×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Silent Ocean Away: Colette's Dominion
     

A Silent Ocean Away: Colette's Dominion

4.6 23
by DeVa Gantt
 

See All Formats & Editions

Charmaine Ryan knows only poverty and pain growing up. In the wake of a horrifying tragedy, she seeks a new life, and fate leads her into the private world of the wealthy Duvoisin clan. At first, it seems as if nothing terrible could touch this seemingly charmed family. But an ill wind blows through the halls and chambers of the Duvoisins' sprawling island retreat,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Silent Ocean Away: Colette's Dominion 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Theresa_G More than 1 year ago
I found this book on a display at Barnes and Noble and was wary of getting it. But I bought it and am certainly glad that I did. I read it within a few days and quickly started searching for the other books. This book is gripping and captivates you from the beginning I just couldn't wait to find out what was going to happen. It shows that even the seemingly most perfect families on the outside have their own share of drama while maintaining a strong bond with one another. This was a very enjoyable book and I had trouble putting the book down!!
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
"A Silent Ocean Away" is an absorbing read, written by sisters Debra and Valerie Gantt (hence DeVa). The writing doesn't convey any impression of design by committee, except perhaps in the depth of detail given to peripheral characters, though, of course, I may be totally mistaking who's peripheral, since the book is part one of a trilogy. The tale is set on an exotic island in the 19th century. DeVa make their depiction of locale and time very enticing and convincing. I loved the simple touches, like a new Jane Austen novel being read, and the complex creation of a complete society, separate from but closely linked by trade to the rest of the world. I soon grew attached to the characters too, and appreciated the deft descriptions that made it easy to tell who was who as people vanished and reappeared. The subtitle, "Colette's Dominion," left me waiting for a Colette while following the tribulations of Charmaine through the early chapters. The writers do an excellent job of throwing both character and reader into the deep end of the pool, stripping family, friends and home away, till the landing on Charmante, where Charmaine becomes governess to Colette's three children. The ocean of the title seemed to represent Charmaine's anchorless existence at the start, and then the distance travelled to the island. But soon it came to symbolize the oceans of silence between secrets, each character revealing feelings to the reader that were never voiced to those who needed to hear them. Mysteries abound in this book, and by the end they are mostly unresolved. Indeed, that would be my biggest complaint, that the only "resolved" story-line seemed the least interesting when I suddenly found I'd turned the final page; I wish the trilogy had been published as a single volume. The children, with their delightful foibles and wonderfully natural tricks, are growing now. The brothers, almost uncles, are at each others' throats. The father rules and vanishes with perplexing twists and turns. And the authors' insights at the back of the book lead to a chapter from Colette's Legacy that at least convinces me there really will be more. More than just a romance, this is a complicated, absorbing tale, marred only by its incompleteness. I'd certainly recommend it, as long as you don't mind waiting in a roiling ocean as the waves turn to storm till the next book comes out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was a litle afraid when I bought this book that it was going to turn out to be another one of those wishy-washy, utterly unoriginial and uninteresting historical novels that leaves me regretting the purchase and forgetting the book in a matter of days; but I was more than pleasantly surprised with this novel. I want to commend DeVa Gantt for creating a host of characters in this book who came alive right off the page- John, in particular. I read ALOT of books and it is a small portion of those whose characters draw me in so fully and captivate me as much as the ones in this novel did. It was pure escapsim. The subtle susupense and tension in the novel is prime; and is what I think makes it so good. It was a refreshing take on a historical novel (but be warned- if you are looking for a historical novel more heavy on the facts and details of the time, this is not what you are looking for)....Regardless, this is a wonderful book. The pacing, and the characters especially were so heartwarming. Gantt didn't skip over the seemingly mundane aspects of human interaction, which most authors rush by, in favor of the action packed scenes and introspective paragraphs...the authors dug into these characters, and into the more poignant aspects of their lives. It's one tiny downfall is probably that the family secrets the authors allude to, can honestly be deciphered and figured out half way through the book...it wasn't all that mysterious or hard to figure out...Still, it was a good novel, and one of a trilogy that I am sincerely looking forward to! I could go on and on, but ultimately, what I am saying is, that this is a great book! If you are looking for an excellent story with memorable characters set in a historic setting; dont hesitate to buy it! I only finished reading this book a few days ago, but it still has me under its spell. Thank goodness, the next one is coming out in a week! I couldnt wait much longer!
ViH1 More than 1 year ago
This book is totally captivating and moving. The characters are complex, interesting, and entertaining. I found myself laughing, crying, but never bored. It left me yearning for more, and feeling cheated that the rest of the series will take awhile to be published and released.
Lisa82NY More than 1 year ago
I loved this book series
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Found this at a Big Lots and fell in love with the authors. Then I read the second, Decision and Destiny, from the library. and want Forever Waiting. Just can't get enough and look forward to trying to find Colette's Prayer and Silent Oceans Away. They are almost impossible to put down Hope to find it here at home and not have to wait on an order.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG so cool. Ya' ll are every where!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finally i found yal the gathering is at gathering first result see u there
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im back. I havent been on in a month!!! Anyone here have a TI-84 Plus and can use PRGM?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Move camps, ashcoulds locked out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello * pads in * im kinda new...wheres ur leader?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seastar is. Silverrver hisses. And im staying here.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seastar is dead. CloudWISH the deputy is now leader
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ASHCLOUD Locked out!!!
Lynda166 More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book. I loved it. It's a story about a girl who grew up with a abusive father and a wonderful mother. She leaves school to be a companion with an older lady. Later she travels to an island to help with 3 children. I just ordered the other 2 books of the trilogy. Charmaine is the main character who is quite entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Renda_Brooks More than 1 year ago
From page one of this story, DeVa Gantt (Debra & Valerie Gantt) managed to pull me into Charmaine Ryan's life. I was transported from the here and now to 1800s Virginia and then to Les Charmantes, an island in the Carribean. I felt sadness in some parts, laughed in others, and dislike for some of the characters of Charmaine's world. Charmaine starts her "working" life at an early age as a companion to Loretta Harrington. The Harrington's treat Charmaine as their own, especially after her father, John, murders her mother, Marie. Early in the story, John runs from the crime and is not seen nor heard from, except in Charmaine's nightmares. After learning of a Governess position on Les Charmantes with the wealthy Duvoisin family, the Harrington's provide Charmaine with an opportunity to start a new life. They travel to the island and after a few interviews with Coletta, the three children's mother, Charmaine is hired and moves into the mansion. Charmaine finds herself becoming entwined in the wealthy family's life and the mystery, adventure, and intrigue swirled with each page turned. She comes to adore and is adored by the children and Coletta. Frederic, the master and patriarch, treats her indifferently. Frederic's illegitimate son, Paul, attempts to court her. Agatha, Frederic's first wife's sister, is cruel and selfish. Eventually John, the heir of the Duvoisin fortune, returns to the island and torments Charmaine relentlessly. I found myself unable to put this book down until I finished the last page. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series.
Bettybook More than 1 year ago
This is the first in a series of 3 books about the Duvoisin family. Set in the 1800's, this historical fiction is a must read. The plots are cleverly managed and keep the interest level high. The second and third books: "Decision and Destiny" and "Forever Waiting" are now also in print. They were worth the wait. The authors have done a fabulous job. Plenty of opportunity for a prequel or sequel in the future. Would make a great movie or mini series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story gets you so involved in the characters. I found myself laughing out loud. I was so glad I was on vacation when I started reading I ended up spending the day just reading and finished the book in less then 24 hours. You feel a loss when you reach the end of the book. I can't wait to read the next book due out in April. I know what I'll be reading over the spring break.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For the reader who loves sweeping storys and lots of guessing , if you want well writen plot and likeable and 3d characers this is it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
QUICKFOOT well... dins trial isnt as hard as naryu... i would rate it seven on a scale from one to nine. Its much easier than the trial of the godde-- heh sorry no spoilers for u!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yea. Srry!