×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shadowlight (Kyndred Series #1)
     

Shadowlight (Kyndred Series #1)

3.9 99
by Lynn Viehl
 

See All Formats & Editions

With just one touch, Jessa Bellamy can see anyone’s darkest secrets, thanks to whoever tampered with her genes. What she doesn’t know is that a biotech company has discovered her talent and intends to kill her and harvest her priceless DNA...

Gaven Matthias is forced to abduct Jessa himself so he can protect her, but Jessa has a hard time believing

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shadowlight (Kyndred Series #1) 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 98 reviews.
4kidsmom More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Viehl's Darkyn books and this is the beginning of a related series - #1 in the new Kyndred Series. I really enjoyed this book. I was lucky enough to receive an e-ARC copy and am so grateful that I did. I was somewhat confused by the story at the beginning but it is possible that the reason was formatting. The story jumped around from 2008 to 1998 then back to 2008 for the back story and headline type news bits to the "real" story and I didn't follow it at first, but after a chapter or 2 I realized what was going on and it was fine after that. I have a feeling in the final copy these "news stories" sections will have a different font or something that will make the transitions more clear. Even with that said, I thoroughly enjoyed the novel. There were a few brief appearances from Lucan & Samantha (Dark Need). These are 2 of my favorite Darkyn characters and I loved the crossover tying the 2 series together. This story focuses on Jessa who is living her life basically hiding from her past and not really living. She has a type of psychic power that makes her a target of very power people. She has many emotional battles to fight including deciding who she can trust and love. Matthias takes her away from a planned kidnapping but at the time we don't have enough information to know for sure if he is helping her or just another person looking to use her powers for his own plans. I really enjoyed how Matthias' back story was slowly exposed to us throughout the book. Matthias' helpers Rowan & Drew are likeable characters and their stories will be interesting reads in future books. We've already learned Rowan's story will be told in book 2 of the Kyndred Series. The ending is "happy" and leaves great unresolved threads to carry into the next book of the series. Only some of the bad guys are eliminated by the end of this story, and there is much yet to discover about where the Kyndred come from and how they relate to the Darkyn. I highly recommend this book and will happily continue with the series.
spitzlady More than 1 year ago
From Back: With just one touch, Jessa Bellamy can see anyone's darkest secrets, thanks to whoever tampered with her genes. What she doesn't know is that a biotech company called GenHance has discovered her talent, and intends to kill her and harvest her priceless DNA. When GenHance is poised to strike, Gaven Matthias is forced to take action. After months of tracking Jessa, he abducts her himself so he can protect her in his underground fortress. Matthias tries to explain what she is and how she can protect others like her, but Jessa has a hard time believing the one man whose secrets she can't read. She senses he's hiding a terrible truth, and yet his touch ignites a passion she's never known. As a monstrous assassin closes in and forces them on the run. Jessa will have to find another way to discover whether Matthias is her greatest ally...or her deadliest enemy. This book confused me for the first few chapters, but I soon got into in and couldn't put it down. I have loved Ms Viehl's Darkyn series and this is an offshoot of that. I totally loved the villain, Bradford Lawson, he became so evil.. This is another series that will stay on my keeper shelf.
Margaret_McGaffey_Fisk More than 1 year ago
In Shadowlight, the first novel of the Kyndred series, Lynn Viehl gives an edge-of-the-seat tale with trouble at every turn and people who learn that everything they thought true just isn't. Oh, and along with this, she gives characters that are three-dimensional to the extreme so you can simultaneously see the story from more than one angle, and understand and sympathize with all the heroes, even when some of them think others are the villains. Lynn doesn't deny you a true villain though. The Kyndred have forces arrayed against them that offer both immediate danger and hint at a greater scenario that will become clear as the series develops. Shadowlight focuses on a group of people gifted with special strengths. They were mentioned in the Darkyn series, were somewhat crucial to it, but this is not just a continuation of Lynn's take on the vampire legends. Where those books focused on an ancient war between Darkyn and their enemies at the same time as exploring the strife within the Darkyn population, Shadowlight starts out in a place of isolation. The Kyndred are not some secret society that both supports and fights among itself. The Kyndred are an experiment gone wrong and scattered to the winds only to recreate faulty memories bit by bit. And that's not the only difference. There is no ancient evil here. If this book is characteristic of the new series, the dangers are much more immediate and driven by modern aims rather than only inherited hatred. Here you have kidnappings, corporate espionage, and the FBI rather than grudges held over the centuries. It's a fresh start in a known world for Darkyn fans, with some familiar faces making appearances. For newcomers, though, Lynn weaves in the necessary details so that this series can act as a standalone as long as readers come in with an open mind. Things in Lynn's world, though they cross over with the traditional, are unique enough that suspension of disbelief is crucial, and giving her that leeway pays back threefold. New readers are likely to discover a world, a series, and an author to delight them for years to come. Powerful, absorbing, and compelling. I'm a long-time reader of Lynn Viehl's novels, and each one seems to push the envelope just a little more with an end product that is exceptional. Though Shadowlight is listed as a dark fantasy, it reads with the rush of an action thriller, a touch of romance, and of course, paranormal, with a dash of science fiction. I can't wait to see what she does next with this world and this new cast of characters. P.S. FTC disclosure: I was given the E-Arc by Lynn Viehl to use as a review copy. My hardcopy has already been preordered.
Npaules More than 1 year ago
Lynn Viehl is doing it again in Shadowlight, a mind-twisting start to another deliciously dark and multilayered fantasy series. Minerva wakes in the morgue, her fiancé dead and her body cursed by Shadowlight, a talent which allows her to see the darkest secrets of every person she touches. Needing to guard against this talent she can't explain, softhearted Minerva reincarnates herself as the steady and exceedingly reserved Jessa who opens a high-end employment agency, screening the best for the best while anonymously reporting the darkest she finds to the FBI. Soon the up-and-coming Jessa is face to face with her largest potential client, GenHance, whose only interest is harvesting Jessa's DNA, and thus her Kyndred talent, and selling it to the highest bidder. Gaven Matthias, the first of the Kyndred who once wheedled his sword for Rome, will to do anything to keep his kind from being exposed and Jessa from being taken, dead or alive. He didn't count on falling in love with the strong-willed woman he kidnapped and who refuses to admit what she is. As the shadowlight grows darker and the dead refuse to stay that way, this story picks up speed with Detective Samantha Brown, her vampire lover Suzerain Lucan and Dr. Alexandra Keller from The Darklyn Series sinking even more twists and turns into this g-force roller coaster ride Viehl sends careening into the next book, Dreamveil, out in June 2010. For the romance novel purist, Shadowlight is not likely to satisfy. But, for those wanting a white-knuckle experience rife with blood-hammering desire and deliciously complex cliffhangers, Shadowlight is sure to please and leave you begging for more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wairs
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dreamah More than 1 year ago
A wee bit confusing when getting to know all of the players in the story, but well worth the time. Well written! The book had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Loved the characters and how they all blended together. I am really looking forward to reading the rest of this series. Kudos to the author on her great writing skills.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago