×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shadow of Freedom (Honorverse Series)
     

Shadow of Freedom (Honorverse Series)

4.0 25
by David Weber
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journaland international bestselling phenomenon David Weber delivers book #18 in the multiple New York Times best-selling Honor Harrington series. Honor Harrington’s Royal Manticoran Navy fights space battles alongside planetary rebels as its old rival, the corrupt Solarian League, begins to crumble.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shadow of Freedom 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.I can see why some people are a bit put out by the fact that this book is doesn't contain the 'gun-ho' action, nail-biting fights and young commander/captain/commodore Harrington. That's what most of the series was made up of up until Echoes of Honor, Harrington being a daring commander willing to risk everything she commanded in battles that were skewed in the enemies the favor to do her duty. But once Honor became an Admiral, we lost that. I was bit sad at first to see the end of such action, but then I realized it showed how much Honor grew as a person. She was no longer an ignorant commander who hated politics and thought all politicians were stupid, she'd grown. Not only has she become commander of the largest fleet in Honorverse history, but she's gotten married, had children, is personal friends not only with the Queen of Manticore, but friends with Thomas Theisman, Lester Tourville and even Eloise Pritchart of the Republic of Haven. Once you realize this progression from such humble beginnings, you have to realize Honor's reached the peak of her character; she's achieved everything there is to achieve. You cannot deny that's what most of us wanted. Honor was supposed to die quite a few books ago, but David Weber actually kept her alive just because her fan base had grown so large. So if she'd die, we'd all be complaining that she shouldn't of died, if she'd stay stuck at Commodore, we'd all be complaining she was being treated unfairly by a government which no longer hates her. Don't let the people who gave this book a bad review stop you from reading it. As another reviewer said, this book series went from just a single war to a galactic conflict, you can't just focus on one character anymore, it would be too narrow of a view. And yes, Honor is not in the book. Covers Always Lie(Troupe, go look it up.) While I try not to bash the artists, I never liked the US covers for Honorverse books. Go look up the new French covers which are much more interesting and truthful because the artist usually reads the books before making his art. This book still had some nice action in it. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. I bought the eARC, and I enjoyed it so much I bought the hardback signed version because hey, I thought David Weber deserved more of my money than he already had. It’s a great book, and I can't wait for the next few books that are coming out as Honorverse novels.
Marilyn40 More than 1 year ago
I wish you would put all of the Honor Harrington books in english in the Nook books. As many of the books as I own I would still buy all of them in the Nook Books. Please...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am tired of publisher's doing their best to gorge you out of every dime they can. There's no reason to hold up release for the e-book other then padding sales for the hardback.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first review I've written, so please bear with me. All in all this book was well written and I love the series. However Weber has, in his last few Harrington books, copied entire chapters from previous novels. While I realize that writing a book, much less two (the Safehold series is also a good read), I still feel this tactic is beneath him. I believe it is a way to just take up space with little effort. He didn't use this tactic as much as he has in previous books, but still I would prefer he stop altogether. As I said before, this is a good book and I will continue to follow the series. But we know what happened in previous books, don't rewrite the exact same scene (practically verbatim) from a slightly different perspective. Weber is still one of my favorite current writers and I look forward to his next book. I was hoping to see the Five Mandarins in this book ( I like to watch them squirm), but I also liked the focus on events in the Quadrant.
Whitworth More than 1 year ago
It's amazing to me that that people who've been involved with the Honor Harrington series so long would be upset with this latest issue., or any of the preceding books were Honor Harrington is no longer the main character and we no longer have her in charge of individual ship or fleet actions. The story is now GALACTIC. Harrington is in a position now where she would command fleets. These would be actions of huge proportions. In our world once you attain the rank of Vice Admiral or Lieutenant General you become a political animal. Mr Weber has brought to the fore many of the lower ranked individuals who have peppered the previous works. In addition several of the characters who we came to know have died in recent actions. The series has become galactic in scope. In order to maintain the small unit, ie: squadron or task force operations and actions we've come to love so well, Weber has brought forward several characters from previous books. We now have the Peep's as an ally of the Manticorian Empire. The Graysons haven't been heard from in some time. I look forward to a book featuring them in some way or another. The Silesian Confederacy is heavily invested, along with the Andermani Empire being an interested partner. Add in the major conflict with the Solarian League that's escalating, and I'd surely hope (actually pray) that David Weber could have another 5-10 books under his belt. at a minimum. If Honor Harrington isn't a major player in recent novels, get over it. Neither is the Queen and so far as combat commanders go Honor is up there in the regions that Eisenhower was in WW2 which was merely global. He surely wasn't running around with a rifle in one hand and a hand grenade in the other. Enjoy each new book for the entertainment it provides in the ever growing story of the galactic spanning conflict Weber has created and crafted so well to this point.
OneEyedGeezer More than 1 year ago
I like the whole series and this is a great continuation of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Weber grows from just blowing up space ships to more political intrigue in the war for Manticore's future.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great volume from David Weber in the "Honorverse" series. Waiting impatiently for the next installment!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
No Honor, but don't get on Michelle bad side.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
billcarty More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wherndon52 More than 1 year ago
While I have not yet read this book, I would like to comment on one of the reviews. This entire series has many plots, twists and schemes involving many casts of members that show up in one book and then skip a book to only show up in a later novel. That is why, sometimes, entire chapters will be included in ANY authors novels when there is a series of books covering (I believe it is about 20 books now) the entire series. This is not being lazy...only trying to tie in past incidents to bring a late coming reader up to speed on what is happening in the current novel. Not everyone follows a series from the very begining and will start somewhere in the middle to see if they like the story and author's writing style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NelsonH More than 1 year ago
Yes, Weber does include chunks of previous Honor Harrington books in his latest publications. I don't think it's laziness or "puffing" a book though. This is a huge and complex story and later books must, somehow, be interesting to readers who are new to the series. This requires a larger degree of "backing and filing" to insure that the new readers are up to speed enough to enjoy the book they are reading. So far Baen is succeeding at this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was about as disappointing as Torch of Freedom. The plot barely advanced, there was very little character development, and the action was ho-hum. The verbatim pasting from previous books is irritating, but not as irritating as the main characters from this splinter series acting upset over the blowing up of the space stations in Manticoran space but not even mentioning those previously close to them being-or possibly being-dead, but still crying over a few ships that blew up and were avenged already. The really bad part of this book was several previously developed characters acting out of character to the point of thinking and acting like the Legislaturist and the Solarium League Commanders. The end of the book and the decision that was reached by one of the characters was horrible, and the excuse that Honor would understand and had done similar actions was deplorable. The whole book made me want to have the Havenites restart the war and blow Manticore to pieces. If the rest of the officers of the Manticoran Empire behave the same way, I hope they lose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I am a great fan of  Weber, and this series in particular, this is one of the worst books that Weber wrote ( the worst was  "Out of the Dark" in my opinion). Harrington novels are known and well liked  for being  "Hornblower in space," yet there is hardly any action in this book. The main story line doesn't progress either. There is no Harrington in the book, as such the book cover is misleading. This is a book in Honor-verse with minor characters and not much of plot development. I do not recommend it. I will not buy anymore Weber hardcover books from now on.  Weber is becoming an expert of writing thicker and thicker books without much substance in them.