×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shadow's Curse
     

Shadow's Curse

3.7 8
by Alexa Egan
 

See All Formats & Editions

The second novel in the dark and sexy Imnada Brotherhood trilogy featuring shape- shifters in Regency-era England.

Can the magic of desire defeat the powers of darkness?

Forced by her half brother to use her dark gift of necromancy for profit, lovely Callista Hawthorne is determined to flee to her one chance for safety, her aunt in Scotland. With no

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shadow's Curse 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Gina04 More than 1 year ago
Very good plot but I had a hard time connecting to the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
reececo331 More than 1 year ago
The story of the pain and torture of  David St. Leger, had made him long for death. He felt no draw toward life, nothing that would hold him here. His loss of one of his closet friends when Adam was killed last year, made him desperate for death. He faced it every night being the avenger of the poor and the down trodden. Until he saved her. She was drawn into the world of the battle between the Others(fey-bloods) and the Imnada. Callista is caught going from one prison to another, escaping he brother and his debt to the villainous Corey. Her Fey born magic given by inheritance of Arwan magic. Is what Corey desires, she does not know that the wolf that attacked her pursuers was there to free her, but his Imnada nature if shape shifting is the stuff of legend. How can she find sanctuary in his Adonis looks and regal nature. Or can she find an ally in his dubious nature. She will risk everything for family? She would sacrifice every personal pleasure for condolences in her mothers past? This is a page turning novel with dramatic scenes of adventure, love and dark escapades of unbelievable magic. I can't wait to read the third book in the series. 
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
SHADOW'S CURSE by Alexa Egan is an intriguing Paranormal Romance set during the Regency England era,1817. #2 in the "Imnada Brotherhood", but can be read as a stand alone. See, "Demon's Curse", although, I would suggest reading this first, just for background information. Callista Hawthorne,necromancer, gifted so by the Fey blood on her maternal side. And David St. Leger is an Imnada exile, a shapechanger, who shifts into a wolf, he suffers from a curse and its deadly palliative and plagues the streets of London. He is captured by Victor Corey, who Callista has been promised to by her dreadful brother, Branston for his ill gain. Together David and Callista must face their worst fears. Callista offers David a proposal he can't refuse if he wishes to escape Mr. Corey. But agreeing to her terms forces him into the treacherous world of the half-Fey,his clans sworn enemy. Danger and passion drawn them together, but can they bring the two foes together with their love for each other? Their life blood,and their love for each other could just be the one thing both clans is searching for.... Fast paced and adventure filled. With danger, destiny, a curse, and the power of true love. If you enjoy Paranormal romance than I would suggest you pick up "Shadow's Curse". Well written, with engaging and sometimes charming characters. The storyline is interesting as well as intriguing. Received for an honest review from the publisher. RATING: 4 HEAT RATING: HOT REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Courtesy of My Book Addiction and More
TheBibliophilicBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Shadow's Curse by Alexa Egan: Callista Hawthorne is a necromancer, gifted by the Fey blood running through her maternal side. She’s under the thumb of her brother, Branston, who uses her abilities for his own financial gain. He has also promised her virtue to a man, Mr. Corey, whose dark nature longs to consume Callista and her abilities for his own. David St. Leger is an Imnada exile, suffering from a terrible curse and its deadly palliative. He is captured by Mr. Corey’s men, a prisoner just as much as Callista. David knows she’s part-Fey, one of the Others – the Imnada’s ancient enemies. Yet right now they need each other to escape Mr. Corey and stay safe, but soon they may want each other, too… I enjoyed ‘Shadow’s Curse’, the second book of the Imnada Brotherhood. I was intrigued by the unique aspects of Callista’s necromantic abilities and the traveling carnival David and Callista used for cover. I like how Ms. Egan’s shifters are different from the typical shifter. I didn’t feel very connected to Callista and David, but I enjoyed their adventure and romance very much. I’m looking forward to the next books in this series just to see how all the pieces and couples fit together to save the cursed Imnada. Fascinating settings, interesting characters, and a ton of exciting action, ‘Shadow’s Curse’ will have lovers of this series on the edge of their seats!
Justpeachy1 More than 1 year ago
Alexa Egan's second book in the Imnada Brotherhood series returns readers to Regency era England. But this isn't your typical ton. Historical meets the paranormal in Shadow's Curse and readers will be delighted. Egan's character development is excellent, as well as, her unique blending of genres. With everything from shape-shifters to necromancers readers will quickly fall under Egan's spell. Egan has a knack for writing uncommon heroes and heroines and decidedly wicked villains. Against the odds Callista and David fight for a new beginning and readers will be hanging on to their seats with his action packed paranormal romance. Mixing Regency historical characters with paranormal elements is not something new. Authors have been doing it for some time now and that produces a challenge for those who want to write something different. I think Egan showed that she could teach and old dog a few new tricks with this series, especially in Shadow's Curse. The shape-shifters in Egan's tale are indeed cursed with the affliction of turning into a wolf by the Fae. And in this book, we have the added character of the necromancer.  What's a necromancer, you ask? This is a paranormal character that uses magic to communicate with the dead. Some necromancer's raise the dead and control them but in Shadow's Curse, our heroine, Callista is just able to talk with the dead and use the knowledge she learns for good or evil. A medium in a sense. Her half-brother has been using her abilities for his own gain for a long time and now he trying to marry her off to someone who wants to further exploit her. I really felt for Callista because she really had nowhere else to go. When she finally flees she has to make a very long treacherous journey in order to start fresh. She's looking for a new beginning... That is the kind of character that readers get behind and want to see succeed. The character development in this book was excellent. I felt like Egan takes Callista from a young girl to a young woman throughout the book. Putting her in so many different situations than she has ever faced before and showing how they changed her. The character of David was just as well fleshed out. David is a man cursed. He roams the streets as a wolf devouring those who would harm others, but he is slowly dying as an outcast. David is an alpha male from beginning to end, but we see a lot of emotional growth in him as he tries to free himself from his curse, but still has to deal with his feelings for Callista who is a part of ancient blood feud with his people. The deck was certainly stacked against these two characters but Egan finds a way to give them their happy ending. I liked the fact that there were so many obstacles to their relationship. Coming from Kentucky, I know a thing or two about feuds and I thought Egan did an excellent job of showing the deep hatred that festers between these two paranormal clans. This book has a kind of dark underlying tension in it that is eerie and compels the reader to keep reading. There were a few issues with Shadow's Curse but overall I did not think they took too much away from the story that Egan was telling. It starts out a little slow but patient readers will love where it takes them if they give it a little time. The transitions between the scenes were a bit jumpy from time to time but the reader can easily overlook these issues when they take in to account the wonderful world building and extremely well written characters.
Sailon More than 1 year ago
Callista Hawthorne has a very special talent, she is a necromancer and part fey. Her brother has been forcing her to use her ability to talk with the dead as a source of income for years. Finding himself in debt to a crime lord, Callista's half brother sells her into a marriage contract with the power hungry crime lord. David St. Leger stalks the streets of London in his wolf form. He prowls for the unsuspecting criminal. He enacts his anger over his curse on those who would harm others. David has been cursed by the fey and is slowly dying. He has been outcast from his people, the Imnada (Shape-Shifters) and is trying to find his own way. Caught trying to escape her proposed wedding, Callista is cornered in an alley where the wolf David comes to her rescue only ending up captured himself. An unlikely truce is agreed upon between David and Callista. If he helps her get to Scotland and freedom, she gets him free from her evil fiancee' grasp.  Strong and enchanting characters and an improbable but steamy romance highlight this marvelously written plot. I loved watching the character development, especially in Callista, she really grows into her own. Alexa Egan puts a very unique twist to King Author, Fey, Shape-Shifters and magic making a story you can really get lost in. Fast paced, easy to read and gripping from start to finish, Shadow's Curse is a terrific read.  I received this ARC copy of Shadow's Curse from Pocket Books in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 24, 2013. Written by: Alexa Egan Series: Imnada Brotherhood Sequence in Series: 2 Paperback: 416 pages Publisher: Pocket Books  Publication Date: September 24, 2013 ISBN-10: 1451672926 ISBN-13: 978-1451672923 Rating: 4 Stars Genre: Paranormal, Romance Age Recommendation: Adult