×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Simple Things
     

Simple Things

4.5 9
by Amy Grant
 

See All Formats & Editions

As the title implies, Amy Grant's first album of all-new material in six years -- her hymns collection Legacy came out in 2002 -- is a somewhat low-key affair, short on production gloss and long on feel-good, organic simplicity. Grant's last set of originals, 1997's dark and personal Behind the Eyes, addressed the painful side

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Simple Things 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Best Songs in This Album is "Innocence lost" & "Simple Things".
Guest More than 1 year ago
The four stars represent my overall review of Mrs. Gill's career of which I've been following for 22 years! I will be racing to the store on the 19th to hear this new recording as it's been way too long since the last "pop" album from this Grammy and Dove Award winner. "Behind the Eye's" was a beautiful album but I'm glad to hear this one find's her in a better, more happy, place. Here's to less time before the next project and here's to a live in concert dvd!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Amy Grant is a good Singer
Guest More than 1 year ago
Simple Things has been worth the LONG six year wait! This is such a great album with such fun songs as "Happy", "Looking for You" and "Simple Things". I also love "Eye to Eye" and "Out in the Open". Every single song on the CD is a masterpiece and a delight to hear. I am so glad that Amy has returned and I don't want to wait this long for her next album. I hope all of her fans, new and old, will support this new album. Thanks Amy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
In these times of music, you never hear anything that can refresh the love of the music you used to hear. But this album makes me believe that there are still a few great albums as wonderful as this one that will be released by many past-time artists. Even after 25 plus years of making music, Grant and her producers still do not dissapoint! The title track may be the albums expected "Best song" of the album, but the opening track, "Happy", is by far the best, and is a wonderful song for women to take their mans hands and slow dance for a little while. Great song to begin to fall in love with! The songs are all fantastic, and the closing track is by far the more relaxing one, especially if you've had a hard day at work and you just decide to lite a flame in your living room fireplace and relax. For an album that could've been maybe 10 or 15 minuteslonger, this album would even make me conider waiting another 6 years for new music by this talented artist!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Amy's long anticipated album "Simple Things" was well worth the wait. Amy's beautiful vocals and timeless lyrics provide the listener with a message of the power of forgivness, acceptance, and happiness. Amy Grant has really created a genre of christian-inspired music that's purely Amy. Overall, Amy Grant's latest Album "Simple Things" is as endearing, poised, graceful, and compassionate as Amy is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got this CD for my birthday, and I have to say that this is Amy's best yet. I love every song, and I had never heard any of them before! The best one, in my opinion is "Eye To Eye" This CD is pretty short, with only ten songs, but they are all wonderful!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
As a delightfully hardcore fan of Amy Grant's, I have eagerly awaited the release of another album; however, this one stands out: not only because of her personal honesty due to the circumstances she's faced in the past few years easily located in the songs she sings, but the subtlety and emotion in her voice. Dynamic and edgy (note that the title track sounds a bit more bubblegum pop due to the mainstream - which is still good to groove to), Amy digs a lot deeper and pulls back the shades to show how healing, forgiveness, patience, love, and understanding makes the simple things in life rewardingly wonderful. Sure to put a smile on your face and warm your heart! (possibly make you cry as well)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Definitely worth the wait. A wide variety of sounds and styles. I'm still a huge fan of Behind the Eyes and Lead Me On. Simple Things continues to grow on me and is now a favorite. I've been a fan since Straight Ahead ... Amy's music continues to get better and better!