×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Secret Mistress (Mistress Trilogy Series #3)
     

The Secret Mistress (Mistress Trilogy Series #3)

3.6 93
by Mary Balogh
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
 
While Lady Angeline Dudley’s pedigree dictates that she must land a titled gentleman, the irrepressible beauty longs for a simple, ordinary suitor. So when Edward Ailsbury, the new Earl of Heyward, defends her honor with unmatched civility, Angeline thinks that she has found true love. Persuading the earl

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Secret Mistress 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 93 reviews.
salvogurrl More than 1 year ago
I was super excited to read this book, as I read the previous installment (which featured Angeline's brother, the Duke's story, and takes place after TSM) and enjoyed it. This one to me however, was boring, dull, and flat. The hero, Edward, is boring! I don't know how Angeline was so enamored of him when I just wanted to give him a big wedgie and muss up his hair. And, like 15 chapters in and being 3/4 done with the book they had only kissed once. Excuse me?? The secret mistress comes in, when?! Also, I didn't feel chemistry. It may be because I've been on a Harlequin Blaze streak, but I felt nothing between these two. Often, you'll read about the heat they constantly feel, the pull, the attraction, his constant state of half arousal, the need to kiss all the time, but with this book there was nothing like that. They interacted, he'd bemoan the fact that his family was pushing him at her and that was it. Maybe she'd question why the room was suddenly warm but that was all we got as to how they affected each other. And Edward is no where near a rake. In the book they say it's because his brother was too much of one, but we don't really know much about Edward's personal life. He says he's been with a few women, but we don't know sordid details, we don't know if he's still sleeping around. We don't know if he stays awake at night dreaming of Angeline's lips or if he's crushing whichever object is nearest when he's around her in an attempt to keep his hands to himself. It's flat.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Sister to the Duke of Tresham Jocelyn, Lady Angeline Dudley wants a prim and proper gentleman as her husband after being surrounded by rakes. As she waits impatiently for Jocelyn to arrive, fiendish rake Lord Windrow assaults her; Earl Edward Ailsbury rescues her. His family thinks Lady Angeline is the perfect match for him; she agrees with their assessment. No one asked Edward for his opinion. If they did he would reveal his secret love for Eunice Goddard. However Hurricane Angeline refuses to back away from her choice although she hides her doubts. He proposes but she demands passion and feels once she jumps his bones he will not be able to resist. As Angeline brings out the love and beast in her man, Edward brings out the need and desire in his woman. The latest marvelous Mistress Regency romance (see A Secret Affair) is an amusing coupling of a rationalist with a romanticist. Edward cannot understand why logic fails to work in his dealings with emotional women while ardent Angeline cannot understand why her beloved remains prim with her. His behavior amplifies her insecurities. Fans will enjoy this comedy of errors as the proper noble and the spirited lady fall in love. Harriet Klausner
BeachdreamsDK More than 1 year ago
I hesitated in buying this after reading one of the reviews--but I love it! It's refreshing, sweet and fun; she is delightful, he is endearing. And still quite strong and interesting--which is nice for those of us very happily married to endearing, 'ordinary', strong and interesting men! The issue of Nook prices is complex, and quite different from the value of the book itself. Authors who are less well-known--and who could certainly use the money--are charged at a lower rate, while already best-selling authors get higher prices. I fully agree that an author is worthy of her hire, and deserves to be paid. Perhaps instead of charging more, they could be paid more of the e-books retail price, since the total work of the book seller is in providing us with a place to make the purchase. That issue will take years, and will not be resolved here. But--I loved the book!
michellewils More than 1 year ago
I never leave my recommendation BUT this time I had to let everyone out there to purchase this book. I could not put this awesome, wonderful book down. I was so enthralled with all the characters and what happened each time I turned the page. To be loved by such a person as each one in this book did, would be a dream!
sb27 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It is a rare book that has laughing out loud one scene and tearing up during the second. Angie and Edward were a perfect pair and it was delightful getting to know their story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVED this book!!!! Both Lady Angeline Dudley and Edward Aisley, Earl of Heywood, became  very sympathetic, lovable, & enchanting characters, TOTALLY opposite from the vacuous, shallow characters they'd been presented as in "More than a Mistress" & "No Man's Mistress. Plus,. after the epilogue, one is treated to an update concerning all 3 Dudley Siblings and their families!! Again, I found "The Secret Mistress" a thoroughly charming, delightful read!!!
Christi41CO More than 1 year ago
Fun story, Mary Balough at her best.
melly254 More than 1 year ago
This book is not like baloghs ithers. It is really slow... it has taken me two weeks to get through it!
DebDiem More than 1 year ago
The Secret Mistress by Mary Balogh is fantastic. Ms Balogh has written such lovable, fun characters, they totally made this book fly. The Secret Mistress is well written with drama, humor and spice. I enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from Mary Balogh in the future. The Secret Mistress is book 3 in the Mistress Trilogy but can be read as a standalone. This is a complete book, not a cliff-hanger.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AustenStudent More than 1 year ago
Review is based on a CD version read by Anne Flosnik. I haven’t read much by Mary Balogh—only the Mistress trilogy—though I know she is one of the huge historical romance authors writing today. Her writing style is beautiful and descriptive, with humorous inner dialogue, witty social situations, clever plotlines, and realistic and likeable characters. I just prefer a little something more in my historical romance, and I can’t even quite put my finger on what that is. It’s that quality that makes me want to read every single book an author has written. The first book I read by her, More Than a Mistress, comes closest to my preference but it is still missing a certain something that makes it work for me; I actually felt that book ended too abruptly. Lady Angeline Dudley, the younger sister of the Duke of Tresham, is kind of a ditz, a proper and wealthy lady, to be sure, but she has a sort of Charlotte Palmer* quality about her with her constant good humor, inane chatter, and neglect of decorum in social situations. I suppose you could say she is the ideal socialite of her time. She is a silly young miss excited about her come out and wants to marry a man unlike her father and older brothers, rakes all of them. This is an admirable trait as at least she knows what kind of man she wishes to marry. Still, she seemed all of her immature twenty years. Yet I could feel Angeline’s  loneliness, especially when it’s revealed that she has no female friends. I related to this instantly, and it somehow warmed me toward her. I love her obsession with bonnets, too, and her sunny personality is infectious. Edward, the new Earl of Heyward after his brother’s untimely demise in a curricle race, is a gentleman to the core. He’s a definite beta hero, with his serious demeanor—Tresham calls him a “dry old stick”—his awareness of social decorum and expected behavior, and devotion to his old friend, Edith Goddard, a university don’s daughter. Like Edward Ferrars from Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility, he wishes to honor his understanding with Edith even as he is drawn to Angeline and Edith is attracted to Lord Windrow, a renowned rake and Edward’s nemesis. Even though Edward isn’t an exciting rake, he’s a genuinely nice man, the sort of man a lady wants to marry. The relationship between Edward and Edith is sweetly portrayed, as they are rather like siblings, and Edith’s covert plans for both Edward and Angeline are clever even as Angeline herself comes to befriend Edith. In a funny twist, Angeline thinks Edward and Edith belong together and tries to bring them together. I just love these little nuances in novels of manners and it’s one of the many reasons I love Jane Austen’s works. Lord Windrow is an unexpected character. He’s an aggressive rake with a smooth style. I especially liked his provocative sparring conversations with Edith and how he becomes enchanted by her calm and lovely personality. Edith’s attraction to him, while very understated, is obvious. The pacing of the story felt a bit slow to me, but I listened to this on CD over a month (read by the wonderful Anne Flosnik) so that might have made the story seem slower than normal. The story takes place in about a month’s time which, given all that happens, seems surprisingly short. But it is a testament to Balogh’s skill as a writer that Angeline and Edward—and even the secondary characters—are so colorful and  interesting and their situation so farcical, that I just couldn’t stop listening. Anne Flosnik, a narrator who has read several books I have enjoyed, does an admirable job with her clear, crisp, and engaging voice. I especially liked her lighter, younger girlish voice for Angeline and her deeper, more cultured and elegant voice for Edith. Secondary characters including Tresham, Angeline’s cousin and chaperone, Rosalie, Ferdinand, and Edward’s family members are all easily differentiated as well as expressing apt emotions at logical points in the story. A sweet and poignant novel of manners, fans of Georgette Heyer, Samantha Grace, Julia Quinn, and Amanda Forester's Marriage Mart series might enjoy. *From Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avid_Escapist_Reader More than 1 year ago
This was not one of her better books. The conversations were not as witty and I found the main female character to be a bit annoying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The first romance novel I ever read was Mary Balogh (The Huxtable Series) and I loved all of them. This book, however, was very boring. I am about 19 chapters into the book and I am having a hard time finishing it. This book is not a typical Balogh novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Mary Balogh’s work. She creates stories that draw you in, making you laugh and cry she leaves you wanting more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago