×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shattered
     

Shattered

3.6 19
by Dean Koontz
 

See All Formats & Editions

More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shattered 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is not the typical horror story which explains all the gruesome events nor is it a mystery/thriller which is simply a murder/psycho case. It is something in between of each & has even more to offer. True, the plot seems so simple --the drive from Philly to SF, a madman stalking our protagonists. However, I noticed that the readers are not spoonfed & even enjoy room for their own thinking & imagination. We all know that Lelan was suffering from an intense migraine, but was there a sinister force behind that caused it & made him think/act accordingly? Likewise, was there some evil force spreading around which cause people (e.g. gasoline man, the hotel lady & Capt. Ackridge) to act so envious & indiffirenly towards others? & what about the last part when Alex mentioned he had lost something --- was that caused by the dark force moving around Leland or simply human nature?; & will that change him for the rest of his life for better of for worse? I agree there was a lot of loopholes in between & some incontinuity of events but that only made the simple story more unpredictable. & though simple & basic as it seems, it caters more to the imaginative mind.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this story. The characters and storyline were great. Traditional Koontz exept for the fact that there was no science or supernatural activity. Though this book was considerably shorter than most DK books I enjoyed it immensely. The only bad things in the story was the fact that some of the character's story wasn't finished(ex. Detective Ernie Hoval)
Guest More than 1 year ago
it was very fast paced and had a lot of suspence and easy to read this was my first dean koontz and it will not be my last.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Very well written story! Interesting characters, fascinating twists and turns. This book definitely captured me from the beginning all the way to the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Different style and subject matter for Koontz. It was noticeably shorter than any other of his novels, and it didn't involve science or the supernatural, only a psycho with a gun and an axe, following a man and his son by car across the country. Still, it had many elements of the usual Koontz formula: threatened child (a boy this time, not a girl), action, romance, some mystery, some California, untrustworthy police, independent types with dysfunctional backgrounds, and a woman teasing her lover about sex. It's readable, but not one of Koontz's best. That someone would put off calling the police for so long was unrealistic (I would've called on the 2nd or 3rd sighting!), but the scene with the arrogant Southern cops explained that reasonably well, and was one of the better scenes in the book. I couldn't see what the title had to do with the story, though; I wish Koontz would get away from the one-word title fad.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Such a great book, well planed & very scary.I really think everyone who likes Dean Koontz should read this book!