×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

She Said Yes: The Unlikely Martyrdom Of Cassie Bernall (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
     

She Said Yes: The Unlikely Martyrdom Of Cassie Bernall (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

4.3 204
by Misty Bernall, Michael W. Smith (Afterword), Madeleine L'Engle (Foreword by), Book Source Staff (Compiler)
 

See All Formats & Editions

She Said Yes is a story of growing up in the '90s, of peer pressure, adolescent turmoil, and the tough choices parents make. It is the story of a mother's loss - of dreams and hopes dashed by the cruel reality of death at an early age. But it is also a story of redemption more enduring than the tragedy that cut a young life short.

When 17-year-old

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

She Said Yes : The Unlikely Martyrdom of Cassie Bernall 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 208 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While a touching story, this book is based on an incident that never occurred. Written mere months after the massacre, while investigators were still trying to make sense of it all and very little was being released to families and the media, an account of Bernall's martyrdom spun out of control. Further investigation definitively proved the account was incorrect. This story of inspiration never happened, and only further led to a gross misunderstanding of what occurred at Columbine.
mourne More than 1 year ago
I am sorry for the mother of this girl that she had such a grievous loss, however, the entire premise of this book is based on a media-hype lie. Read Dave Cullin's book, Columbine, for the the most factual accounts of the entire incident. The killings had nothing to do with anti-God killers, and Cassie never said "yes," or was asked any questions by Eric Harris or Dylan Klebold.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading Dave Cullen's book, "Columbine" you will realize that the incident with Cassie never happened. The poor girl never had the time to speak to Eric Harris, as he shot her in the head before she had time to speak to him. The events that led to Csssie's death are horrible, but the "She said yes," myth needs to be once and for all put aside - it did not happen, so the basic premise of this book is not factual.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This year, "Columbine" by Dave Cullen was released providing a final overarching account of the shootings at Columbine High. In part of this book, it explores the myth of Cassie Bernall's "martyrdom." Multiple witness testimonies and 911 tapes corroborate the story that Cassie didn't say "Yes" was not asked about her belief in God. If anything this book should be called "He said 'peekaboo.'" What's more tragic is the account of another girl who WAS asked, Valeen Schnurr, was decried by Cassie fans as being a copycat. Skip this book, if anything read it to see how no one should read too much into what their teen is doing, since Cassie was involved in writing letters that sound remarkably similar to those that Eric Harris and Dylan Kleibold wrote. This violent act was a tragedy, but the Evangelical push to use it to their movement's gain was shameless at best. The real story has enough inspirational deeds and messages; skip this false account of martyrdom.
Diasaah More than 1 year ago
I remember getting this book as birthday gift when I was 12 or 13, as the shootings occurred near my birthday (April 17) and initially I was moved by the book; little did I know it was a fabrication. But honestly, when I was that young, everything I knew about the Columbine tragedy was misconstrued by the media's false doings; I didn't know what REALLY happened. But now, I'm nearly 21, I'm doing a research paper on Columbine and I'm discovering what really happened. Yes, it's a tragedy that she died but why base a book on a complete fabricated LIE. She never said yes and she wasn't sitting in the library, but hiding underneath the tables. Also, as another reviewer mentioned, another girl (Valeen) said yes and wasn't killed. Harris and Klebold didn't kill her because she was christian, they simply killed her b/c she they felt like killing anybody that day; she was just one of their innocent victims. I find it utterly disgusting that her parents capitalized on her death based on a lie. Cassie was an innocent victim, NOT a martyr. I recommend reading any work by Dave Cullen, who was a reporter the day the incident occurred. He also has a new book coming out called 'Columbine.' I can't wait to read it to finally discover the REAL truth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like the Rachel Scott book, this incident is based on events that witnesses don't claim actually happened. the exchange between the gunmen and Bernall is claimed to have happened only by students who weren't in the library and didn't actually witness it take place themselves. It is disturbing how the Christian movement latched onto these two girls deaths and the fabricated events surrounding their murders. While their deaths were tragic what is more tragic is how they have been propped up and used as poster children for the "paranoia" of the Christian community about being persecuted for their religion.
Stelzon More than 1 year ago
Not really sure why this book got so many low reviews... I thought this book was a great summer read. It was easy to read and the story was actually pretty incredible. As you read along you sort of grow attached to Cassie's mom and you can, in a way, feel all the pain and struggles that she goes through with Cassie's death. there's a bunch of things in this book that I was able to relate my friends with at school. The Columbine shooting was a real event that happened. I can't completely say it was an anti-God shooting, but its easy to believe that before Cassie's death she was definitely experiencing some spiritual warfare. If you're into religion, you're gonna enjoy this book very much. If you aren't, well, you'll still enjoy the book, but I'm sure you're gonna ask yourself a bunch of questions while reading along.
kaitlin_m_c More than 1 year ago
In the book "She Said Yes" by Misty Bernall, she tells the story of her daughter. Throughout the book, Misty talks about her daughter Cassie. Although you find out Cassie was a victim of the columbine shooting, you also find out that she like any other normal teenage girl. This book is telling a story of high school girl that goes through many challenges and many problems. As you read you find out many horrific things Cassie has done such as writing letters to a friend on how to kill her (Cassies') parents. Once her mother finds the letters everything seems to go downhill. Cassie led a normal up until she met a girl named Mona. Mona seemed to be a problem that led Cassie into doing bad things. Her parents were concerned when they found the letters because they had drawings of them dead. As Misty read the letters, they became more detailed and she was scared for her life. Thinking the best thing for her daughter was to put her in a private school, but things got worse. Reading this book changed my perspective on things but mostly this passage, "I couldn't see anything when those guys came up to Cassie, but I could recognize her voice. I could hear everything like it was right next to me. One of them asked her if she believed in God. She paused, like she didn't know what to answer, and then said yes. She must have been scared, but her voice didn't sound shaky. It was strong. Then they asked her why, though they didn't give her a chance to respond. They just blew her away." This was josh a boy that was near Cassie at the time of her death. What I liked about this book was that Misty had the strength to relive this tragic time in her life and how much she told about her daughter's life. Someone should read this book because it can change your perspective on faith and how you treat others around you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Let me start by first saying that in no way do I blame Cassie for the lies and in no way do I think she should be dead. I'm truly sorry she was killed. However. This book is a lie. At least her saying yes is. I think it is sick that people made up stuff during the columbine the whole thing was tragic and unreal on its own without people adding false statements to it. There was already so much confusion so much "why" that for people to go and spread rumors makes it even more confusing. I strongly home that Misty Bernall didn't know that Cassie never said yes when she wrote this or else she is guilty of using her child's death to gain fame. I do not recommend this book based on two things. 1. it was a lie.. and 2. I personally feel her mother made her look bad for the entire first half of the book. Let the girl rest in peace and stop spreading rumors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cassie91 More than 1 year ago
She said Yes: The unlikely martyrdom of Cassie Bernall is a great book! It tells about a high school student who was asked the question "Do you belive in God?" after a moment pause she answered yes. Most people would think if a person would stand up for their faith, even if it meant dying, they had been brought up in a strong religious home. Cassie was not brought up in a strong religious home. She had pledged herself to Satin, her and her friend talked about killing, but with the help of her parents she found her way back to God. I think this book was a great way to tell Cassie's life, struggle, and death. It also had other people's views, and thoughts about Cassie and what was happening in her life.
Kaylasn More than 1 year ago
Most of us go through life never stopping to think of the possibility that the next thing we do or the next place we go could be the end of our life. That was surely the farthest thing from the mind of 17-year-old Cassie Bernall when she walked into the library of Columbine High School on April 20th. When Eric and Dylan asked her if she believed in God, she said yes, and was punished for it. She Said Yes is the biography of Colombine Massacre victim Cassie Bernall, told with complete truth by her mother, Misty Bernall. It tells of her life from the time she was a little girl playing hide and seek with her dad, to when she began down a dark path similar to the one of her killers, to the months following her death. Narrated primarily by her mother, the book includes pieces of letters to and from Cassie, and inputs from friends, family, and the people who saw her during her last moments. I really enjoyed reading this book because it told of how drastically Cassie turned her life around, it wasn't the typical fairytale most moms would write about their daughters. It gave a new perspective to what the world knows as the Columbine Massacre, which prior to this book was primarily the facts, not the true feelings of the tragedy. The only thing I didn't like about this book was the almost preachy feeling of the book in some parts. It talks a lot about how Cassie's life changed when she joined her church. In an aspect, it seemed almost made up. Cassie went on a church retreat as one person, and returned 3 days later as a totally different person, I personally find it hard to believe that this dramatic change happened so suddenly. The major theme, in my opinion, is love. It tells a lot about how much Misty loves her daughter through everything they were put through. I believe everyone should read this book. Moms should read it because Misty Bernall sets a great example about how to deal with your daughter after she goes down such a dark, rebellious road. Teens should read it because it shows how much parents love their children through thick and thin, and that is important for kids to understand. It has a great message to all age groups about being thankful for the lives they have and gives a new point of view to the well-known high school shooting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She Said Yes by Misty Bernall is a book that makes you a different person. As you read it, you evaluate who you are as a person and you learn things about yourself. It makes you dig deeper and really search yourself to answer the question, would I say yes? Cassie Bernall was like many teenagers who at an early age began to rebel. After her parents found letters she had written, they tried to pull her back in, but it was difficult. Then, after transferring between schools, Cassie met Jamie who helped her find her faith again. Cassie found new friends, made up with her parents, and her faith grew until the shooting at Columbine when she was killed for saying that she believed in God. After that, her parents decided to write this book to give others hope in their life. A major theme is lessons that can be learned. Cassie made many mistakes as a teenager. Teenagers can relate to so much of what she went through. This book will help them realize that it is never too late to turn around and change who you are. Cassie's mom admits that as parents, they made mistakes and this can help parents learn. They talk about how sometimes they wanted Cassie to act a certain way so that it reflected well on them as parents, but after Cassie's death, they learned that you have to let kids be themselves. This book can give parents hope that even if their child is going astray, they might come back. I really enjoyed the excerpts from Cassie's journal and notes. They had sections in there of things that Cassie's friends and family said. It is also a book that makes you think about yourself and it makes you think about the ways you are acting. I also liked how they had the Columbine shooting at the beginning of the book. This helped the reader understand how strong of a Christian Cassie was, and then her mom went back in time to talk about the time when Cassie was not living for God and when she was not interested in God. This book did get a little boring for me. The fact that it was only about five years of one person's life and that the book was over 150 pages made it a little boring and long. Also, some things I thought were repeated too much. I think people should read this book. Not only did it give people a different perspective of the Columbine shooting, but it also tells the life of a teenage girl who was on the wrong path but suddenly flipped around and got on the right path. It gives a reader hope and really touches you. Two other books I strongly recommend are One Tuesday Morning and Beyond Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury. They are also life changing. They tell about two families whose lives were changed by September 11.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"She Said Yes" is about a girl named Cassie Bernall who was shot by the Columbine killers, Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold, when she was asked the question "Do you believe in God?" She used to be an atheist who hung out with the wrong crowd. She would write letters with her friend about killing her parents and other disrespectful thoughts. Her mom found these letters and decided to move to where Cassie's life was turned around from being an atheist to a believer. This book gave many messages. The major one was don't take your children for granted. Always show you love them and care for them, especially through their hardest times. Always give them the attention they need. I really enjoyed this book because it helped me learn more about the Columbine shootings. I also loved to read about how Cassie's life was changed and improved. It was very interesting to see that her life changed right before she was murdered. I didn't like the fact that her mom was extremely protective and also worried about her own life from her child. I didn't think she should have worried so much, even if the letters did seem pretty serious. Her own child and her child's friend would not have killed her. I would recommend people to read this that find an interest in the Columbine shootings and also in how to be a better parent. I would not recommend this book to those who do not like reading about death and murders because it is sad to have to read about. Overall, I thought it was a good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ReederJR More than 1 year ago
Cassie Bernall was a girl who always liked to do what she wanted to do. Coming up through high school she was hanging out with the wrong group of kids. She was acting emo with her friends. Cassie had suicidal thougts and had an interest in satanism. Also she wrote hate letters about her paarents. Her parents had to make extremely tough decisions whether to discipline her for her poor choices. She found her way through god and thats when Cassie's life began to chan ge. She started to have faith in god and her life was flipped around. Cassie even said to her mother that she has totally changed. Unfortunately Cassie and her school was involved in the Columbine shooting on Apri 20, 1999. One of the two gunmen pointed a gun at Cassie's head and asked her if she believed in god and she said yes. After that he shot her. This is trajedy but there are many lessons that can be learned from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When the tragedy of the Columbine incident occurred on April 20, 1999, all of America was stunned to hear how two students had the nerve to go on a shooting rampage inside Columbine High School, killing 13 and wounding over twenty other students. One of the victims, Cassandra Bernall, was killed in the library after being asked if she believed in God. She said yes, and with one shot to the head, Cassie died. The thing that makes Cassie's story special and unlike any other is that just a little more than a year previous to this event, Cassie would not have even thought about saying yes to being a follower of Jesus. It was the total life transformation, interpreted by her mom, that makes Cassandra Bernall's story unlike any other. This book starts out with Misty Bernall, Cassie's mother, relaying the events that happened on April 20, 1999. With the exact details of the last moments of Cassie's death, the first chapter is sure to capture the full attention of any reader. The next few chapters are the real hard truth about the struggles that Cassie went through as a teenager. As a young adult, Cassie started to hang out with the wrong crowd. This lead to Cassie's wrong morals, her interest in satanism, her suicidal thoughts, and the hate letters that she wrote about her parents. Misty Bernall writes about every emotion that she was going through, as well as exerts from Cassie's hate letters. Misty Bernall did everything that she thought would help and correct the situation, including moving Cassie away from all her friends into a different high school. Everything that Misty did to help the situation only made the distance between her and Cassie greater. It wasn't until a couple years after Cassie's dark times that things started to make a huge turn for the better. Cassie met a friend at her new high school that took her on a missions trip, and there Cassie was able to meet Jesus and come to realize that everything she was doing was wrong. Even though the healing was slow, Cassie's parents noticed an immediate change in the way that Cassie lived life. Misty Bernall shares exerts from letters that Cassie wrote to her new friends about how God has changed her life. Even though life was hard for her, she planned to live life all for Jesus. Just a couple days previous to Cassie's murder, she shared with her mother that she would die for Christ if she had the chance. It was moments like that, that made Cassie's mom realize that the "religious high" she seemed to be on was nothing fake. The day of her murder, Cassie's day started out just like usual. She rushed out the door without saying much to her family, and went to school. Just before the shooting started, Cassie and her friends went to the library to finish an assignment that she didn't finish doing the night before. When the shooters came in, she hid underneath a nearby table. The shooters came up to her, laughing, and asked her if she believed in God. They put a gun right on her head, and shot it right when Cassie had enough courage to reply "yes". The story of Cassie Bernall and the Columbine tragedy is sure to touch everyone, even non-believers. It is a book that is extremely tough to put down, and you will not regret reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago