×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Siege
     

The Siege

4.0 61
by Stephen White
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author of Dead Time

Disgraced Boulder detective Sam Purdy, FBI counter-terrorism specialist Christopher Poe, and CIA analyst Deirdre Drake are drawn to Yale University to investigate the disappearances of several students- including the sons of both the Secretary of the Army and a Supreme Court Justice. An unseen enemy is

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Siege 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
tednix More than 1 year ago
I have read all of Stephen White's books and, like the Harry Potter series, they have gotten more complex as he has gone on. "The Siege" is set primarly in New Haven, CT, a city I am pretty familiar with. White's research is extensive and precise. Nothing is left to guess work. The tension is palpable and most of the questions are answered. The loose ends are the loose ends that Sam Purdy doesn't know the answers to. Speaking of Sam, being a native of Minnesota I find him an excellent lead character. In other books, he has been a secondary character to Alan Gregory, but not this time and I liked Sam. I passed the book along to my mother-in-law who loves thrillers and who lived in New Haven for 35 years. I am certain it will stand up to her scrutiny. This is a terrific read.
jimb72 More than 1 year ago
My wife and I have read every Stephen White book. We love his stories. This book takes a solo look at one particular character who has appeared in most of White's books about a Boulder psychiatrist. His recent books have been focusing on characters other than the usual star. What we liked about this book was it is full of suspense, a possible crime of terrorism but continuing doubt about what might be happening. In the end, your left saying, this could happen. A real event could trigger this kind of well plotted crime. Ending this book was a downer.
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
"The Siege" by Stephen White had me on edge from the beginning of the book. I just couldn't put the book down from the moment the first student is killed until the siege ends. Seeing how the various law enforcement agents get involved and work with each other to figure who and what is going on in the fortress like building on the campus of Yale. Certainly did not expect the unusual ending. I just got into reading White's books and have to say this was certainly a good one to get immersed in.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Was well done, even though it was moved from the typical Boulder location. Masterly woven together, with twists and turns continuing to pop up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took a little time to get into what was happening with the characters, but once into the book, had to keep reading to the end. Very thrilling and surprising ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I missed the usual characters appearing with Alan in colorado. I waited anxiously for this book to be published,and am dusappointed at not seeing whst is happening to Alan after the mess he was left in at close of last book. The book was well written as usual, but the getting to know the characters was misding. I found it difficult to get into the plot of the boom if there was one before the last few chapters.
JerseyBoy More than 1 year ago
Good but I am not sure it was good enough to have me read other books that he has written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
rmd270 More than 1 year ago
This was a great storyline and a first time read of the author which took me to places I did not expect. A tightly interwoven story surrounding the hostage taking in New Haven, CT. The underlying plot was rich and I really liked the way the author brought the multiple story lines together in a compelling and taut mystery format. The use of the main characters backgrounds and how they eventually intersect was well done. Great characters, plot and story telling...what more could you ask for.
BobpRP More than 1 year ago
This author tries to use as many words as he can to describe a simple item. I was very disappointed with this book. I keep wanting the story to unfold and did not need all the descriptions of the campus at Yale University. I am being charitable with 3 stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago