×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Sight for Sore Eyes
     

A Sight for Sore Eyes

3.9 17
by Ruth Rendell
 

See All Formats & Editions

A Sight for Sore Eyes tells three stories, and for the longest time, the reader has no inkling of how they will come together. The first is a story of a little girl who has been scolded and sent to her room when her mother is brutally murdered; as Francine grows up, she is haunted by the experience, and it is years before she even speaks. Secondly, we become

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Sight for Sore Eyes 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very entertaining. It was easier to follow the plot than many of Ms Rendell's novels. It reminded me of a Hitchcock movie, with dark unexpected twists, characters being undone by their own psychologic drawbacks. All of the characters in this novel are flawed. Ms Rendell connects them in bleak and surprising ways. Enjoy.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'd never heard of Ruth Rendell before until I read 'The Water's Lovely' and decided I wanted to read some more of her books. What a surprise to find my local library had several in both the general fiction and mystery sections. I found this novel a little slow getting into, partly because there was so little dialogue. However, once the author started to bring the three separate characters together, the suspense began to build. In one corner you have a neglected child who grows into a maladjusted psychopathic young man. In another corner you have a sheltered naive young woman. And in yet another corner, you have a woman who has relied on her looks her entire life and now finds that age is slowly taking away the only asset she ever cared to think about. When their lives begin to cross paths, true danger lurks and I found myself having difficulty putting the book down as the end drew near. Rendell does an excellent job of increasing the pace of the story by jumping from one scene to the other with greater and greater frequency as you near the climatic end. Definitely a worthwhile read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ruth Rendell has truly outdone herself yet again. She is the Anne Tyler of intrigue and keeps her readers spellbound until the last word. Rendell is a 20th century Moliere, though not so absurd as to be comedic...instead plaintive, picking the wonders of humanity and weaving them into her tapestry-like plot. Rendell is proof that literature still exists in our society, that semantic enjoyment is not belittled to sex, drugs, and Stephen King gore. Thank you, Ms. Rendell, from this English major who still tries to find great writing in a world of trade romance paperbacks.
Guest More than 1 year ago
what a great book-I couldn't put it down--It is a book that I won't forget for a long time. Now I want to read all her other books.This would make a great movie. Such a web she weaves and I don't think anyone could possibly guess the ending? Terrific!
BusyProfessional More than 1 year ago
Boring, tedious and predictable. This was one of the worst books I've ever picked up. There was no mystery - you knew who the bad guy was going to be from the first. Nothing happened until page 61, and then nothing continued to happen. A real dud. Very disappointed.
Avid_E-Reader More than 1 year ago
I really appreciate Rendell's stand-alone novels, based on having read about half a dozen. I'm not as enthused about her series works for some reason. The stand-alones have always caught me by surprise just when I think I know where they are going. Yet she plays fair and in retrospect I can see how she had foreshadowed things so skillfully. I do wish there were occasionally a character I could really pull for, the truth is I really didn't like anyone in the book. This is another excellent effort by a master.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was my second venture into Ruth Rendell's books. I had just finished The Water's Lovely and wanted to keep going with her writing. This book was good, but not quite as captivating. I do enjoy her ability to establish several distinct characters and I find that I invest in each of them while reading. As with The Water's Lovely, the writing style is not my favorite (please stop ending sentences with prepositions) and I had to stop several times to reread sentences in order to grasp the tone. But other than that I will continue to read her books.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a fascinating, most enjoyable read. I didn't want to put it down. It sucked me in and I got lost in that creepy, sad, twisty world. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Rich, lush descriptions of the characters and their emotions. This one can keep you up all night...if you're willing to skip the stunning psychological insights by Ruth Rendell and just follow the story line.Key character Teddy Brex is obviously an autistic artist...on the brink of becoming a serial killer. During certain passages...I was breathless.
Arthur_Coombe More than 1 year ago
Bleak, compelling, very well-constructed. This is the fourth Rendell novel I’ve read. It is perhaps the best. It’s not a murder mystery or a police procedural. Rather, it’s a study of psychopathology and obsession which happen to lead to murder. You could call it a psychological thriller, but the characterizations are much more skillfully rendered than in most thrillers you find in airport bookstores. Rendell has a way of making simple, plain narrative statements that provide much insight into the characters’ thinking. This reminded me of Patricia Highsmith’s Deep Water. Rendell published a sequel, The Vault, in 2011.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
A great novel but I am baffled by something. Regarding the bank pin number. How does La Punaise become 4162? Help!