×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ship Breaker (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
     

Ship Breaker (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

4.1 229
by Paolo Bacigalupi, BookSource Staff (Compiler)
 

See All Formats & Editions

FOR USE IN SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES ONLY. In a futuristic world, teenaged Nailer scavenges copper wiring from grounded oil tankers for a living, but when he finds a beached ship with a girl in the wreckage, he has to decide if he should strip the ship or rescue the girl.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ship Breaker 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 229 reviews.
KidsLeadGirl More than 1 year ago
A lot of teen boys have been looking for a male equivalent to the Hunger Games. This is it. Semi-post-apocalyse seems to be coming into style, and this book could head up that craze. I would not be suprised if this was the hot teen book of the summer. Teens and adults alike can enjoy this gripping and well written novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was intrigued by all the acclaim and attention this book has been getting. The world the author creates is visceral and haunting, especially when you think that it could be our world a few hundred years from now--that might the most powerful thing about the novel. The characters were good and the plot compelling, and there was plenty of action...but somehow when I had gotten to the end of a couple hundred pages, my reaction was--"and that's it?" I enjoyed the novel, yet I wished he had managed a bit more scope for it. Perhaps he's intending a sequel. I would definitely read it if he writes one.
SlyCats More than 1 year ago
Honestly, I wasn't expecting much from this book, given the author's name. Silly, but true--an author's pen name can make or brake the reception of a book. Anyway, this fantastic little treasure introduces us to a post-apocalyptic/dystopian world in which petrol is all but gone and a good portion of America's south is "swimming with the fishes." Haha. This world is one in which our cars are extreme luxuries, reserved for the "swanks" of the world. Our protagonist definitely does not fit this title. He works as a ship breaker in the light crew, stripping the insides of rusted old buckets, that are our cruise ships and tankers today, of their useful metals. Salvage. After growing too large to navigate the small crevices of the ships, the only hope one has is to grow large enough to make the heavy crew, or make a "Lucky Strike." Nailer, the lead role, lives on a small beach with an abusive father and helpful friend, working day-in and day-out in asbestos, rat droppings, and oil fumes for a meager wage that barely feeds him and pays for his father's addictions. But he's always dreamed of a better world, the world the swanks have on their fast little ships and in their cozy homes. Little does he know, the city-killer (a hurricane of epic proportions) is just the answer to his dreams. Check out this book if you enjoyed the Hunger Games, Battle Royale, Divergent, 1984, or anything of the like!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action from the get-go, takes a little bit to get to the main story line, but it is truly such a good read. If you're finding yourself disinterested at first, push through it anyway and you'll find yourself loving it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally agree with the professional reviewers who have extremely positive things to say about SHIP BREAKER, and I think the 2 book awards it received were justfied. I am a grandmother in her mid 60s who read this book to determine if it would be exciting and interestng, as well as appropriate, as a gift for two of my grandsons in their teens. I was totally surprised to find that the story and characters gripped me and kept me so interested that I had trouble putting the book down. Needless to say, I purchased 2 copies as Christmas gifts for the boys! Yes, this book is often grim and violent but some of the characters prove that people can transcend their upbringing and environment if they remain true to a worthy moral code, even under difficult, life-threatening circumstances. I'm looking forward to the sequel due out in May 2012. I think this series could be just as good as HUNGER GAMES and would also make a great movie.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly incredible book. Lots of action and intrigue make this book one of the must-read books this summer. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
READ IT you will not regret it it is a very thrilling book for readers 13 and up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I looooove this book reading for school. Amazing book crazy that he survived the wreakage. Go nailer!
Lbla1023 More than 1 year ago
the pacing at first was a little slow but the plot and characters are great and the world that Bacigalupi created is amazing
sanken211 More than 1 year ago
Excellent, interesting story. Can't wait for the second book in the series. It says its for young readers, but I think it might be too violent for my kids.
Elzabeth More than 1 year ago
Finally, something different. Ship Breaker is great because it's not something that's been done over and over. You've got to give credit to anyone that can come up with an original story. Suspenseful and interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great adventure story, reminded me of the hunger games by the way of survival. Excellent book couldnt put it done
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
I really liked the imagination and the composition of Ship Breakers. Bacigalupi has a great vision for the story and I can't wait to see where it goes next. The writing was absorbing, as I was completely lost in the story. If you liked Hunger Games and Incarceron, give this book a try!
MaryRobinette More than 1 year ago
I read this in one sitting, which wasn't my intent since I had work to do. Bacigalupi creates a visceral and completely believable future in which oil shortages have changed the world. Nailer, the sixteen year old protagonist, pulled me through the story with him because I was worried about him. He's that real. Shipbreaker is a seriously good book and full of seat of the pants escapes.
shortnsweet875 More than 1 year ago
Um, wow. This book was just awesome. I mean, there is a lot of great YA out there, but this is some of the best I've read in a while. In a future where the Gulf Coast is characterized by its drowned cities, the divide between rich and poor is wider than ever, and a few powerful trade families control it all, Nailer is at the bottom of the totem pole. Nailer works as a ship breaker on "light crew," stripping grounded oil tankers for copper wiring and brass fittings, anything that will help them fill quota. When he isn't risking his life at work, Nailer must constantly try to keep his abusive, drug-addicted, and very dangerous father happy - not an easy task. He knows when his dad is "sliding high," and knows well enough to avoid him when he can. When Nailer's beach is pounded by a terribly powerful hurricane - what has become known as a "city killer" - he and his friend Pima come across a grounded clipper ship, full of more wealth than they thought possible. It's their ticket to a better life, if only they can keep it a secret for long enough to strip the scavenge from it and claim it as their own. But when they find it has a survivor, the wealthy and beautiful Nita, Nailer has a choice to make. The gold rings on her fingers alone are worth more than any scavenge they could get from the ship - Pima insists that the smart thing to do would be to kill her, and Nailer knows she's right. Yet having had a close brush with death himself only days before, Nailer can't bring himself to let Pima do it. To let her live would be to risk everything - not only the scavenge, but his life as he knows it - and it's the most important choice Nailer will ever make. I just couldn't put this one down. Fast-paced and full of action, it also manages to ponder some serious issues. To make the leap from today's reality to the dystopian society in Ship Breaker isn't all that difficult - in fact, it's probably not that far off from the way thousands live in third-world countries. To see places so familiar to us with those economic and social conditions is what makes it scary. One thing I really liked about the world he's created is that the scope is revealed to us bit by bit, rather than all at once. From revealing the fate of New Orleans to showing just how disparate the distribution of wealth is, the world that Nailer inhabits is always gaining another layer. Speaking of Nailer, he's a great character - over the course of the book, he grapples with the meanings of family, wealth, and humanity itself, adding some real meat to the story. It's a bit dark, but very well written - Bacigalupi has a style that's almost stark, and it worked very well for the book as a whole. I enjoyed every page of this book from the time I was sucked in on the first page, and it's one you should definitely keep on your radar! *Review of ARC
Anonymous 11 months ago
Uhhmnb.ynhjynn n bb bybhgu i uhn i bny g ynnmnhj ygbymuumhib. Uh hh jMhbujn
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The plot and slang wer':;,),/'-+ good
Drewano More than 1 year ago
I powered through this book as I had the second book in the series on my Audible app but I have to admit I wasn’t a big fan. The author is great at painting a vivid picture but the story is a bit too juvenile for me. The first half of the book sets the scene but there isn’t much going on except that everyone ‘needs to be taught a lesson” and the second half while interesting couldn’t make up for my lack of interest in the first half. If I didn’t have the second book waiting for me I don’t think I would have finished.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Matt3223 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book! Looking forward to follow ups and a re-read of this one down the road.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In my opinion, Ship Breaker was one of the better dystopian novels. I thought Paolo Bacigalupi did a great job at building the world that Nailer and "Lucky Girl" lived in. Everything was very believable and I could image our world turning into something similar. I will say that if you want romance, this is not the book for you! If you liked this book, I suggest The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slightly cloudy with a faint chill in the air and a light drizzle at night &star Birdstar &star
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So cool like omg good i just can not bleive it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago