×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Silent Honor
     

Silent Honor

4.3 13
by Danielle Steel
 

See All Formats & Editions

In her 38th bestselling novel, Danielle Steel creates a powerful, moving portrayal of families divided, lives shattered and a nation torn apart by prejudice during a shameful episode in recent American history.

A man ahead of his time, Japanese college professor Masao Takashimaya of Kyoto had a passion for modern ideas that was as strong as his wife's belief in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Silent Honor 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As someone born in one of thos internment camps, I am now at the age where I want to know more about where I came from. Silent Honor tells me of the hardships my parents and thousand of others had to endure. At times it almost seems barbaric. I am glad I had the chance to read this book. It makes me appreciate so much more, what the Japanese and Japanese Americans went through.
Patty326 More than 1 year ago
The story was heartwarming and sad as well, but I did enjoy the outocme, i read Silent Honor twice
Germaine85 More than 1 year ago
I understand that this book is unbelievably old and my review is years late. But either way im gonna say what i have to say. I have read Ms. Steels books and what i can say is that she has captivated me throughout the years. The book is about a very traditional Japanese family how they sent their only daughter to America to start her education and how her life changes from then on. The author has brought out the traditions and beliefs of the Japanese families very well. I applaud her for her extensive research on the subject. Lets start with the aspects that i believed worked for this book. The Book was well researched before she wrote it. She definitely brought out the true horrific details of the cruelties aimed at Japanese people during the war. For that i applaud her. In terms of the story line, keeping aside the fact of the camps and the bitter journey the Tanaka family goes through, all i have to say is i believe the love story portrayed is truly unimaginative. Peter a man of substance falling in love with a girl in a matter of minutes was just a disappointment. The fact that Tad loved Hiroko from the very beginning and suddenly as soon as he knows sally likes him his all up to get married to Sally. The ending i thought was just an attempt to finish the book off quickly. Hiroko goes to Japan looking for her parents and mind you all this time its pretty obvious that all hope for her husband is over but suddenly he shows up. There's no surprise in his face when he finds out that he has a son.. just a question or two.. i just felt throughout the latter stages of the book, it turned out to be a big disappointment to me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Touching, a wonderful story
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful story and Ms. Steel does a great job of showing how the Japanese were treated after the bombibg of Pearl Harbor. Hiroko is a great character. She overcomes many challenges put before her. I Strongly recommend this book to anyone!!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book is great, the history is nice but the only thing about that gets me irritated is that Hiroko is just TOO perfect! She's intelligent, pretty, sweet, a fast learner, etc. I found two flaws about her though, she's very shy and dependant on her parents. But over all, it's a good book!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The subject material is what attracted me to read this book. I wanted to see how a well known author handled it. I don't normally read romance, and this is my first introduction to DS. I'll start with the positive: The book was an engaging enough read. No long drawn out sections where it bogged down. The subject matter was handled respectfully. It was at times heartfelt and eloquent. The negatives: The prose sometimes felt repetitive.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hate when that happens....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago