×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Showdown
     

Showdown

3.8 24
by Tilly Bagshawe, Sonya Walger
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the acclaimed author of the "New York Times" bestseller "Adored" comes a wickedly entertaining tale of love, seduction, and blinding ambition, set in the most glamorous horse racing capital of the world.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Showdown 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Did not want to put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Truly enjoyed this one! Having been involved in horse racing (thoroughbreds) in California and the UK, I found this historically accurate and could relate to the story line. Raised in California, it's fun to read about the places you know as well as the setting for the characters. Fun, hard to put down, well written. Would love for her/them to write the sequel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love her book,adored,but this was drawn out, and didnt deliver in the end . both adored & showdown close to abrublty and "unfinished" for such long novels you would think ud get a bigger reward after 400+ pages of buildup,just to finally have it come together in 20 pages and SPOILER ALERT but after 443 pages of waiting for them to finally make love and she doesnt even write it out?!felt betrayed honestly and after pushing myself to finish it bc I thought id be rewarded with a satisfying payoff in the end, I just felt dissapointed and thought she gave up in the end so just sent what she had to the publisher,now adored was better & I def recommend that one but this sorely,left me wanting more and less at the same time. sidney sheldon and tilly are wonderful though,cant wait for the newest but id def give her own novel another try as she has undeniable talent, just wasnt my cup o tea with showdown and I dont really think id have missed out if I hadnt read it...read adored and her sheldon books first for sure!!!no offense tilly,i do adore u and u have a gift,just maybe a,little more work on ur endings and cutting out some extra long unneeded chapters and instead add to ur final ending wrapups???xo
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely adored this book. The friendship, love & falling out had me on edge. Kudos to the author for such a well written book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BroadwayGirl33 More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book and I will be honest it was just ok! I feel that this book lacks the charm of the Adored, and almost felt thrown together. I did not feel that the story flowed as well as it should have and had too many characters/storylines. Tilly Bagshawe¿s books are developing a pattern of: Heroine meets Hero, Hero peeves Heroine, Heroine shacks up with Villain who proceeds to destroy her live, Hero finally decides to fight for the Heroine, and they end up together. Bagshawe¿s books are never lacking in sexual and passionate content, but unlike Adored, the end of this underwhelming and anti-climatic.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was absolutley amazing! I could hardly put it down great read for anyone who likes horses and a little romance!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is the best book I have ever read it has a perfect balance of love and horses. The characters' emotions are so detailed and real. I read Showdown about a month ago and all i've been doing since was looking for similar great book but found none that measure up. Highly, highly recommended!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This story was wonderful. the title showdown. the main character has a showdown with her family and the guy shes inlove with. she shows them she can grow up just fine on her own, and it's a great love story. i hope to see more of tilly bagshaws writing. it's my kind of writing and i love to read it. thank you!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I LOVED Adored, its easily one of my favorite books, so i was expecting this to be just as good. I was really disappointed with this book though. It wasnt horrible, I just didn't think it measured up. I found it kind of drawn out and slow moving, and felt a lot of parts could have been shortened a little. i kept waiting for something more that never came, i thought it lacked true substance. And i sort of hated Milly, the main charater. I found her very annoying and stupid, I was glad when bad things happened to her and didnt feel she deserved to get the guy and everything else, I was really hoping she didnt.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, until the end. It has been a year since I read this book and I still get mad, because the end doesn't satisfy! The story was great, but in the end there was no detail for the charectors love, or anything. You read about them with other people throughout the book but the ending keeps you hanging, I keep looking hoping a second will come out to this book to satisfy the ending.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book only thinking it would be as good as Tilly's first book 'Adored' It had alot of the same feelings and situations like her first book did but I just wasn't drawn to the characters or the story line as much. Although it was good enough to keep me reading it, I too also found the end to be disappointing. I felt like it was a different Bobby in the end, he was such a arrogant person and then at the end I couldn't picture him doing those things. I liked watching Milly grow into a adult and, I really loved to watch the change in Amy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Another great book from Tilly Bagshawe. A sexy love story, enjoyable even if you do not know a thing about horses!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a great book, I could not put it down, but I found the end very disappointing. With everything you go through with the characters I was expecting a bigger ending and when I finished the last page I found myself thinking, where was the rest of the book? Otherwise a great book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is captivating and compelling, but I found the end to be disappointing. There is such tremendous build-up to the inevitable conclusion (and I was looking forward to it) but then the actual event did not ring true. I wanted the characters to explain things to each other, and I REALLY wanted to hear more from Bobby about what he learned and how he had grown at the end. Otherwise, the book is great fun to read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great book!
harstan More than 1 year ago
Twenty-three years old highly regarded horse breaker and trainer Bobby Cameron inherits the family¿s renowned ranch Highwood in California when his father passes away. However, Bobby realizes that he does not have the capital to keep the spread going so he accepts work as a trainer in Newmarket, England where he is to work with two horses at Newells Stud Farm. --- Bobby soon falls in love with the seventeen year old daughter of his employer. Milly Lockwood Groves is a frustrated rider whose neck injury prevents her from competing. She envies her neighbor successful rider Rachel Delaney and assumes that she cannot compete for the attention of Bobby. As Bobby seeks a wealthy partner for his California spread, Milly returns to racing encouraged by the American¿s deep feelings for her, but Rachel, who lives to get under Milly¿s skin, tries to seduce him as she did with Jasper, her long time rival¿s brother. --- SHOWDOWN is a fascinating look at the horse racing business at a time when the Triple Crown is occurring. Bobby is a fine young man though a bit naive when it comes to women and real estate. Milly feels ready to return to the saddle, but her parents fear for her refuse to allow her to do so while Bobby encourages her. Rachel never comes across as a true competitor for the attention of Bobby as she behaves like a spoiled teenaged Lolita whose goal in life is to top Milly. Fans will appreciate this fine contemporary romance though the tension from the realty deal and the rivalry seems forced. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Here