×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella
     

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella

3.9 3855
by Stephenie Meyer
 

See All Formats & Editions

Fans of The Twilight Saga will be enthralled by this riveting story of Bree Tanner, a character first introduced in Eclipse, and the darker side of the newborn vampire world she inhabits. In another irresistible combination of danger, mystery, and romance, Stephenie Meyer tells the devastating story of Bree and the newborn army as they prepare to close in on

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3852 reviews.
rach35marie More than 1 year ago
don't buy this book if you have a nook -- Myer is putting a pdf version up for free on her website just save the pdf to your docs and you can read it on your nook
TJ-Light More than 1 year ago
Honestly I'm excited for this book, I loved the Twilight Series & this just adds to the story. FYI, for those of you that don't know this book will be available to read online for free as stated by Stephenie Meyer from June 5, 2010 (realease date) to July 5, 2010, but if you do buy the book $1.00 will be donated to the American Red Cross! The book will be available to read online for free at www.breetanner.com and you may read Stephenie Meyer's excerpt about the book at www.stepheniemeyer.com.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm sorry to have to agree with the masses (not my thing), but Ms. Meyer should really, really finish Midnight Sun. I'm currently re-reading Twilight (for the millionth time) and subsequently re-reading Midnight Sun for about the same number of times because they are so inseperable and intertwined. I'm on page 234 of Midnight Sun and the dread of knowing it will soon end before we get to the meadow saddens me, AGAIN. We know how Bella feels and what she thinks in each scene and Midnight Sun tells us how Edward feels and what he thinks up to that meadow scene. I enjoy the little things...like the knowing smiles and odd looks each has when in the others' company. This is just wrong on so many levels to cheat us out of that and give us...Bree? Why? I'll agree with someone else here who posted that this was a slap in the face. It really feels like that. As if Ms. Meyer said to herself 'they'll take any crap I dish out, so here take this and leave me alone'. Wow.
sjl15 More than 1 year ago
Can someone tell me why the e book is more expensive than the hardcover version. This is starting to make me doubt that I should have bought the NOOK. I guess if I want to read it I will just have to wait until the price is lowered. Shouldn't cost more to download than purchase a hardcover book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Now that the Twilight Saga has been published, will Meyers continue to rewrite the story over and over? Apparently so. In this short story, we get to see the world of Twilight from Bree's POV. You remember Bree don't you? She was a "blip" of a character in the newborn army that was saved for last only to be ripped apart and burned. Maybe we can look forward to "her" description of Edward's milky white skin as she's torn asunder. The one thing that has always bothered me about the Twilight series is the lack of character background. Meyer's has a great storyline, but spends far too much time on trivial matters and then glosses over the more interesting aspects of her storyline. It would be much more rewarding to see a series on the Volturi, the Nomads and the Vampire Wars. I would like to know how "her" vampires came to exist from the very first vampire's point of view.
GoState05 More than 1 year ago
I loved the Twilight series so I was excited about The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner & experiencing some of the events of Twilight from a different perspective. I read the first 20 pages or so for free on Stephenie Meyer's website, and I was reeled in enough to purchase the ebook for my nook. However, the story quickly goes downhill. It becomes mostly a chronology of events, there is no character development or intrigue. Instead of letting the reader infer what happens at certain points, Stephenie spells out exactly what happens for the reader with no fanare. For example, (Spoiler-ish! alert) one of the newborns disappears and Bree is left to wonder what happened. A few pages later, she simply states, and I knew that [the newborn who disappeared] was dead. How did she know this? As the reader, I was beginning to suspect it but the story did not allow that mini-plot line to develop. That's just one example of how frustrating and unfulfilling the story was.
GemRem More than 1 year ago
To everyone complaining about the price(I completely agree!!!), the book will be available for free download on breetanner.com starting at noon on the June 7th through the July 5th. So you can pay to have it on the 5th or wait 2 days to get it free. For everyone complaining about this being a short story and not a continuation of the Twilight series, go to http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/breetanner.html to read a letter from Stephenie that explains all that. This book was never meant to be published, it was something she wrote to help her keep track of the story that evolved into its own publication. She also says that because this was a bonus for her, she wanted it to be a bonus for fans, hence the free download. All hard copies purchased through breetanner.com, however, will include a donation to the red cross. I personally cannot wait to read this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this more indepth look at the newborn vampires. At first I thought this was just another way for Stephenie Meyer to cash in on the Twilight craze but I am glad she released this short story. I hope that she continues to write more books in the twilight series. I wouldn't mind seeing additional short stories that examined other characters closely. It might be nice to have a story on Carlisle and another on Jasper. If you love the twilight series than it is a no brainer that you have to buy this book.
darleneplay76 More than 1 year ago
If u go to www.stepheniemeyer.com and click on Twilight Saga tab at the top of her official site then look of the left side and tap on Bree Tanner she tells u y the book was written, it was meant to ne just fun for herself and it turned out to be a short story, a novella, not a book and she got the idea to write the Twilight Saga: Official Guide and was planning on putting it in there but her publishers said no the it would make the guide heavier then the Oxford Dictionary lol that it would be better as a stand alone book. On the same site on June 7th as another reviewer said, Stephenie is having the entire book available to read for free to everyone as a gift to us all for supporting her. She clearly states on her website that if u want to buy the book to add to ur collection then u can and that $1 from each book sold in the US from the first printing is going to the American Red Cross. She provides a direct link on her website to read the book for free on June 7th. She also states that the book came in handy for the screenwriter of the movie Eclipse who had a ton of questions about the newborns and what was going on in Seattle, hint to the Eclipse movie!! Well I've rambled enough for this review lol. I can't wait till I get my copy and add it to my steadily growing Twilight Saga Collection!! Happy Reading Everyone!!! Also I think a lot of reviewers need to stop complaint about the prices on here, B&N has the lowest prices out the esspecially on new products. If u font like their prices then just look elsewhere but u can't beat the quality that B&N offers to all their customers!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Come on b&n! How can an eBook cost more than a hardcover when it takes no materials to make the eBook? Create one file and sell, baby, sell. That is all you do with an eBook. Shame on you.
MindyP123 More than 1 year ago
I can read and re-read the Twilight series over and over again without getting bored, so I was sooooo happy that I could add another book to my Twi-hard addiction. I thought this was a great read. It's fun to go back and look at the stories through a different character's eyes. It's a character that you know little about when reading the series, but there is so much to learn about her. Stephanie Meyer really dives deep when she writes her books. I hope that she continues to expand the series. Her attention to detail (the way she adds little bits of info, like a private conversation between Bree and Edward) really keeps you interested and makes you think. I absolutely loved LOVED this book. Please Stephanie, DONT STOP!
Pamthedreamer More than 1 year ago
I'm writing a non-review. Why? I read a couple of these reviews that give little star ratings and are quick to critique a book that isn't even available yet to the public! If you haven't read the book; how on earth can you critique it honestly? Me? I've loved all the books Stephanie Meyers has released; including the Host. I don't anticipate myself not enjoying this one as well. However, I will refrain from commenting on this new addition until I'VE ACTUALLY READ IT. Sheesh.
SK-fan More than 1 year ago
This one fell short for me...the writing was not nearly as good as other meyer books. At the same time...I wouldn't consider the writing the biggest draw for her novels...she is good storyteller and this one just wasn't a great story. I wasn't invested in the main character...I was mildly entertained and I do enjoy reading so I finished it. I think she can do better...not ready to give up on her yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The ebook price is much more than kindle or BN harcover even. I bought the nook to get deals on new books too.
JustmyOpinionUT More than 1 year ago
Why O Why must some people write a review on a book that has not been released yet? Please wait, read the book, then post an actual review of the book. This is not a blog arena.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OK...To Anonymous..the one that thinks Stephenie Meyers owes us and not the other way around...Seriously? I understand your frustration about Midnight Sun, Truly I do..I too would love nothing more than for her to come out with the rest of that Book...and she will when she feels up too it...Do not forget Authors are ARTISTS..you can't FORCE them to feel creative..it comes naturally and as far as her owing us..Im sorry and I hate to disagree but she doesn't owe us ANYTHING nor do we her..I am a huge fan of her books as well as you and your family are but you really should take a step back beyond the hurt and frustration you're feeling because she is a person too..shes not a writing machine put on this earth to serve us, her fans...Yes I do agree that, with out the fans, her books would be nothing but they ARE something because they are honestly just AMAZING WORKS of fiction and that is her craft...give her some time..Im sure she'll finish Midnight Sun but for now..Buy her newest book, because deep down you know you want to, at least thats my opinion I think you want to read this book because you enjoy Stephenies craft.. don't punish yourself by not reading it. And please, I mean no disrespect because you are completely entitled to your opinion and thanks for sharing it..I guess this was just mine.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Go see Steph's site. She states that she wrote this while writing Eclipse before Twilight was even published. As much as I would love to have Midnight Sun in my hands, I'll settle for this little Vampire adventure that coincides with Eclipse.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It wasn't nearly as bad as it's so obviously being deemed by so many reviewers. It wasn't at all boring. I am a total bookworm, ranging anywhere from stuff like this to the classics like mansfield park, east of eden, sherlock holms, war and peace... etc. So, having had the pleasure of reading such an immense selection of genres, I think I can tell when a book is so utterly boring that you can't even bring yourself to finish it. I'm not saying this is an outstanding literary work of art, but it certainly isn't dull either. Reasons to read this book include: 1. It gives you insight on the Twilight world that you can't see through Bella's eyes. 2. Like the Twilight series, it's a short and easy read. I know a lot of the twilight book are 700+ pages, but regardless of how "long" Breaking Dawn was, it's such an easy read, you can finish it in a flash. If you really want to see a long book, read something like Atlas Shrugged, then you'll know. (my apologies for getting off-topic) Anyway, this book is a short and easy read, BUT I did notice that it was written better than any of the Twilight books. 3. The Protagonist, Bree, is realistic, she isn't a mary sue character, she is weak, but her strong will makes up for that weakness, and she really becomes a lovable character regardless of that fact that she's made quite a few wrong choices. Bree's character is a 100% improvement on that of Bella's "Woe is me, I'm so flawed yet everyone thinks I'm gorgeous" awful characterization. She isn't a strong female role model at all. I've never read a book with a character that screams Mary Sue nearly as much. 4. You get a new outlook on the Cullens, Vultori, and the newborn army. ... All in all, this book is worth reading if you enjoyed the twilight series, but in order to enjoy it, you have to embrace a new character as the protagonist. Just because Bree isn't perfect Bella, doesn't mean she can't bring anything interesting to the table. You just have to expand your imagination into accepting her. You won't regret it.
CiciBear26 More than 1 year ago
Honestly, before I started The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, I couldn't remember who Bree Tanner was from Eclipse. I soon caught on to who she was (the vamp towards the end of the book that gets killed by Jane and Felix...ring any bells?). I really liked this book! I liked being in the head of a vampire, and I really liked how different they were from the Cullens (or the "Yellow Eyes"). I found Bree interesting and intriguing, and I read the book in one sitting (you can read it for free on BreeTanner.com --a gift from Stephenie Meyer to her fans!). I liked how Bree thought, how she acted (well, when she wasn't feeding), and I liked the mystery of the book, and how it keeps readers drawn in to the story line-even if you think you've had enough 'Twilight', I guarantee you will love this book.
annmarie017 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. The short second life of bree tanner an eclipse novella. The romance and the suspense....(wow)!!! It's a have to read. Especially if you're familiar with the twilight saga. This book kept me interested. I could not put it down. I needed to know what was going to happen next. Stephanie Meyer did an extremely well job in writing this book; and keeping her audience interested.... Even though I already knew the ending I still wanted to know how it happened, why did it happen, and so forth. This book takes you into the life of these new born vampires. It let's you experience how they felt. Give's reasons and answers as to why they choose not to trust each other or anyone. And it also exposes the lies they have been told. So, I totally recommend this book to all the Twilight fans and anyone who loves a love story mixed with suspense.
Mupples More than 1 year ago
If people read this without first reading the twilight series, it would make little or no sense. Simply, this novella can't stand on its own without prior knowledge of the twilight universe. Even with the knowledge, this book is incrediably boring and for what i paid or it- didn't get anything out of it. Why this character anyway? There is nothing remarkable about her journey. She was literally just a blip in their world and still remained insignificant in hers. I found the idea of what a newborn is like according to the Cullens vs what Brees experience was different too.
TAZIE More than 1 year ago
When I started this book, I didn't think that It was going to be as good as the other ones (from the twilight saga). But I was very wrong!! It;s actually another love story but pretty much attached to Eclipse. Sad because of the ending, but it is worth to read.!! Thanks Stephenie!!!!
Breeana More than 1 year ago
(We both have the same name, BREE! lol) I did not expect to like this book so much. Honestly, when I first found out Bree was going to have her own book I didn't understand why. She was a minor character and other people deserve their own books, but when I read it I LOVED IT! Bree isn't so bad a character like Eclipse makes her seem. She's a good vampire too, and honestly, I think SM should have kept her around. The only thing I wish she wrote more about is DIEGO! Anyways, it is a short book, it doesn't have chapters, and it's a good read BEFORE seeing Eclipse. I'd recommend it to any Twilight Saga Fans!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge Twilight Saga fan. I almost always listen to reviews of other readers before reading a book. Although Stephanie Meyers writing is a little not quite up to par with great writers, her books are very entertaining. I was hesitant on reading this but I read a review that said it has important info in this book. False! You get all you need about the life of Bree in the Twilight Saga. Not only is this book not entertaining, but it drags and drags and when Bree finally gets to the battle with the Cullens an the Volturi, it's over. Please think twice about wasting your money on this book. If you would like, do like me and read it for free on Stephanie Meyers website.
sydneysmom77 More than 1 year ago
I totally fell in love with the character Bree. I had no sympathy for her at all while reading Eclipse. This novella opened up a whole new perspective of the Twilight Saga. Loyal readers already know how Bree's story ends..oh how I wished it ended differently for her! Totally enjoyed this short story - Patiently awaiting Midnight Sun!!