×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Seduction at Christmas (Scandals and Seductions Series #1)
     

A Seduction at Christmas (Scandals and Seductions Series #1)

4.0 77
by Cathy Maxwell
 

See All Formats & Editions

She never expected it would come to this

Desperation and an empty stomach forced Fiona Lachlan to agree to a plan that ended up luring the wickedly notorious Duke of Holburn into trouble. Everything went terribly wrong, and now she has found herself posing as his ward! And while she swore nothing could make her desire a scoundrel, even if he was a duke, she is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Seduction at Christmas (Scandals and Seductions Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 77 reviews.
mellind More than 1 year ago
I liked this story, it was original. Fiona is a heroine that people can relate with, she is low on money, just lost her job and needs a way to make her rent. She fills in for her neighbor on a job and her life changes forever. The Duke of Holburn is a hero that is easy to like and personable. He has family issues and is overall likable. The only problem with the story is that she didn't become his "ward" until the middle of the book. i kept wondering what was going on because the back of the book said that she was his ward. There was also a lot of auxiliary characters that kept popping up in the book and taking away from the main story. The heroine had self doubts about being with the Duke due to a past attack but that was not really mentioned, i felt that i was missing something and needed to read a previous book. There also wasn't a lot of romance because the main characters felt they were destined to be together from the first time they met. I thought there would be more conflict and drama between them but they did make a good team to find out who was out to harm them.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have not read "In a highlanders Bed" in the Cameron Sisters Series #5 where Fona's background story about her rape is told, this book will makes her sound very quick to recover from the rape... and that was not the case. I don't understand how Cahty Maxwell can say on her websit that her books "stand alone". She is a wonderfull writer... but... she does need someone to help her keep her details accurate. In the fist book there was one man who raped Fona, in the second book there was a group? That is not all the details that don't match. Maybe I'm the only one who notices these things?
Serious-reader More than 1 year ago
Thin plot and too predictable
LUV_HISTORICAL_ROMANCE More than 1 year ago
I have read two of Maxwell's books and both did not keep my attention. I found them to be very wordy. Maxwell is not an author I enjoy reading.
MaurieMac More than 1 year ago
Excellent...As always..
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A satisfying Christmas love story with some mystery elements
MADreaderMD More than 1 year ago
This was an intriguing premise that a prophecy from the Oracle of Delphi could affect the young, rakish Duke of Holborn for the rest of his life. While trying to prove his worth to his stuffy uncles and keep his difficult mother content, he also has to frequent the gaming hells of London. Gambling seems to be the only place he has any success. He wonders if this is good luck or a curse. Fiona Lachlan, the daughter of a Scottish magistrate, was raised to be a lady. But when her family is torn apart after supporting the Scottish rebellion, she is left to fend for herself in London. She has managed to take only respectable jobs so far, but fresh from losing her job, she is desperate enough to perform a shady errand for a notorious madame. Nick, the duke, and Fiona are unexpectedly thrown together and are soon running for their lives. The mismatch of the powerful duke and penniless young woman is comical at times, but Fiona stands up to the duke and holds her own. They soon find that sparks fly between them, even though Fiona is not ready to trust any man and Nick is still worried about that prophecy. The preparations for Christmas and all the various relatives at the duke's country estate are fun to read about. Danger follows them to the country, and the intrigue keeps you guessing until the end. There's plenty of action, both romantic and otherwise. I'm looking forward to reading the other books in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Predictable and disappointing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Alway written with you readers in mind and for those who don't know pick up her work read it and become a fan. Ihave read all her books and I can tell you now each one was wrote with love and bringing joy to all who reads them. Ms. D from Bronx NY
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Who doesnt enjoy a quick little read that keeps you entertained! Predictable but was still glad I took time to engage in the fun. If you are going to pick apart looking for flaws for the time period, DO NOT read. If you enjoy a little change up and just want a quick, light, entertaining story, by all means, ENJOY this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi my name is Sophiya.I'm 11years old.I got this nook for Chirstmas.I was so happy that i wanted to cry so hard.I really like this book it is entertaining.So I'm going to put that this book is a 5 STAR!!YEAH
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great a real deal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This could have been a good read, but like another reviewer noted, I missed out on the background story by not reading a previous book (In the Highlander's Bed, I think was suggested). I was somewhat misled in thinking this book was the start of new series. Maybe the author could have written a prologue that set the stage for this book. Also, just read another book by this author and found very similar expressions and phrasing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it. Sweet love story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mlorio More than 1 year ago
An enjoyable romance with likable characters and a mystery to keep the plot going at a good pace. A must for Maxwell fans; this title should gain her even more devoted readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Janie_tx More than 1 year ago
Great Story! I wouldn't necessary call a seduction at Christmas though. I truly enjoyed this story. The author draws the reader in. I felt the action as Fiona and Nick tried escaping the Irish henchmen. You have people being murdered and uncles stealing his ring. He has being after Andres for sometime for a ring he stole although he did steal it, it was behalf of his uncles. 'Beware innocence' she had me going I was sure it was the little old aunt but I surprise and who it turned out to be. I would have like to feel the pain Fiona must have felt but I did not. I have a habit of reading sequels out of order. T read "His Christmas Pleasure" first and enjoyed it but now I understand the connection between the Duke and Andres. What I don't know is what happen between Gilliam and Andres; I will have to see what other books she has written maybe I discover the answer.
AM12 More than 1 year ago
I really loved this one. Usually I can see whats behind the twists and turns but there were several that I was truly surprised by. It was refreshing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very entertaining book, with all the plot twists it could have been way longer. But overall if you are looking for a quick read and love the historical romance and a little bit of action I reccommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great must read cant wait to read more!