×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shakespeare Undead
     

Shakespeare Undead

3.8 13
by Lori Handeland
 

See All Formats & Editions

Zombies and Vampires and Shakespeare, oh my!

Go on a fun-filled fantasy romp through Elizabethan England.

It has been said that one man could not possibly have created all the works attributed to William Shakespeare. However, what if Shakespeare was not a man? What if Shakespeare was in immortal vampire?
What if the Dark Lady of his sonnets

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shakespeare Undead 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
DivaLL More than 1 year ago
It was ok, too much romance not enough zombie-vampire story which is what the story was sold on.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
teflonn More than 1 year ago
I liked this story better when it was called Shakespeare in Love. Heck, I even liked Twilight better. This novel tries - and fails - to find a delightful blend between the worlds of two much more successful writers. Handeland's novel shamefully borrows from the plot and characters of Shakespeare in Love, giving little sense that original thought went into this book beyond the concept of turning Shakespeare into a vampire and letting a zombie horde loose on Elizabethan London. Even if you are looking for a light read, move along. While the reading was exceptionally easy and occasionally had drive, there was simply no pay-off for any time spent reading the work. The historical inaccuracies (in other words, the lack of research), the shallow characters, and the predictable plot made for a read which angered me more than it entertained. By the time this travesty ended, I couldn't even find it within myself to laugh at the allusions that the literally-immortal Bard would go on to pen Star Wars, Wizard of Oz, etc. Do yourself a favor and save your hard-earned money for some other purchase!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Viola1602 More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book. Great characters, easy to read yet stayed true to many of the jargen of the time. I enjoyed it so much. It had all of my favorite things: paranormal romance and Shakespearean prose and poetry.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1592 London, William Shakespeare walks at night in the Southwark neighborhood when he is attacked. Amateur chasseur hunter of the undead Katherine slices his throat. However, Shakespeare counterattacks the lad who tried to cut off his head; only to find he is a she. To his regret, the vampire bard is attracted to his chasseur especially after he steals a kiss from his dark lady. They soon team up on solving a mystery that threatens the undead and the living of London as zombie gangbangers troll the streets; while Shakespeare also wonders if this time he gets the happy ending with the girl instead of another tragedy in five acts; as the last one he wanted he lost to a Roman and ultimately the asp. Shakespeare Undead is a lighthearted frolic based on the concept that the Bard would have needed several lifetimes to produce the quantity and quality of his work; thus he must have been an immortal vampire. That twisted logic permeates the humorous spoofing story line. With references to the Elizabethan Era and to the masterpieces, Lori Handeland provides an amusing lampooning starting with the Dark Lady star of the sonnets trying to cut off the Bard's head; making one wonder just who the Fool is when he wants her with his other head. Over the top of Westminster Abbey, this is a fun Elizabethan fantasy spoof. Harriet Klausner
DawnHullender More than 1 year ago
Disclaimer: This advanced reader's copy was provided to me by the author, Lori Handeland, and as an ARC, cover content may be subject to changes. Title: Shakespeare Undead Author: Lori Handeland ISBN: 978-0-312-64152-8 Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin Pages: 291 Synopsis "Discover how the Bard got his bite. William Shakespeare was one of history's greatest writers, a master of words with a body of work that is truly impressive...some may say a little too impressive for a single man to accomplish in one lifetime. Perhaps, like many have speculated, he had assistance, or perhaps it is something much more sinister. Something is definitely rotting in the state of Denmark because as it turns out, Shakespeare wasn't human...he was undead! For fans of the bestselling Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, something a little wicked, and whole lot of fun, this way comes." My thoughts: Travel back, to a time when England was on the cusp of artistic creativity and zombie armies were raised to fight against enemies. To a time when William Shakespeare was at his finest, both in his writing and his slaying, for Will was no mere mortal. William Shakespeare was a vampire; a vampire who could raise zombies. But that was before he learned to control his Necromancer powers. After seeing the damage an army of the walking dead could do, Will vowed to never again use his powers for the gain of others. Although I was confused after reading the first chapter, I quickly realized Ms. Handeland had done something unusual. Shakespeare Undead is written in two different POVs. One chapter will be from Will's third person perspective and the next will be the mysterious "Dark Lady's" first person encounter. After I realized this, it read so smoothly, I could barely put it down before my fingers itched to pick it back up. My family had to subside on sandwiches and Hamburger Helper for a week :D. I so adored the refreshing voice Ms. Handeland presents in this notorious story, I can safely proclaim that it is nothing like her previous writings. She succeeds in taking the reader back to sixteenth-century London, and steeps you deeply in authentic lore with her accuracy in language, dress and actions. She definitely did her research on this one. And although this is a work of fiction, Ms. Handeland interlaces enough fact throughout the story that you will find yourself wondering if the story is true! Known facts combined with questionable ones produce quite the trip for your imagination. I give this novel a 5 rating. It doesn't get any better than this. Visit Ms. Handeland's website at: www.lorihandeland.com. Shakespeare Undead will be available for purchase in June of this year.
IcyBlond More than 1 year ago
The simple innuendos and then just blatant mesh of Master S's brilliance is weaved all through this cute and twisted love tale - I couldn't put it down!
VA_Reader More than 1 year ago
I purchased this book on a whim, as I walked by the new material section at B&N. I wasn't expecting a romance novel (which this is at heart), but it turned out to be OK with me - despite the fact that I don't generally enjoy romance-heavy stories. A real strength of this book is its characters - especially the two lead protagonists. The supporting cast are likewise colorful and likable, and offer some great lines (or illicit choice quips within the head of Shakespeare). The plot isn't as hackneyed as it originally appears to be. Yes - it's a theme these days to lift famous historical figures and place them into supernatural settings. This story simply makes Shakespeare's world a supernatural one, and weaves a story around that premise. The undead are a mish-mash of pop culture portrayals. The zombies take on a more playful tone than what you'll find in current zombie fiction. The vampires and apparitions are a little Anne Rice, a little Stephenie Meyer, with a dash of characteristics from all over the fictional spectrum. Overall, I found it rather refreshing. I realize it sounds silly to say this, given the subject matter and the fact that it's fantasy, but the situations at times really demand a large suspension of disbelief. But that's fine, because the story doesn't take itself seriously and remains fun throughout. Certainly not high literature, but quality Summer reading. It's entertaining enough to keep around in your library and possibly revisit later.
AAR More than 1 year ago
SHAKESPEARE UNDEAD BY LORI HANDELAND is a Elizabethan paranormal set in 1592 London. It is well written with depth and detail. It is about vampires, zombies,suspense, ghosts, a chasseur(hunter), and Shakespeare. The characters will pull you into the story and keep your attention. It will give you new and different insight into William Shakespeare and his tragic plays. What if.. Shakespeare,who is now a vampire, meets the chasseur,hunter, Kate, while she is hunting zombies. They work together to fight the zombies and find out why there is so many of them. Kate later learns the truth about Shakespeare, she is falling in love with him. He is already in love with Kate. He would give his life for her and she would for him. I would recommend this book especially if you enjoy vampires, zombies, romance, suspense, ghosts and a new look at Shakepeare and his plays. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and St. Martin's Press.