×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Signora Da Vinci
     

Signora Da Vinci

4.6 24
by Robin Maxwell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Following the 'absolutely superb'(Diane Haeger, author of The Secret Bride) Mademoiselle Boleyn, novelist Robin Maxwell delves into the life of Caterina-the adventurer, alchemist, and mother of Leonardo da Vinci.

Caterina was fifteen years old in 1452 when she bore an illegitimate child in the tiny village of Vinci. His name was Leonardo, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Signora da Vinci 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
allieclare More than 1 year ago
The book kept me interested the entire time, although it peeked my interest into the real mother of Leonardo di Vinci...who lead a much different life
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a ride! A visual and emotional adventure through the Italian Renaissance. Facing the medieval chauvinism and Inquisicion, Signora DaVinci embodies feminine power above cultural, religious and political conspiracy. One wonders if Leonardo's MonaLisa is indeed the painting of this woman most dear to him and the reason why, historians report, he never parted with the famous painting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finally grabbed this book and read it at a moment of weakness and was surprised at how good it was. Yes it has some forced historical stuff in it ( when the author has to use something they found during research) but for the most it was easy to read. The plot has been done before a woman passing herself off as a man, but some of the other aspects were good. My take on the end was when you strive to deceive others mostly you are decieving yourself because others can see thru the veil.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Vinci, Italy Caterina, as befitting the daughter of an apothecary, is trained in alchemy. In 1451 when she turns fourteen, Caterina meets and falls in love with much older Piero da Vinci. Although he is from a much higher social circle, he offers to marry her. They make love and she becomes pregnant.

He reneges on his pledge as his family threatens to disown him if he weds his inferior mistress. After Caterina gives birth, Piero's family takes away the newborn Leonardo from his unwed mom; as she has no rights compared to their influence. The da Vinci brood abuse Leonardo, but his visits to his mom gives him hope. When she sees his incredible drawings, she arranges for him to apprentice with a master artist in Florence. Missing her son, who is becoming renowned as an artist, Caterina arranges a reunion with her Leonardo, but a surprise awaits her in Florence.

SIGNORA DA VINCI is a fascinating biographical fiction that looks deep into the life of Leonardo¿s mother. The story line is well written as it brings out the sacrifices Caterina did to obtain quality time with her son while he is raised by his wealthy affluent paternal family. The background of the Renaissance is also intricately interwoven into the plot. Although she performs some seemingly implausible events, which Caterina admits ¿would be impossible for a woman of my station¿ that detracts from the tale even with an explanation, sub-genre fans will relish this reflective refreshing indirect glimpse into the life of Leonardo through the eyes of his doting mom.

Harriet Klausner
Smc6288 More than 1 year ago
This is by far my favorite book I've read this year and as an avid historical fiction reader, that truly is saying something. I could not put this book down! Robin Maxwell does an amazing job of intertwining reality with her imagined life of Signora da Vinci. One can fully believe that this is how Caterina da Vinci lived her life. In a time period where women did not have the same freedoms as men, one can imagine Caterina forsaking her womanhood to follow her beloved son and to help him become the man we know him as today. I fully recommend this novel to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, or even to those who are simply looking for a pleasurable summer read.
history-enthusiast More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I felt like I was there in Florence. I painted a vivid picture of Florence. I really loved this book.