×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood
     

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood

4.5 531
by Ann Brashares
 

See All Formats & Editions

Can't wait for the next installment of the Pants? Check out the SPECIAL EDITION of The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, in stores now!
Inside you'll find an exclusive "Who's Your Soul Mate Quiz" and a sneak peak at the third book, Girls in Pants.

With a bit of last summer's sand in the pockets, the Traveling Pants and the Sisterhood

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 531 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Second Summer of the Sisterhood was very similar to the rest of the
books in the series. It followed all four girls, Tibby, Carmen, Lena, and Bridget on their various adventures throughout the summer. I really like Ann Brashares' writing because it describes exactly how the characters feel and what they're going through. While I was reading the book, I experienced the same anger, frustration, jealousy, giddiness, and heartbreak that the four girls had. I would recommend this book as a light, on-the-side reading book, because it kind of reminds me of a chick-flick in the version of a book. I would also strongly recommend the rest of the series, because it is the same, descriptive, emotional writing, and the stories of the four girls continue.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Three words. A- MA- ZING!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you dont read it you are missin gout on the best book for girls 10and older, especially if you love love storys and happy endings!ann brAshares is the best Eric seems HOT!read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book its even better than the first one!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like this book but i think you should read the frist one before though. I wish the second was as exciting as the frist but otherwise love it! :)
dholland08 More than 1 year ago
I think as I re-read Ann Brashares' Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series I love the four main characters more and I have more appreaciation for the author's deft storytelling. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood is a novel that can be enjoyed during the first, second, or I'm sure even tenth read. It takes place a year after the first book and it is Lena, Tibby, Carmen and Bridget's second summer with their magical pants. As usual, the prologue is in the first person, this time narrated by Lena who gives a quick overview of book one and gives a glossy summary of the school year. That's something that makes these books special. Their stories take place completely outside of the world of school and studying and are set in that eternal land of summer. This summer the girls are sixteen. Tibby is going off to movie making camp at Williamston College. Bridget, Lena, and Carmen were all supposed to stay home. But the pants are Traveling Pants and soon their lazy summer plans are transformed, starting with Bridget impulsively setting off to Alabama to see her grandmother for the first time in years. Throughout the book there is humor, heartbreak, and life lessons. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood deals with the girls' mother-daughter relationships more than the first installment. I think I loved this book even more this time because I wasn't simply caught up in finding out what was going to happen. I appreaciated Brashares' imaginative use of language and her witty one-liners. I felt like this quartet of best friends were my best friends too. That's the magic in this series. It's not that this old pair of jeans miraculously fits these four very different girls. It's that these girls- Carmen, Lena, Tibby, and Bridget- feel like the reader's best friends every time they pick up one of the books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Second Summer of the Sisterhood was a well written book. It kept me hooked to see what happens next. The four main characters learned lessons all girls will sometime in their life, whether it is about love, death, or life in general. The book made me feel like I was living the lives of the four girls, Bridget, Lena, Tibby, and Carmen. After I was done with the book, it was hard to come back into my life again, because I got so absorbed in the book. It sucks you in and doesn't let you go until it's finished. This novel made me cherish my friends even more, because no matter where you go or who you meet, your best friends will always be there for you. I can always tell when I'm reading a good book, because I start to feel the same emotions as the characters. For example, when Carmen got mad at her mom, Christina, for acting like a teenager out on one of her dates with a co-worker, I felt the anger, too. Or when Lena lost Kostos, the love of her life, for the second time, I felt as miserable as Ann Brashares describes Lena. I give this book, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, five stars!
explorerBG More than 1 year ago
Most books don't deal with some of the challenges of the journey from childhood to adult, the teenage years. We meet four girls who are strengthened by their friendship, the relationship that provides a safe place to grow, expand horizons, succeed and fail. It provides a place to learn. We experience their journey through their eyes, and are provided a chance to learn and examine their decisions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann. Brashares The time was the summer, when four best friends had to separate so they can work on what they wanted to achieve. But the problem was they all had a rule that they had to share the pants with each other. That would be a problem because they were all going to different states for the summer so they try to send the pants to each other. At the end they finally see each other again. I recommend this book to anyone who liked the first book. There were some big surprises at the end. It wasn't really a big page turner but I thought it was from one page to another I wish I could say so much more about the book but I was afraid I would give it away so easy. It was kind of hard to concentrate because all the distractions I have at my house. I finally finished it but when there were not distractions I was deeply in the book I could read it over and over again. To be honest I really connect with the character because they go through what I am going through in my life. I enjoyed this genre because it relates to the average teen age girl life with the boys, jobs plainly teenage life. No the story did not end in cliff hangers in my point of view
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ann Brashares has done it again. I love these books and wish they were real. AMAZING BOOKS!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must reaad
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the best book! Dont hesitate for reading it
D B More than 1 year ago
Before I started this book I had read the first one, it was one the best books I've read. This book is a very good book, but, I wish it was little bit more like the first one.
Nancy Kerber More than 1 year ago
So good
Courtney Mensink More than 1 year ago
READ ALL FOUR :D!!!
Anna Sweeney More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book. Great read for tweens/teens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. More peolpe need to read it! I can say that you will find thingss that you relate to. I,m recommending the series to my friends!!!
Jennie-Penny More than 1 year ago
This book is the second in the Traveling Pants series, and I ordered it immediately upon finishing the last page of the first book. There's no way it could be as good as the first, right? It was amazing, and it not only picked up where it left off, but it flowed gracefully into the next parts of the characters lives without skipping a beat. This book definately had a bit more drama and negativity than the first book, but the views and spiritual journeys left me analyzing and appreciating my own family. I was brought to tears more than once. I can't wait to see what will happen to these girls in the next 2 books, and I may just re-read this book while I wait for my 3rd book to arrive!
Orla More than 1 year ago
More adventures and drama await Carmen, Tibby, Lena, and Bee. I know that any teenage girl will be able to identify with one or more of the characters as they go through the difficulties of adolescence in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the first in the series and this second one was just as entertaining. It's a light fun read that took me back to my teen years.
Anonymous 15 days ago
A lot of sex!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How much sex?
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
I liked the first one, I thought it was cute and liked that the four girls had a friendship and bond, all the while sharing a pair of you could say, magical pants. But with this one, I don't know, some of the arcs the girls were going through, I wanted to read more of or others I juts didn't care that much. I liked the ones with Brigid, a little bit of Carmen and Tibby. But Lena's I wasn't sure about. Mostly for the romance drama I was like, sigh, really. I mean, I liked that with and without the pants, they did learn something from their parents at least. Basically, I liked the characters that I kept reading. I liked the sequel but it didn't love it. Its still a good read and the writing too. Giving this a 3.5 at least.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THERE FOUR BOOKS IN THE SERIES OMG also exactly how much sexuall content is ther and i it truly as good s the first one bc i hated the sister hood of the traveling pants two