×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Silver Palate Cookbook
  • Alternative view 1 of The Silver Palate Cookbook
  • Alternative view 2 of The Silver Palate Cookbook
  • Alternative view 3 of The Silver Palate Cookbook
  • Alternative view 4 of The Silver Palate Cookbook
<Previous >Next
     

The Silver Palate Cookbook

4.1 18
by Julee Rosso, Sheila Lukins
 

See All Formats & Editions

Enriched with full-color photographs in honor of its twenty-fifth anniversary, The Silver Palate Cookbook is the beloved classic that brings a new passion for food and entertaining into American homes. Its 350 flawlessly seasoned, stand-out dishes make every occasion special, and its recipes, featuring vibrant, pure ingredients, are a pleasure to cook. Brimming

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Silver Palate Cookbook 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I first began to learn how to cook I was overwhelmed with the array of cookbooks on the market. I purchased several compilations and found many of the recipes to have uneven results. You could spend an hour on a recipe only to have it turn out to be the blandest meal ever produced. In came The Silver Palate Cookbook by Julee Rosso and Sheila Lukins. This cookbook was notable for breaking away from traditional American fare, creating celebrated innovative American recipes and incorporating fresh ingredients. It now seems like a staid proposition, but twenty-five years ago, using fresh ingredients was a novel idea. While some cookbooks are formidable in size, The Silver Palate perfectly hits its stride with just enough recipes, covering finger food, fish, cheese, meat, dessert, vegetable and drink dishes. The most wonderful part of this book is that the recipes are uniformly fantastic. Chili for a Crowd, Minty Cucumber Salad, and the favorite, Chicken Marabella, are not only simple in their execution, they are delicious. Although I haven't made a dent in the dessert section, for fear of changing my entire diet solely to sweets, the dessert recipes I have tried are scrumptious. The book is enhanced with sidebars that explain how to cook herbs, or prepare edible flowers. The only cautionary note is that The Silver Palate includes a hefty amount of rich ingredients, which today, you can easily find substitute products and still get the same excellent results. Quill says: Cookbooks come and go, but this one will endure for the ages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i have had this cookbook for many years. My copy wore out and fell apart so i wanted to get another one as i love it. Great recipes in this and it has been redone with beautiful pictures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My softbound book is well used and I am very happy to have found a digital copy. This is not just a great cookbook, but also a great read. The anecdotes and side panel information are really what make this book stand out. The recipes always turn out well, a definite plus.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've been trying to find a copy of this cookbook for years. My ex and I each get the original one for half the year! Thanksgiving dinner has to have the apple sausage stuffing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Great reference for recipes that have become standards in all gourmet kitchens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Profrayne More than 1 year ago
The only thing better than the original Silver Palate Cookbook is this new 25th anniversary edition. It contains the recipe for their world-famous Chicken Marbella, which alone is worth the price of the book. It is an easy to follow, easy to read cookbook with recipes that will suit both the novice and those of us who are always looking for something different for tonight's dinner. The full color illustrations are glorious, and the flavor combinations are outstanding. This is a great cookbook to give to newlyweds as well as celebrants of 25th or later anniversaries, Like the best cookbooks, it is also fascinating to read just for the fun of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SMAF More than 1 year ago
This is a book I have used for years and love to give as a gift. In its day, it was innovative, using good, fresh ingredients in creative and healthy ways--often classic recipes, but with a flair. Maybe an unexpected or unusual ingredient, or an extra-rich dessert. The cookbook has worn well over the years, and still seems fresh and new.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have a few Silver Palate cookbooks. This one is easy to read, easy recipes and I now have a great cookbook for our cottage. I had to make dinner for 80 people and made Chicken Mirabella - it received rave reviews. Good cookbook to buy for your kitchen library.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This original edition of this cookbook has been in my mother's kitchen for as long as I can remember. The recipes she found in it helped make it the warm, fragrant, delicious place that I remember. Now that I'm newly married, this new edition has found a permanent place in my kitchen. Some of my husband's and my favorite recipes are from this cookbook! It's a must-have for any kitchen.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While a number of the recipes tend to be pretentious, some of them are so simple they defy reason. The pasta with tomatoes and brie is absolutely fantastic and is so easy to put together, it's ridiculous. And the Chicken Marbella is fantastic as a buffet dish, but it's even better cold.
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to cook with flair, this is the book for you! The Silver Palate Cookbook is an excellent addition to any kitchen. All of the recipes are easy to follow and the results are excellent. Truly one of the best cookbooks in my collection.