×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sex Wars: A Novel of Gilded Age New York
  • Alternative view 1 of Sex Wars: A Novel of Gilded Age New York
  • Alternative view 2 of Sex Wars: A Novel of Gilded Age New York
     

Sex Wars: A Novel of Gilded Age New York

3.6 11
by Marge Piercy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Post–Civil War New York City is the battleground of the American dream. In this era of free love, emerging rights of women, and brutal sexual repression, Freydeh, a spirited young Jewish immigrant, toils at different jobs to earn passage to America for her family. Learning that her younger sister is adrift somewhere in the city, she begins a determined search

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sex Wars 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found this one in a bargain bin, and am so grateful for it. Each chapter flips back and forth between the lives of several women each navigating the roads towards independent choices in a time when women were undervalued and subjugated. I will be passing this one on to my daughter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LadyLucyLehn More than 1 year ago
I thought this was wonderful. I enjoyed the different story lines and how they entertwined. I learned a lot and found myself looking up more information about the characters. I enjoy how the author created the characters from her imagination, it IS a fictional novel afterall and not an exact account of historical fact. I loved this book! Highly recommended.
gf70 More than 1 year ago
I liked the interplay of characters. You have real life feminist heroines such as Stanton, Woodhull, and Anthony mixed in with Piercy's own characters. A compelling read -- I felt torn away (in a good sense) from character's stories when she moved to the next chapter. I read it on vacation and had the best of both worlds -- reading about history and getting sucked into a well written novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Marge Piercy's SEX WARS is a winner.....a new kind of historical fiction....the next new blockbuster in book sales....an absolute must read for all book groups! Line up for awards Marge Piercy. Book fans will be greatly rewarded by reading your newest book! I would not be surprised to see this book win the next Pulitzer Prize!! Most everyone will recognize the big names in the suffragette movement,--such as Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Stanton--but Marge Piercy has put all those well known characters, some lesser known characters, and some purely fictional characters together to create an historical fiction that everyone will enjoy reading. Her story is interesting, personal, compelling, and helpful in understanding how women and men developed into the society that makes today's USA the country that we can all relate to, and debate about, continuing issues....if we so choose to be as brave and bold as some of those women in this story. Book groups prepare for some great and lengthy intellectual debates with Marge Piercy's SEX WARS!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The above would be a better title for this book. The author fairly canonizes Victoria Woodhull, despite Woodhull's well known history of deception and manipulation throughout her life. The author's description of the sexual lives of the characters throughout (but especially Woodhull's) are misplaced and too graphic and tasteless for this book, which descends into the 'bodice ripper' genre instead of an historical novel. Some of the stories go on for too long (Freydah and Shaina) and the reader ceases to care all that much. Parts of the book are well written but the writing overall is mediocre and inconsistent. Insights into the book's characters are interesting, with the exception of Woodhull, who is so white-washed as to be unrecognizable.