×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shem Creek
     

Shem Creek

4.0 37
by Dorothea Benton Frank
 

See All Formats & Editions

The New York Times Bestseller!

“The strong pull of friendship, the leisurely pace of a tiny, waterfront Southern town, and the steady buildup of romance help buoy Frank’s well-drawn, memorable characters in the face of life’s challenges.”—Publishers Weekly

Meet Linda Breland, single parent of two teenage

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shem Creek 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 37 reviews.
travelbunny More than 1 year ago
I did not enjoy this book as much as Sullivan's Island and Plantation. I felt the plot was a bit weak and she just rattled on too much at times with details that were boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
'Shem Creek' is undersung among Ms. Frank's novels, as one can see from the relatively fewer reviews here than for some of her other books. Yet it's possibly my favorite (her original Sullivans Island and Bulls Island are contenders as well). There's nothing to dislike about this book. I have read it several times because I just enjoy hanging out with Brad, Linda, Mimi, Louise, Duane, Lindsey, Gracie and Alex (you really wish Alex were your son by the time you finish). If the romance is expected, so what - isn't that what one wants in a book like this? What Ms. Frank portrays so well in all her novels, she handles here with especial grace and warmth: the interracial friendships among the cast and crew of Jackson Hole Restaurant are completely authentic to the South, despite all the much-vaunted press to the contrary. The Lowcountry herself is also a star player in the novel, and Ms. Frank thoughtfully presents her views on the need for development and nature to work together (also well done in Bulls Island). Old Mount Pleasant is a beautiful and picturesque town (despite being surrounded by suburban sprawl) and well deserving of this fine story. Ms. Frank throws in some love notes to Manhattan as well, and that's great, too. Even if switching back and forth between two first-person narrators is 'cheating' a little bit, it doesn't bother me in the context of this particular plot. Both Brad and Linda are admirable people who deserve a happy ending, and Mimi is real Southern lady in the true sense of the word. If you missed this one along the way, it's well worth a read - with a burger from Poe's on Sullivans Island!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Loved Sullivan's Island but didn't find this book interesting enough to continue with.
TracyMay More than 1 year ago
Shem creek is a great summer read. You can actually smell the sea air and hear the birds calling out as they dive into the ocean for their meal. Although the book is a predicable love story; the characters come alive in the telling of their story. The book is read by the many people who live in this paradise. The idea of starting over again is always an appealing thought: where would I go, what would I do differently? Shem Creek is the ideal place to go: friends, family and food.
great_book More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book, couldn't put it down. You get to know the characters so well, and can't wait to see what happens next. It's interesting that some chapters switch off, with a different character talking. Great read about family, and that it's never too late to change your life so that you are happy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the most heart-warming stories I've read in quite some time. There is conflict and resolution, romance, and friendship throughout the book. At the end, you wish it would keep on going! This book is a must read!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I thought this book started alittle slow, but then all of a sudden, I was hooked on the characters! Especially Brad! I like the way DBF has different characters telling the story with each chapter! I finished the book & loved it so much I couldn't get enough, & I read it again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is about being happy. What ever your current situation might be, you can always change it. It might not be easy but it can always be different. A good lifes lesson for people who complain alot! I loved meeting the different characters (this is my first book by this author). I found each one so different it was funny to see them all in one place. And get along so well. Except for Amy that is! I'd say this is very predictable, but like most stories that are similar to this I can expect that. I wasn't dissappointed by this because I could read into it. I do generally like a curve ball thrown in but this was what I expected and very enjoyable. There was enough going on in this I didn't get bored. Although, I've noticed some of the reviewers think this is not as good as other books she has wrote. So, that makes me even happier to go read Dorothea Benton Frank's other books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I adore Db Franks...........this book is devoid of humor and sassiness.........it was just a book.........enjoyed because I love Franks...........not up to par............maybe we all have few books inside us. Dot, love you, girlfriend.........you are better than this.......maybe tis me. maybe I was looking for comedy and should not have been doing so.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVE LOVE LOVE Dorethea Frank. I look so forward to her new books because I am just crazy about them. That being said this was a real disappointment. I found the dialoge really frustrating and the story didnt grab me like her prior books did. I enjoy her so much I couldnt give it any fewer stars out of pure loyalty. But the Exclamation marks and editing of the book was really patchy to me.But you can bet if she comes out with another I will be in line to buy it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have loved all of Ms. Benton Franks books, but was disappointed in Shem Creek. For some reason I just felt the writing was not as good and the story somewhat predicatable. Oh well, just my thoughts.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Worst Dottie Frank book ever - if I wanted to hear Yankees going on & on then I would purchase a horrible Yankee book. I bragged on her writing & told my friends about Sullivan's Island & Porch Lights & Pawleys Island - I now regret that!
ChaLee More than 1 year ago
I'm so enjoying this author. She is becoming my new favorite. We visited Charleston, South Carolina a few years ago and really enjoyed it. If we were younger, I would want to move there. So, in the alternative of moving, I will continue to read Dorothea's books and imagine life in South Carolina. Every one of her books is such an enjoyable read. Always enjoy looking forward to the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MEMECN More than 1 year ago
I loved reading about the lowcountry. The author draws you right into the story. i will read all of her books. Very enjoyable. C. N.
mommabelle84 More than 1 year ago
love the setting and Frank puts you there...the geographic setting as well as the characters. Frank writes as most "normal" people think and act in situations. Good Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago