×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Shield of Stars
     

Shield of Stars

4.3 9
by Hilari Bell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Weasel fumbled the cloth aside. It was a shield, steel plate over dark wood, with rotting leather straps. It looked old, and battered, and real.

A former pickpocket, Weasel is the type of boy most people would avoid. Certainly, no one would ever trust him -- except for one man. Justice Holis took Weasel off the streets, gave him a home, a job as his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Shield of Stars (Shield, Sword, and Crown Series #1) 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
BreakingBunnies More than 1 year ago
When I read the jacket cover (mine was hardback), I thought this would be a journey to find the shield of stars, ending with Weasel becoming king. It was not. Thankfully, the story Hilari DOES tell is engrossing, well-paced, and fun to read. Arisa (hopefully I'm spelling it right, my copy was from the library so I'm going on memory) is not the damsel-in-distress, Weasel isn't the heroic boy that constantly has to save her, and the Falcon (I love the twist involving the Falcon, not too left field nor predictable) isn't the rebel who wants to overthrow the kingdom and rule it as their own. This story is a delightful blend of historical fiction and fantasy, without reading like "Queen Elizabeth as a dragon" and things of that nature. My only problems with it is that I would've liked to see the shield get more page-time, as well as see more action on Pettibone's (my spelling sucks) part, so we have more reason to hate him. But these are minor. All-in-all, I would rate this story high on my list of favorites, and defiantly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a more down-to-earth adventure.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is an asome book and i recamend it to everyone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emily Green More than 1 year ago
i loved this book its action packed and holds misterys no one ever thought were true or posable great book i loved every min. i spent reading it.I strongly recomend all of these books
mrdarcy3 More than 1 year ago
In her former life, Weasel knew crime. Now with help from Justice Hollis, he's walking a straight path. When guards come into their home late one night, they catch the two in the act of writing letters of treason against the corrupt Regent. Weasel escapes into the night, but the guards take Justice Hollis to the dungeon. Weasel knows he must free the man who gave him a second chance. He sneaks into the palace and finds the Prince. The young Prince at fifteen has no legal rights, but Weasel knows he must try. He makes his case to the Prince who allows a trial to begin in two weeks time. That will give Weasel time to make his plan, except that he's taken and thrown into a cell as other conspirators fill the dungeons. A girl already resides in the cell. Immediately, Weasel takes a look at his surroundings - ready to break out of the cell. Together, they pair make their way outside the palace. Weasel knows he needs to round up help for Justice Hollis - and he has two weeks to come up and execute a solid plan. With the help of Arisa, his prisoner friend, and a shield he stumbles upon, will he save the man who's become a father figure to him? My Thoughts: I couldn't put down the first book in The Shield, Sword, and Crown series. I love the danger, adventure, the planning, and a hint of romance. The book contains similar elements to Bell's Knight and Rogue series. I can't wait to read the next chapter.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I wouldn't reccommend this book to children under the age of ten. But for young adults and teenagers, this book is great!!! The only thing I don't get is what time in history it takes place. It is written like a medival book, but the characters carry guns as weapons. It could be set up in a fantasy world, but there are no mythical creatures. Whatever the setting, I enjoyed this book, and I hope that you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You here?