×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Showdown (Paradise Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Showdown (Paradise Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Showdown (Paradise Series #1)
     

Showdown (Paradise Series #1)

3.8 79
by Ted Dekker
 

See All Formats & Editions

Welcome to Paradise.

Epic battles of good and evil are happening all around us.

Today that battle comes to town with the sound of lone footsteps clacking down the blacktop on a hot, lazy summer afternoon. The black-cloaked man arrives in the sleepy town of Paradise and manages to become the talk of the town within the hour. Bearing the power to grant any

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Showdown [With Headphones] 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 79 reviews.
Corban-Storm More than 1 year ago
"Showdown" is a Ted Dekker novel set within a non-sequential series called "The Books of History Chronicles." It is the story of a Harvard Professor, David Abraham, who has been commissioned to conduct an incredible experiment: together with twelve of the best faith-based minds in world, raise thirty six orphans in a controlled environment void of any of the "evil" influences of the modern world. The question is, will children saturated in an environment of beauty, truth, and love shun the evil impulses within each of us as a result of our fallen natures through original sin? And if so, once released at the threshold of adulthood, would these young men and women have the interior strength and grace-filled spirits to transform the world? In "Showdown", we see how a town called Paradise is impacted by the seemingly unrelated battle going on within this secluded project of innocent children (called "Project Showdown") who have now reached adolescence. The analogy of how the war in heaven impacts our lives on earth is excellent, and by weaving in elements (and even a character) from his Circle Trilogy, Dekker certainly will keep his fan-base happy. The question of whether truth (including sound reason/philosophy) necessarily leads to love is pondered throughout the story, and the more worldly arguments against are given room to play out as they do in our contemporary society today. There is a good message here; a person well-formed in Faith and morals is without question given a solid foundation to embark on a journey towards God. But unless that formation is imbued with love-not as the world defines it (laden with sentiment and emotion), but a self-sacrificing crucified love-all the "truth" in the universe, whether temporal or eternal, will not suffice. Dekker has quite a gift for presenting "adrenaline-laced" thrillers which are modern day analogies of humanity's Salvation History. His stories are very creative and exciting (at times, I found I could not read quickly enough in the midst of intense scenes), yet what impresses me more is that Dekker is able to avoid the "predictability" of the plot; a reality common to Christian analogical stories. As well, Dekker avoids the over-sanitization of evil which often is found-understandably-in novels delineated as "Christian". It is the difficult challenge of a good Christian writer to portray the reality of evil in a manner which neither glorifies it nor uses it as a simplistic device to shock the reader; I feel Dekker navigates this tightrope well. (That being said, I would not recommend this book for kids under 16, and even then, would use discretion based on the maturity/impressionability of the youth -- evil is not as "comic-bookish" here as in the Circle Trilogy). If I could offer one area of criticism (then seemingly contradict myself) it would be in relation to character development. Though I would not describe the characters in "Showdown" as one-dimensional, I do feel that, after completing the story, I only got to know them on a superficial level. That being said, this very well may have been a choice by the author; plunging into the inner-depths of a character generally slows a story down. As well, I think "Showdown", and perhaps all of Dekker's novels, are more about the story-the analogy-than the specific characters. One final note: though the author claims you can read the "Paradise" novels in any order, I would suggest this one first (it is the earliest in t
Ferris_Bueller-is-my-hero More than 1 year ago
This is a surprising thriller that writes in a fast pace style which leads readers quickly to new developing storylines and plots. Very entertaining and a great read for thriller lovers.
DominiqueVega More than 1 year ago
Although it was darker than I would have liked, I did enjoy this book. Dekker wrote very well!... There's a reason he's so highly acclaimed!!! This story itself had much intrigue and was very much a page turner. Since this is my first Dekker book, I'm not positive on how I feel about the whole series but I finished this one last night and bought Saint today. Knowing this isn't a girly story, I did miss the romance but was glad there were still parts that touched the heart!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first Ted Dekker book I've read, and I was disappointed after all the good things I had heard about this author and his works. The story seemed contrived to me. The concept was intriguing, in fact, if you are a writer, you may find the concept very intriguing. I'd like to see another author put a different spin on this concept I think it has a lot of potential. I know, vague review, but I just can't bring myself to give away the story. I will say this: I'll give Ted another chance sometime even though this disappointed me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first book by Dekkar that I read. I hurried to get another, expecting another absorbing story. This one is just too weird for me. Not intriguing in my opinion. Could be, but no likable characters. I want to read imaginative authors that can write something besides drugs, sex, ugly language, etc., but this one is just too offbeat to be interesting. After the first several chapters, I just couldn't finish it. I am still trying to talk myself into giving it another chance, but I don't look forward to forcing myself to read it!
bbnetman More than 1 year ago
Something about the cover gave me high hopes for this book. I bought this in hardback at the same time I bought "Comes A Horseman" (by Robert Liparulo and great book). I tried to get into Showdown, I tried really hard. It just was not meant to be. The book is boring and lacks any kind of feeling that you get when you are reading a good novel. The main villain is ok at first but eventual you are sitting there wishing he would just conquer all and end the story already. The children and the plot are just ridiculous. Oh, did I mention the slime? yeah, it has slime in it. I give myself credit for finishing it but at the same time it hurts to think I did and what a waste of time. but it happens. Some people that have reviewed this book actually liked it. A matter of taste. A taste for slime.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book by Ted Dekker I've ever read. I thought it was pretty good myself. It took me a while to fully grasp what his concept was. Over all I think this was a great book and I recommend it to everyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have several questions concerning the plot twists. If a mind altering substance is used, then can a experiment of good and evil be legitimate? Or, is evil, the mind altering substance?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
brakeboy More than 1 year ago
Awesome Story! I like the characters and the plot. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book entertaining but pretty slow at a couple spots. I stuck it out and wasn't disappointed. The follow up books get better (Saint then Sinner).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
if your going to read this also read the lost books....yes all 6. oh and black,red,and white and then you will get the whole story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my fav dekker books. Not for faint of heart. Would be R if movie for violence. Marsuvees Black rips out a guys EYEBALLS in beginning. Very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Showdown is the best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this a joke? Unbelievable. I paid waaaay too much for this pos. Forget the star i was forced to post
GrandmajoTX More than 1 year ago
I could not finish it. It was too scary and traffic for me, but I'm old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Marsuvees black is scary.
Jenny_Rose More than 1 year ago
The laid back town of Paradise, Colorado seemed stuck in a rut. A monastery hidden deep in a canyon seemed isolated from the outside. Yet Dekker entwines these two in a story that straddles reality and fantasy. Something happened in Paradise years ago that was swept under the carpet. In doing so the heart of soul of the townspeople began to grow cold and hard—and Father Yordon the preacher is in the middle of it. David Abraham is the head of the monastery, a project to see if the innocence of children could be cultivated and encouraged in a pure and loving environment. This story borders on allegory as many scenes bring to mind Biblical events or scenarios: choices, sacrifice, worms and characters. As a thriller, however, it is not for the faint of heart. More than once I was tempted to quit as certain scenes were described in such graphic detail. But there was a twist halfway through that had me hanging on for dear life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
Along a dusty road, walks a stranger dressed in black. He's wearing a cowboy hat pulled down low over his eyes and aside from hearing his crunching of his boots on the gravel street, there isn't much else going on outside the town of Paradise. Sitting on the only bench outside of the town's drinking establishment, Cecil Marshall watches the stranger walk into town. The only other person sitting with him on that unseasonably hot summer day is a Johnny Drake. "Looks lost." Johnny says to Cecil, who merely nods his head towards Johnny. He can't speak since he's a mute some eighty-one years ago. He and Johnny alone are the only ones watching the man in black walk into town. Yet there is something there that tells them today is about to change in the lives of those living in Paradise, for better or worse remains unknown but Johnny and Cecil believe it to be worse. Is all hell about to break lose in Paradise? I received the novel Showdown by Ted Dekker, one of my all time favorite authors from my husband Steve for my birthday and honestly couldn't wait to find time to enjoy and savor the flavor of this book. Within the first chapter, you suddenly realize that once more Ted Dekker has masterfully captured the very essence of evil as it strolls into Paradise and with every page that turns after that brings you closer to what lies in store for the citizens of Paradise. Hands down another award winning book by Ted Dekker. This one rates 5 out of 5 stars with a word of caution. Read it with the lights on!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago