×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shadow Bound
     

Shadow Bound

4.6 15
by Rachel Vincent
 

See All Formats & Editions



Kori Daniels is a shadow-walker, able to travel instantly from one shadow to another. After weeks of confinement for betraying her boss, she's ready to break free of the Tower syndicate for good. But Jake Tower has one final job for Kori, one chance to secure freedom for herself and her sister, Kenley, even if it means taking it from someone else.…

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shadow Bound 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
Another fantastic Rachel Vincent story.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AnitaBlakeFan More than 1 year ago
This was another great story be Rachel Vincent. At the beginning of this story you know that Ian and Kori are going to end up together at the end, but seeing how the story comes together is great. It's amazing to me how she pulls her characters out of impossible situations and still keep the story realistic (or as realistic as a fantasy fiction can be) :) there are some surprises in this story and we see many of the characters for Blood Bound. Can't wait to see where we go in the next story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Graet story action love heart break si fi comedy mystery this series has it all keep up the great stories rachel
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Rachel Vincent! She's amazing! =) Definitely a good read for anyone who enjoyed her Soul Screamers book but was looking for a more adult feel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HackaroosReviews More than 1 year ago
Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent Goodreads Description: If you live in the dark long enough, you begin to forget the light… KORI DANIELS is a shadow-walker, able to travel instantly from one shadow to another. After weeks of confinement for betraying her boss, she’s ready to break free of the Tower syndicate for good. But Jake Tower has one final job for Kori, one chance to secure freedom for herself and her sister, Kenley, even if that means taking it from someone else… The job? Recruit Ian Holt—or kill him. Ian’s ability to manipulate the dark has drawn interest from every syndicate in the world, most notably an invitation from Jake Tower. Though he has no interest in organized crime, Ian accepts the invite, because he’s on a mission of his own. Ian has come to kill Tower’s top Binder: Kori’s little sister. Amid the tangle of lies, an unexpected thread of truth connecting Ian and Kori comes to light. But with opposing goals, they’ll have to choose between love and liberty…. Why did I pick this? If you don't know by now, you should know that Rachel Vincent is my favorite author. I fell in love with this world in Blood Bound. I could not wait to get myhands on the second book in this series. I think I actually drooled a little bit. ;-) What did I think?Like I mentioned above, RV is my favorite author so I might be a little biased. But.... From the very beginning paragraph, the mood is set for the entire book. If you live in the dark long enough, you start to forget what light looks like. What it feels like. You may remember it in an academic sense. Illumination. A possible source of heat. But after a while those abstract memories are all you have left, and they're worth less than the memory of water to a man dying of thirst. I've always thought Vincent had a way with words. This has to be one of the best first paragraphs I've read in a while. Unlike the first book in this series, Blood Bound, this is told from the point of view of Kori and Ian. If you haven't read the first book, beware of spoilers. In Blood Bound, we were introduced to this world where a man's life is his word. And you are bound to it. It was a very interesting twist to that expression. I loved the world that Vincent created. It was dark and so unlike anything I've read before. In this second book, it picks up right after what happened with Kori and Jake Tower. Kori went against Tower's orders and got him shot. Which is a bad thing considering he is her boss and she was his guard. I was in total captivation the entire time. I had no idea what was going to happen next. None. Vincent kept throwing punches and Kori kept taking them. Let's talk about Kori. Wow. Just wow. Really. Kori has been through some shiz. For real. But she also has to be one of the strongest, caring, most badass chicks there are out there. There were times where I did an actual fist pump for her and the next, I wanted to cuddle her up. Ian. Is. Hot. I loooooved him. Dark, daring and so strong. I loved how Kori was hard where Ian was soft. It's usually the other way around. He was the perfect match to Kori's crazy. They both complimented each other so well. I didn't think that Vincent could top Faythe Sanders in a badass chick, but she just did with Kori. One of the things that I loved about this book is the unpredicatbility of it and the fact that every decision that had to be made was practically life or death choice. That was the world. They lived in it. Every day. I couldn't imagine what that would truly be like. Kori gives a damn good idea though. It's so hard to talk about a book without having any spoilers. I truly cannot do this any justice. Rachel Vincent has done it again. I've never read a book of hers that I did not like. She is a brilliant author. Period. Now I seriously cannot wait until the next installment. Favorite Quotes: Kori- Once those milling in the entry had their chance to see me, Nina guided me into the main event. Into the snake pit, where every hiss would feel like praise and every bitelike a deep, hot kiss. The venom would flow like honey, too think to swallow, but too sweet to entirely resist. -Pg 28 Ian-When she didn't object, I pulled her closer, until our knees were touching. "I want you. I want only you. I want all of you. But I'll take whatever you're ready to give." -Pg 301
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LilyElementBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Kori is a Traveler, she is able to walk into any shadow and go where ever she wants that is within her range. The skills in this series vary and are much sought after by syndicates. There are Blinders who are able to draw shadows (darkness). Healers, which are pretty much self explanatory, they are able to heal. And there are also binders, who are able to make contracts between people that if broken can lead to pain/death. Kori is recovering after being tortured and asked to prove herself by recruiting someone into the syndicate. With little choice she meets Ian, a Blinder with significant power. The syndicate's leader, Jake Tower, tells her to do anything to recruit him. Being the rebel that Kori is, this means she shows Ian all the negative things about being part of a syndicate so he will make an informed decision. Little does she know that Ian has an ulterior motive. The book legitimately made me pissed off for Kori. She was tortured, and treated like crap and I felt really bad for her. I found Kori to be an interesting character and made me want to read more. The writing is amazing, as usual for a Rachel Vincent novel. If you have enjoyed any of her previous work I highly suggest you read this series. If you haven't read a Rachel Vincent book, do yourself a favor and go buy one now!
jenababy13 More than 1 year ago
Bad ass and rebellious, but still in same dark world we know and love. When I read Blood Bound, it had instantly become one of my top three favorite books. Everything about this series is sinister, binding, violent, and yet thrilling and enticing as hell. And, Shadow Bound in no way let me down. We start off where Blood Bound essentially left off, except now we're in Kori's brain. She disobeyed her boss and for that she was punished and tortured. But, lucky for her, she's given a chance to redeem herself with a new job. And redeeming herself and protecting her sister is all the matters to her. Jake tells her she must do whatever it takes, and I mean whatever, to recruit Ian Holt. Otherwise she and Ian will be killed... leaving her sister alone. Ian has the ability to manipulate the dark which is extremely rare. But, Ian has a job of his own and that's to kill Kori's sister Kenley. As the two grow close, they'll have to determine what's more important each other, the syndicate, or their families. The concepts of this world never cease to blow me away. Despite how menacing the Unbound world is, I constantly find myself falling in love with it and its characters. Through every bloody turn and every uneasy encounter, I always find myself needing to know what happens next. Rachel also has such a way of intertwining her words into perfect sentences. I felt like every other page there was a line or paragraph I was quoting. Lines that hit me so deep. It's just yet another thing that makes me love every part of Shadow Bound. With Blood Bound, I fell in love with Liv and especially Cam. Cameron Cabellero has a special spot in my heart, no doubt! And I was extremely happy to see them again and their roles in Shadow Bound. Although, I found myself loving our new narrators: Kori and Ian as well. Kori is one of the strongest female roles you will ever read about. And I don't just mean in the I can kick-ass, wield weapons, and castrate you way... which she can. Kori is also emotionally strong. Her family is what matters most to her, and no matter how tortured she's been she still always has that goal in mind. If I was in Kori's position, I'm not sure I would come out on top and she certainly shows the strength to do it. On the other side is Ian. Ian is also a bad-ass hottie but, he's not the snarky bad boy role... he's quite the opposite. He's kept himself low on the radar, he cares completely about those he loves, he's extremely protective, and most importantly he's an extremely good guy. I found myself loving both of their stories and watching them collide together. Overall, I intensely adore this series. With it being adult it gives me everything I could ask for. Bad-assery, Romance, Cursing, Drinking, Family, Sex, Fighting. And I love every single moment of this dark world. If you haven't read this series... well start! If you've read Blood Bound, well I'm sure you'll love Shadow Bound as well!