×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shield
     

Shield

4.0 28
by C.L. Scholey
 

See All Formats & Editions

Earth is all but dead. With meteors exploding in their midst, the shuttle Grace boards takes flight in a last ditch effort to save human lives. With little food, water and eight stowaways the situation is volatile while they race to the new planet, Ulsy. A wormhole and a crash are their undoing. While fleeing into the strange surroundings on an even stranger planet

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shield [New World Book 1] 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The visual in the begining of the book was sad and descriptive. To see how things were going downhill fast for earth by mother nature, depressing really but good. I laughed when the heroine found her hero who was clueless about her. That was a neat take on things. Loved the progression between the two even though it was a bit quick. Still great watching him learn and her as well. Just one thing... it is SMELLED not SMELT!! Lol she SMELLED good... I guess she smelled and looked so good she could melt iron she was so hot, I dont know...maybe thats why he kept SMELTING her LOL but it really should be SMELLED. :) definitely NOT a reason not to read this book, its great! Its actually funny now. Smelt. HE was smelty! Lol
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can honestly say I was a little hesitant when I first read the description of the book, but now I am so happy I purchased it. The author was able to create a new world and species that are both fascinating and original. The way the story starts so emotional and descriptive about the destruction of earth and the actions of the human race. Then it segways into the "New World" and introduced a new species that has never seen a female before and the story becomes lighthearted and very entertaining. I can't wait for the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a pretty good book, but it was kind of short with only 7 chapters, and it made me feel like it was rushed. Is this book worth $4???? ? Uh no. I wish I would have read this one before I purchase another one in this series . Do not get me wrong I enjoyed a few of her other books; like Bay's Mercenary, and the next book in that series. Maybe the other novel I brought in this series will be better, I will write a review on that one too! I'm crossing my fingers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mysticbaby1991 More than 1 year ago
Shield is the first book in the New World Series. Mother Nature has now taken over Earth. Parts of the world are under water, meteors are dropping and causing fires to destroy vegetation, and a few of the states are no longer connected and fell like Atlantis. Grace has survived a mudslide and flood that killed her family and community she was living in since disaster hit Earth. Her family didn't have the money to guarantee spots on shuttles taken humans to Ulsy, the new planet able to support human lives. When she was able to go they required her parents to stay behind because they were no longer of child bearing years. Now they have crash landed on Dargon and the occupants of Dargon are curious. Rask is a Castian warrior who hasn't seen female in 400+ years. They have an armor that protects them and makes them pretty much immune to any kind of weapon. When Rask comes across Grace his must comes upon him and they now have to figure out how to survive Tonan attacks and help figure out if Ulsy was a trick developed by Tonan's to get human slaves. I have to say, this book did seem to go kind of fast once the two main characters meet, but for a first in series it is an excellent start!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Will read more by this author
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shadowVP More than 1 year ago
This story was simple yet interesting and I found it relaxing to read.
VHightower More than 1 year ago
If you like si-fi with some steamy sex you'll like this series. I have read all that are out. C.L Scholey did a great job with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago