then across Spain in search of his missing photographer son. It lacks the immediate tension of your ordinary triller or espionage story, but keeps you involved with the character's and the father's recognition of terrible choices he has created for himself. It is also a story of honest resilience and redemption.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THars More than 1 year ago
I saw an early version of the English edition. Beautifully written. I knew nothing about the Spanish civil war (shame on me) and this book was a marvel when it came to that. Jonathan Rabb is a wonderful storyteller and historian, and manages to combine the two in way I haven't seen for quite some time. I've already started the first in the trilogy.
JenGra More than 1 year ago
I am a HUGE history buff and this is a time frame that I spend a lot of time reading about. I've read all of Alan Furst (amazing) and Philip Kerr (also amazing) and I think Jonathan Rabb is one the same level. The characters are very complex but he lets you get to know them. He really gets you to feel like you're in Spain during the war. I really couldn't put it down. I loved the first two books in the trilogy (Rosa and Shadow and Light) but I think this is the best of the three. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
After years of dedicated police work, Berlin Chief Inspector Nikolai Hoffner is forced to quit the Kriminalpolizei. Some believe he lasted longer than a stinking half Jew should. Others will miss his professional diligent work. With no where to go in Hitler's Olympic Germany, Nikolai decides to search for his missing second son Georg; sadly he knows he has written off his oldest boy Sascha who salutes wholeheartedly the Nazis. Nikolai travels to Barcelona where the heat melts his bones while the Civil War has ignited as fascists, communists, anarchists and foreign agents compete in deadly combat. The former German cop fears his second son like his first son is ideologically trapped by one of the extremists. The third Hoffner between the world wars noir (see Rosa and Shadow and Light) is an exhilarating bittersweet thriller that brings to life Spain during the violent civil war. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Nikolai is downsized due to his religious heritage and never slows down although the climax is overly difficult to follow. Still fans will appreciate this entertaining historical as Nikolai prays he can save at least the soul of one of his offspring. Harriet Klausner