×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shadowmarch (Shadowmarch Series #1)
     

Shadowmarch (Shadowmarch Series #1)

3.9 83
by Tad Williams
 

See All Formats & Editions

Shadowmarch begins Tad Williams' first epic fantasy trilogy since his best-selling Memory, Sorrow and Thorn. Rich with detail and exotic culture, and filled with a cast of characters both diverse and three-dimensional, Shadowmarch is a true fantasy achievement, an epic of storytelling by a master of the genre.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shadowmarch 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 83 reviews.
cormacru999 More than 1 year ago
Let me start by saying I have a very biased opinion when it comes to Tad Williams. He is my favorite male author. Period. To review this book, Shadowmarch, I say first that the only problem I had with the Memory, Sorrow & Thorn series, was the sluggish beginning. Since then, as he continued to write brilliant books, he has refined his craft, becoming better at introducing his detailed & complex stories. His characters are all well-rounded & all equally interesting in the depth & complexity. Not since Tolkien has a writer organized his world so carefully. You can learn new days of the week, names of months, new holidays, & 4 separate, distinct but connected religions. Tad also doesn't create a world then franchise it; he creates anew, each time, a new world with as much depth as our own. This is the story of royal twins, Briony & Barrick, she attempting to prove her worth alongside any man while their kingdom is surrounded by hungry forces. Barrick, eventually on his own adventure, is plagued by a possible hereditary curse passed down by their imprisoned father. Ferras Vansen, Captain of the Royal Guard, who loves the princess more than he should, also struggles to prove himself after a horrific failure. Chaven, normally a sage man, also immersed in his addictions to a powerful unknown force he doesn't fully understand. Chert Blue Quartz, a diminutive earth shaper (but don't call them dwarves!), caught up in the whirlwind events after adopting Flint, a mysterious lost boy who comes from beyond the Shadowline, but may have some connection to the royal family. Yasammez, Scourge of the Shivering Plain, a warrior of the Qul-na-Qar, the lords of the otherworldly faery races, leads her inhuman army to attack the world of man. Shaso, the disgraced warrior who tries to guide the royal children in the only way he knows how. Qinnitan, a lowly caste girl, selected by the powerful Autarch, the ruler of the entire Southern continent, who hungers for more, leaving the twins trapped between his forces & the Qar. These are just the main characters of the beginning story. I don't need to go into depth about the different castles, landscapes & empires where there are many other people living within this strange but familiar world. I cannot recommend this book enough. It's tad's finest work to date.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm not normally drawn to this genre, but had the book given to me which was fortuitous, as I absolutely loved the book, and spent a few late nights reading through it. The first in a trilogy of the rulers of the mythical March Kingdom, the book is full of well-rounded complex characters, deeply detailed and entertaining historical backgrounds, and personal struggles. Wonderfully entertaining, I enjoyed it very much, and will be counting the days until Volume 2 is released!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Wonderful and engrossing! Brilliant and suspenseful, Williams tells us enough but not too much. It is full of the unexpected yet it's all there: the foreshadowing; the hints; the well-developed plot; action; and life-like characters, young and old, with personally relevant inner struggles. They 'reveal' themselves through their 'lives' and choices. Their complex motives are drawn from very human tendencies and the paradoxes of power and of love.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another great book by Williams. I think this series will prove to be on par with Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn. I'm impatiently waiting for volume II.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is absolutly amazing, the characters are so real and detailed. I cant wait for the next volume! my advise to buyers is to read this book, you wont regret it!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I saw this book and was debating buying it till I read the cover. I loved reading his Otherland Series and The War of the Flowers but I have to say his best series previously written was Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn trilogy. This book was intriguing from word go and has a deep plot that will keep his wonderfully rich characters busy as well as his readers absorbed into the series to come.
Guest More than 1 year ago
With his MEMORY, SORROW & THORN series Tad Williams has written one of the modern classics of the fantasy genre which helped breathing new life into many old and tired tropes. Now, 11 years after the publication of 'To Green Angel Tower' Williams returns with the first volume of a brand-new fantasy trilogy. And 'Shadowmarch' has everything you could ask for in an epic fantasy novel. An interesting cast of characters (the royal twins Briony and Barrick are particularly well done), a strong and mysterious plot that moves along quite nicely, and detailed world-building. However, with two more volumes to come this is just the beginning of the story. Anyway, I am sure this will become yet another winner for Tad!
Guest More than 1 year ago
First, let me say I loved Memory, Sorry, and Thorn and have re-read them many times. Tailchaser's Song was fun, and I liked The War of the Roses as well. I slogged through the Otherland series and enjoyed parts of it. Shadowmarch is disappointing to the extreme. I honestly would have stopped reading it if I had had another new book to read. The characters and plot are boring and predictable, the attempt at intrigue and political manuever clumsy, and the development of the various cultures lacks compelling realism. I'll finish this one eventually, but unless the story picks up in the second half I'll leave the rest on the shelf.
Anonymous 9 months ago
I am reviewing the whole series, other than the whininess that is characteristic of at least one of his characters in his books. This is the best Tad Williams series I have read. Wonderful, I would love to know what happened next. Can we have a book 5?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Mr. Williams Otherland (which i liked) series and Dirty Streets of Heaven, I figured since I've been longing to read a good fantasy series (after reading Lord Of the Rings as a teenager) I would give this series a try...Unfortunately I struggled to get to page 75 before I gave up. Mr. Williams does get long winded at times but bearable enough for me to continue. The characters for the most part were depressing, dysfunctional, and forgettable. They walked around having conversations about nothing that seemed important to the story. Maybe I am impatient but I was truly bored to death.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kfcnhc More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading this. In the beginning it felt a little slow to catch my attention. As I read on it got better as more of the picture came together. Just ordered the 3 other books in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MsRaye More than 1 year ago
Tad Williams enjoys twisting traditional fantasy 'rules' up. Shadowmarch is a world where fairies aren't the cute little forest loving fliers we've become accustomed to. In fact very little is as it should typically be. Don't skim over paragraphs thinking you know what the hero will do to defeat the encountered foe, like you might with another author. I urge you to read every word on every page or you will miss "it". Well, I'm anxious to find out what's next for my newly met odd residents of Shadowmarch. Journey on.....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very enjoyable reading,great story line
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I bought this book, I just wanted a quick easy read. I ended up finishing it in ten days because I just couldn't put it down. I would reccomend this book to anyone with time to just sit down and read, because if they are like me, they're life will revovlve around reading. I am very excited to read the other books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago