×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shades of Gray (Jude Magdalyn)
     

Shades of Gray (Jude Magdalyn)

4.0 32
by L.M. Pruitt
 

See All Formats & Editions

Jude Magdalyn Henries lives what many would call an unconventional life.

Orphaned at birth, raised by nuns, a teenage runaway living on the streets... she now earns a living at odd jobs, including one as a fake tarot card reader. Very little about Jude's life appears normal, by any scale. When she accepts a gig to do a private reading, unconventional

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shades of Gray 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 32 reviews.
AngelGoneMad More than 1 year ago
Shades of Grey is the first installment in the Jude Magdalyn series by LM Pruitt. Words can't describe how brilliant this book was. There was action, romance, a bit of smut and heartbreak: the makings of an awesome story. Jude Magdalyn Henries is just your average girl trying to make a living in the streets of New Orleans, be it hustling or setting up a scam, it puts food on the table and pays the bills. But all that changes after a scam goes wrong and Jude is on the run when she stumbles head first into an ongoing war: a war that she is at the centre of. From this encounter, Jude goes on to learn more about her heritage and all the goodies that come with it. I can't rant and rave enough about this book. I absolutely loved it from the get go, the story is unlike anything I have read before. Yes it's supernaturally based but the story itself and how it unfolds is different, it kept things interesting. I thought I knew what Jude would do next, but every time I thought I knew what Jude would do next, I was wrong. Jude is a very unpredictable, outspoken and kind character. Her attitude gets her into trouble most of the time but sometimes it's useful. No story would be complete without a love interest or two and Jude has some choices. Albeit the choice Jude made threw me, but I loved that this character could keep me guessing about what is going to happen next. The love interests themselves are some fine specimens and I don't think I have ever been this jealous of a fictional character in my life, but I am. Overall, just brilliant!! I can't wait for the next book in the series, Shades of Desire. I highly recommend this book to anyone, but maybe not of any age. I would say mid-teen and upwards. LM Pruitt, you rock for writing this book! Disclaimer: I was sent this e-book as part of a tour via The Bookish Snob Promotions. I have not been paid to review this book and everything I have said is of my own honest opinion.
mbcrandell More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and am already in the middle of the second book of the series "Shade." The author has a talent for weaving her story with a pace that keeps the reader glued to the book. Good job with character development and world building. I am already wanting to see a third book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
L.M. Pruitt does a fantastic job of story telling. Well developed characters with a few surprising twists in the plot. A nearly perfect blend of realism, fantasy, romance, suspense and humor. This book is hard to put down and leaves you with both a satisfying ending and eagerly awaiting the next installment. Some material may not be suitable for younger readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have nothing positive I can say about this book. It was boring, with a weak storyline, and no real character building. I would recommend this book to be used as an example of how NOT to write a book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But mostly forgotton already
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
booksavvybabe More than 1 year ago
*4.5 of 5 Stars* I really, really enjoyed Shades of Gray. Jude Magdalyn is a tough, independent heroine who adapts well to new situations. She is smart, quick, and in no way a damsel in distress (well, at least most of the time). Jude had a tough upbringing, as an orphan raised by nuns, and forced to live on the streets for awhile. However, Jude was not completely hardened by her background, she is still capable of caring for other people, and she is fiercely loyal. Judy is suddenly thrown into a new life situation, given responsibilities and expectations. She handles all of her changes pretty well, even with her sarcastic nature. I was laughing at her mouth, her sarcastic personality is very entertaining and funny too. Jude has more than one romantic interest, she has two! Both men are hot, powerful, and different. Williams is a vampire, and the attraction between him and Jude is intense. Theo is the more constant interest, he is part of the covenant, has magic similar to Jude's, and he is dependable. The pseudo love-triangle is very intriguing, and I can't help but wonder what will happen next for Jude. Jude is cast into a new world and a new role in Shades of Gray. She learns about the covenant, an group of magically inclined people, and becomes an integral part of a war between the covenant and vampires. The magic in Shades of Gray is pretty cool, and based on elements and spells. Mixing the politics of the covenant and the danger from the vampires, the plot is exciting and fast paced. With excellent characters, especially the unique and hilarious Jude, enticing and complicated romances, and a story teeming with magic, Shades of Gray is an exceptional urban fantasy, paranormal romance read. I highly recommend this book to fans of urban fantasy and paranormal romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was okay. I kept expecting her to go one way but it never happened. I will keep reading the series if it is a continuation of her story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a well written, original story! Highly recommend!
dreamer2229 More than 1 year ago
In a recent review I said I was over vampire books, but this series could make me change my mind. Granted it’s not all vampires, but it’s very clever. The Covenant is a group in charge of keeping the supernatural world in working order. The main character, Jude, finds out that the things that go bump in the night are really the things from nightmares in “Shades of Grey.” Jude is an orphan who makes a living doing odd jobs. She has no family, was orphaned at birth, raised by nuns, lived on the streets as a teen-age runaway, and meets her first vampire when she is pretending to be a psychic. Of course, she doesn’t initially know he’s a vampire, just that he scares her. “Shades of Grey” is a taut, intense story about Jude finding out who she is, why she is, and who her family is. “Shades of Desire” continues the story of Jude and her coming into power. It gives more information about the Covenant, what it is and how it works. It also explores the balance of power between the Covenant and the vampires in New Orleans. L.M. Pruitt has written an intense series that has drama, humor, paranormal, heart, romance, and tons of action. There is something here for everyone. The fast paced read keeps you drawn into the story and the plot keeps you intrigued. The characters make you care what happens to them, a true feat for any author. I give this series 4.5 out of 5 clouds. This product or book may have been distributed for review; this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.