×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sister
     

Sister

3.9 230
by Rosamund Lupton
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Lupton enters the highly charged ring where the best psychological detective writers spar... Like Kate Atkinson, Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Rendell… Both tear-jerking and spine-tingling, Sister provides an adrenaline rush that could cause a chill on the sunniest afternoon." —The New York Times Book Review
&

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sister 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 230 reviews.
angeleyesAS More than 1 year ago
Sister is an engrossing, emotional thriller touching on devotion, betrayal, self-absorption, madness, and grief. It keeps you wondering just how unraveled Bee is going to become and wondering what really happened to Tess. The story is cleverly plotted and fast paced. Bee is the responsible sister and Tess is an impulsive free spirit who sees the beauty in the world around her. When Beatrice learns that her beloved sister has disappeared, she rushes home to London. But when the police find young Tess's body, everyone seems ready to accept it as suicide. Everybody, that is, but Beatrice. While bureaucracy stands in her way, she leaves the rules behind and goes in search of the truth. Her search and discoveries blend romance, politics, and science in surprising ways. When everyone is sure that her pursuit of Tess's killer is a delusion, she has to nurture that so-called delusion to unlock the truth. This selective turn of the head gives her a vivid personality. The book is highly compelling and totally riveting. The writing is excellent.
Ellster More than 1 year ago
Riveting thriller that had me torn between not being able to put the book down with not wanting to finish it because I loved the characters and storyline so much.
Carol Barrett More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down! The plot kept me guessing and just when I thought I had the mystery solved it would twist and turn again. Writing was smart and characters well developed. The beautiful relationship of Bee and her sister brought me to tears. LOVED IT!
Forrest Quiggle More than 1 year ago
Overall a pretty good read, not great. There were numerous points in the story i wanted the author to just get to the point. The ending was alright.
lsmeadows More than 1 year ago
One of the things that I am enjoying about being involved in Goodreads and writing a blog, is the amount of new authors that I have been exposed to. Rosamund Lupton is another one of those authors. Sister is her debut novel, and it is well worth the read. What Lupton gives us is a tale of the relationship between two sisters all wrapped up in a mystery. Rather than taking away from either story, these two stories fit well together and keep the reader involved. Bee flies to London as her sister is reported missing, only to have the police discover her sister's body and to have the coroner declare it as a suicide. Bee does not believe Tess would commit suicide and proceeds to try to prove otherwise. The story is told in the form of letters to her sister and Bee's ultimate recollection of events. I found both stories captivating and engrossing. The characters were excellently portrayed and believable. The relationship story had the right mix of nostalgia and poignancy. The mystery was excellent, complete with all the right twists and turns and an ending that was surprising on more than one level. Great debut by Ms. Lupton and I am looking forward to reading her next book.
Ayane More than 1 year ago
Rosamund Lupton has become one of my author's to watch with Sister. This isn't a murder mystery novel as much as it is a story that demonstrates the power of the bonds of sisterhood under the worst of circumstances. Through Lupton's writing I began to find myself mourning for Tess, the lost sister, and desperately wanting to see Beatrice succeed in proving Tess didn't kill herself. Sisters made me long for the bond that these two sisters had in my own life.
Thiltpold More than 1 year ago
The story started out slow during the introduction of characters but mid way through so much was happening I could not put it down. A very interesting account of "who done it".
juliaandlauren More than 1 year ago
Best book I have read in a while. Grabs you. I kept sneaking off to read it anytime I could.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading this book and it is outstanding. It keeps you interested and it has a surprising ending. I did not want the book to end. I will look for her second book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is suspenseful with enough twists to keep you thinking, guessing & interested. I was a bit underwhelmed with the overt genetics underpinnings. I also at times had to focus on the setting - are we in the past or the present?; however, there is an eventual payoff to the reader. The best part of this novel the author's ability to vividly portray the bonds of sisterhood.
Beekermlady More than 1 year ago
I truly felt connected to Bee and Tess, until about page 200, then it seemed like the story just strayed too far from their relationship and on to a very twisty reality of Beatrice. A turn in the novel that I wasn't expecting and believe may have hindered the initial plot. It was unexpected and a unique turn but seriously under developed and rushed. Still, I will recommend this book and look forward to watch/reading as this author perfects her style!
KAdham More than 1 year ago
I heard an interview with the author on NPR and decided I would pick this up. It was great, as I have a sister and it was so real, I totally understood the prespective of the narrator and couldn't put it down until I was finished!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderfully written great perspective full of details, You will enjoy it and want more
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
..."Sister" captures you and doesn't let go until the last word is devoured. I was not seeking a thriller but was attracted due to having a sister who is so different & yet so similar to myself. I would reccomend this to anyone who wants lifelike characters flaws & all. It is a true page turner that holds you like glue beginning to end.
Luv2readdiane More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully written book. The characters are wonderful, the essence of the story was captivating. Would love to read other books written by Rosamund Lupton. I have recommended this book to many friends already. Enjoy, Luv 2 read.
Betti More than 1 year ago
I really loved this book....can hardly wait for her next one! The end was especially good. I did not see it coming and it definately left me wanting more books from this author! This book would also make a good book club read because it has mystery, suspence, and romance. In other words, a little bit of something for everyone.
BeauJW More than 1 year ago
I muddled through this book hoping that it would get better...it didn't. The author did manage to convey the loving bond between the sisters. Not a page turner.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Walked in " hi im home"
Anonymous 10 months ago
Here?
Anonymous 10 months ago
Wants to have kyle for herself as a sex slave
Anonymous 10 months ago
Our res got moved . Go to res one
Anonymous 10 months ago
The bathroom door closed.
Anonymous 11 months ago
He walks in"Hey sis"
Anonymous 11 months ago
Sighed as she watched tv
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is beautifully written