×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Series #8)
     

Shepherds Abiding (Mitford Series #8)

4.2 48
by Jan Karon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Since he was a boy growing up in Missisippi, Father Tim has lived what he calls “the life of the mind.”  Except for cooking and gardening and washing his dog, he never learned to savor the work of his hands.  And then he finds a derelict nativity scene—twenty figures, including a flock of sheep, that have suffered the indignities of time

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shepherds Abiding 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 48 reviews.
svacuna More than 1 year ago
I ordered a book which combined The Mitford Snowmen, Esther's Gift, and Shepherds Abiding. What I got was a book with ONLY Sheperds Abiding. When I returned it to the store, the cashier checked the ISBN and discovered the same number was used for BOTH books, thereby making it impossible for me to order the volume I wanted. Hopefully, they will get this problem fixed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So many of the characters in this novel are the people we meet every day. Some of us even ARE the characters! It's one of those stories that helps you take stock of yourself at the same time you are enjoying good reading. This story of Mitford during the Christmas Season is very touching, while teaching us the real meaning of giving. I can't think of a better gift to give to a Jan Karon fan.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to feel the good and kind side of life, this is the book for you. I always read Father Tim's books and come away feeling like a better person. Nice Read!
Anonymous 9 months ago
PLEASE NOTE; If you have not finished reading the Harry Potter book series, this story may contain potential spoilers. This story also contains romance. You have been warned. Finally, this story is a part of my Harry Potter character xxx Reader series, the whole of which being found at 'abide' result one. Enjoy! <p> The Gryffindor common room was silent, you noticed as you climbed through the portrait hole. Perhaps that was in spite of the fact that it was Christmas vacation, and half the school had left for home. But you hadn't. There were so many classes you were taking this year, it was so hard to keep up with them all. Divination, Care of Magical Creatures, Arithmancy, it was too much! Being a fourth-year was difficult. And there was no time nor place like the Gryffindor common room during Christmas vacation to study. <p> You seated yourself at a small table in the corner of the room, an oil lamp lit next to you. You reached for your quill, and opened Fantastic Beast and Where to find Them, which you often used as a help for Care of Magical Creatures. Frustrated, you flipped through its pages. What was the difference between a fairy and a doxy again? You groaned. <p> "A doxy's got thick black hair covering its body and a fairy doesn't," a voice muttered from over your shoulder. Startled, you whirled around, your (COLOR) hair flying in all directions. A boy stood behind you. He was tall, with jet black hair that looked dejected and lost on his head, and big emerald green eyes with circled glasses framing them nicely. You knew him. He was Harry Potter, and he was representing Hogwarts in the Triwizard Tournament. You had seen him slay a dragon, and you had been secretly impressed by it. <p> "Er.. thank you Harry." You mumbled, making a mental note. <p> You turned back to your schoolbooks, this time opening your Divination textbook. Harry made no attempt to leave. <p> "You know," he said, "you don't actually have to know Divination to pass the class." <p> "How so?" You ask curiously. You certainly didn't know it. <p> "Make stuff up," was the reply. "The more terrible the better. Trelawney is a fake anyhow." Harey laughed quietly to himself. You tore your eyes away from the pages of your textbook and straight into his. You smiled at him. <p> "(YOUR NAME)," he said casually,"you know the Yule Ball we're supposed to be having for the tournament? Would you want to go with me?" He blushed a deep shade of red. <p> You felt your heart sink into your shoes. You had already said you'd go with your best friend. But you didn't tell Harry this. Instead, you felt yourself kiss Harry's mouth softly and quickly. <p> Embarassed, you pulled away, leaving very befuddled-looking boy. He suddenly kissed you back, this time harder and with more passion. His hand was in your hair. At first, you struggled to get away, but soon was kissing him with as much passion as him. It was slightly awkward, slightly sweet. It was both of yours' first times. <p> Harry pulled away looking breathless. You stared into his green eyes with a strange form of happiness on your face. You suddenly stood, and kissed him softly on the cheek. "I'd love to go to the ball with you. But for now, I'll be going to bed." With that, you waved Harry goodbye, and climbe the stairs to the girls' dormitories, many a happy thought swirling inside your head. <p> AUTHOR'S NOTE: If you enjoyed this story, please review it. Thx! Love ya! ;)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
getyysburg_scw More than 1 year ago
Ms. Karon's writins are great for book clubs and bedside reading. They are a wonderful equalizer in this hectic world in which we live. This one is no exception. I used it for a pre-Christmas selection for our book club and was very satisfied.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TheShort1 More than 1 year ago
I bought this book early, and was saving it until around Christmas. What a disappointment. Hey, I'm old. I don't wanted to have 19 new characters thrown at me in the first 19 pages of the book. If she wants to put the whole town in her books, she should have a cast of characters like the Rita Mae Brown/Sneaky Pie Brown books! I didn't finish the book. By page 80 it had not grabbed me, and I had to stop.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago