×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Show No Fear (Nina Reilly Series #12)
     

Show No Fear (Nina Reilly Series #12)

3.3 24
by Perri O'Shaughnessy
 

See All Formats & Editions

A brand-new Nina Reilly thriller takes readers back to Nina's first murder investigation, to the case that ignites her passionate commitment to fighting for justice. As a single mom working as a paralegal and attending law school at night, Nina has her hands full fighting for custody of her young son Bob and overseeing a medical malpractice lawsuit on behalf of her

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Show No Fear (Nina Reilly Series #12) 3.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Betti More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed when I realized that this was a prequel. I find it annoying after reading 11 other stories to go back in time to find out how things began. If you can't do it in the beginning why do it at all? I found myself looking for inconsistancies in the story rather than enjoying it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so disappointed. I have not read O'Shaughnessy's books for some time. When I saw this new one come out I took it out from the library. I guess I did not read the book jacket thoroughly enough. It's storyline was about Nina Reilly's pre-lawyer days when she was a paralegal and going to law school. I realized something was amiss when the character Paul van Wagoner was introduced into the story. I knew they had had a relationship in the previous books. I reread the book jacket and then realized that this storyline was going back in time. For those readers of this series, I think this fact should have been identified better in the book itself. This book is written as if it is first in a series and it is not. For those readers that are new to the Nina Reilly series you might enjoy the book. For me, I felt cheated and would have preferred the writers move forward than backwards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Have the whole set. Love their stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
susabella More than 1 year ago
I have always enjoyed O'shaughnessy's books, and I've listened to each one rather than reading the printed page. It's been awhile, but I surely don't remember the reader being Dagmara Dominczyk, or if so, I must not have been used to good readers. Dagmara has a very annoying voice, no expression, and makes no attempt to develop a voice for each character. Her mono-tonal reading with that squeaky, accented voice is most offputting, and if it weren't for my liking the Nina Reilly series, I would have given up during the first cd. As it is, I am now on cd # 4 of 5, and am certainly glad I have the abridged edition. I can say with certainty I will never listen to a book narrated by Dagmara again. If Ms. O'shaughnessy persists with this narrater, I will read rather than listen to her next book. As for the story, as mentioned before, I am a fan and it has been very interesting learning Nina's previous history. This has been a slow starter, didn't really get going until the end of the third cd, and hasn't been my fave, but enjoyable nevertheless...except for the reader!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RonnaL More than 1 year ago
I don't know how my mystery group has missed these Nina Reilly books in all of our years of reading together, but somehow we did. This mistake will now be solved as we have decided to read all of her books now that we have gotten a taste of the series with this prequel to the books already written by the O'Shaughnessy sisters. In SHOW NO FEAR by Perri O'Shaughnessy, the trials and hardships of the characters are extremely interesting and relevant to crimes we hear about all over the news today. Coming into a firm as a paralegal, Nina has high ideals and hopes, bur she soon realizes that there is safety nowhere, and she decides that criminal law is something that she is finally driven to pursue for all of those other people in the world who have been put in sad, hopeless, and fearful positions through no fault of their own. Nina has the love of her Mom and her young son, and her addicted brother, to drive her to provide better lives for all of them. When her Mom develops a chronic deadly disease and is taken advantage of by a would be doctor, Nina also finds herself dealing with an abusive stalker old boyfriend who now wants to be involved in Nina's life. This is only part of the many turns and twists that are being dealt with by Nina, while the murder of two people is also being investigated. Never a dull moment! Completely engrossing, this book has an emotionally driven story line that keeps the reader anxious, empathetic, and driven to know the "truth". Like meeting someone new and really wanting to know what makes them "tick", this book has started a new need to read!! All of Nina Reilly's stories are now part of our immediate reading list!
legalfan More than 1 year ago
The writing was disjointed, the story line truly not believable and I work in law. This was clearly not their best effort. I wasted a gift card on this book. It is unlikely I will buy another book by these authors.
gottareadJD More than 1 year ago
I have all of the "Nina" series books. I have always enjoyed the sister's writing, and "Show no Fear" was no exception.
My only complaint is I wish they would have written in the current with flash backs to the past. Already knowing about Nina's future made this book less enjoyable. We already know from reading her previous books about Paul and how they met, Nina's first husband and her son's father and her brother Matt and his addiction problems.
NoOneFan More than 1 year ago
Takes you back to the start of Nina's career. All the characters come and go in the book and, if I had not read all the other books, I would not have known what was going on. A little disappointed, but I'll still buy her next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kadydid More than 1 year ago
It was good to read about my old friend Nina and see how it all started. It was a different approach and one I liked. Thank you for the fun and mystery to warm me on these cold winter days.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avid_Reader65TX More than 1 year ago
I am a big fan of a lot of series novels and the Nina Reilly books are no exception. Great female lead who is flawed like all of us, but does her best to take care of her family, friends & clients.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In 1990 in Carmel-by-the-Sea, California, paralegal Nina Reilly is a single mom who raises her preschool son Bob while attending law school. She is also very concerned with the health of her mom Ginny who is dealing with both a circulatory ailment and a botched acupuncture treatment while at the same time pushing for a malpractice suit. After a four year absence from her life, criminal defense lawyer Richard Filsen, claiming Bob is his son, wants a paternity test performed and if the results confirm his belief, he demands shared custody. Nina asks partners from the law firm she works at, Jack McIntyre and his ambitious girlfriend Remy Sorensen, for help. However, someone kills Richard and Ginny. Although she cannot see the connection besides herself, with the assistance of homicide cop Paul van Wagoner, Nina investigates needing closure for her mom. --- This is a clever engaging prequel to the wonderful Reilly legal thrillers. Nina is a wonderful protagonist with her plate full only to get even fuller. The story line is fast-paced and filled with superb twists, but most important the book remains true to the lead character¿s ¿future¿ tales as Perri O'Shaughnessy shows no fear with this deep look back at the paralegal days of single mom Nina Reilly. --- Harriet Klausner