×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sister Wife (Brides of Gabriel Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of Sister Wife (Brides of Gabriel Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of Sister Wife (Brides of Gabriel Series #1)
     

Sister Wife (Brides of Gabriel Series #1)

3.8 21
by Diane Noble
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Sister Wife is the first book in a new Brides of Gabriel historical series set during the formation of the Mormon edict of polygamy. Award-winning author Diane Noble explores the inner conflicts, emotions, and decisions of three women married to the same man. A moving tale of faith and doubt, love and commitment for fans of Big Love or those

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sister Wife 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At first I had a hard time getting into the book. The beginning was a little dull with the old english language. I just struggled following along. But it started to get better so I stuck with it. However the book even though it was hard to put down because I wanted to see what happened next, it also was very hard to take in. I struggled with this book for days due to the polygamous relationships Gabe was having. I could actually feel Mary Rose's pain and I became angry. I do not believe the person's comment to be true about how the book is trying to sell you into polygamy. The book represents what a lot of women are going through with polygamy today and they feel trapped. It shows the pain they feel, the jealousy, the resentment, yet the desire to still want love.
kitty597 More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next book in the series! Good plot, enjoyed the historical tidbits the author was careful to include.
Janna6 More than 1 year ago
The subject behind this book really intrigued me, "What if the man you loved told you God wanted him to take another wife? What if that woman was your best friend?" Diane has definitely done her research in this book about the Morman practice of polygamy. The prologue snatched me from the beginning, then we went back in time about a year and met the characters as they were meeting. The story weaves its way back to the prologue and then we follow through to a time in the future. Along the way we meet Gabe who falls in love with Mary Rose on a voyage from England to America in the 1840's. They get married before even reaching Boston and join the Morman church (Brigham Young was on board the ship too). Eventually through different circumstances Gabe is told he has to take another wife, it happens to be Mary Rose's best friend. Can they remain members of a church that tells them to do this? Can their love withstand it? Can Mary Rose and Bronwyn's friendship withstand it? I found it fascinating how a religion and a mere man who says that he heard from God could basically do what he wanted with no repercussions. That so many people would follow blindly. A fascinating perspective and a good story.
Gertt More than 1 year ago
The Sister Wife is a well written, interesting story, however, I found parts of it to be weak and questionable. After Mary Rose gave in to Gabriel's persistance to bed Bronwyn, her (Bronwyn) going to Mary, in her robe no less, to make sure Mary Rose had agreed and proceeding to excitedly run upstairs to Gabriel's room to have sex with him, practically under Mary's nose, was cruel. Gabriel and Bronwyn not being able to contain their lust until Mary Rose was in her room, hopefully asleep, showed how little they cared about her or her feelings. Breaking their vow on remaining platonic would have been more believable if it just happened sometime when they were alone. Bronwyn, a supposedly grieving widow with a child, dancing like a school girl in front of the mirror on her and Gabriel's wedding day and later her joy at thinking Gabriel had fallen in love with her, made her look silly and uncaring. Polygamy was practiced during the late 1800's, however, I find it questionable that women (esp. those, like Bronwyn, raised outside of this religion) were excited about becoming a plural wife. I believe the majority relunctantly agreed because they were widowed with children and felt they had no choice, or their fathers forced them to marry against their will. Equally hard to understand was Enid and her reasons for pursuing Gabriel now. At the beginning of the story I found Gabriel to be intelligent, strong and likable, however, he turned out to be confused, easily swayed and obviously was not as in love with Mary Rose as he claimed. Bronwyn was also equally disappointing, often silly and simple minded. I did like Mary Rose, the only strong character in the series, and hope she not only finds her way of this mess, but finds a man that truly loves and cares for her, so that Gabriel realizes what he's given up to please the 'prophets'. But, I'll probably never know because I doubt I will continue with this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is good so far and i havent got to the second chapter
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The_Reading_Reviewer More than 1 year ago
When you being an adventure you are always prepared for the unexpected. You hope and pray that what you confront will be good and hopeful but must be prepared if it is not. When Lady Mary Rose Ashley leaves England with her grandfather and assorted family members she was ill prepared for all the drastic changes it would bring. Her grandfather had met and been inspired by Brigham Young who carried the word of Joseph Smith. Mary Rose starts this journey out as a nonbeliever and doubts what is being said. But before too long into the trip she meets a woman who shows her what sisterhood and friendship is all about and winds up falling in love with Gabriel McKay who changes both of them. Mary Rose and Gabe find love and conviction through the teachings and blessings of the Mormon faith and as they travel to a place free of religious persecution they also depend more on each other than anyone else. Gabe accepts the new family responsibilities and is chosen to be a leader in the new land they settle. But Mary Rose struggles with all the decisions that are made by the Prophet and fights the demons within her to overcome and learn to live the faith she feels is showing her the way and absorb its healing light. Diane Noble has written a book that helps the reader feel as if they are in the 1800's and taking part in the experience of the Mormon first steps. There are difficulties in Mary Rose's life that cause the reader some pain but she is so strong that with Gabe by her side anything is possible. Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer located at www.marygramlich.com
rmattos More than 1 year ago
This is a very touching story of a young lady, Mary Rose Ashley, who is travelling by ship from Liverpool to America and in her journey she meets ship builder Gabriel MacKay. They fall in love and get married while still in the ship. When reaching America, they headed to Nauvoo, where Mormon prophet Joseph Smith preaches revelations he received directly from God. Among those revelations, the prophet says that polygamy not only is acceptable but also is encouraged. He orders Gabriel to marry Mary Rose's best friend, Browyn and that sets a spiritual conflict on Mary when facing this very difficult and unusual situation, that would shake her life and faith. Then there is Enid, who plans to become Gabriel's first wife regardless prior spouses... The author was very successful and she had the sensibility to describe all the deep emotions of the characters involved in the story in a richness manner. We suffer with them, we joy with them, we learn with them. The historical aspect of this book shows a lot of research by the author on the early years of the Mormon church and how and why the concept of polygamy was introduced in the Mormonism. Without taking sides on what is right or wrong, Diane lets the reader thinks and reaches his/her own conclusions. It is truly a magnificent romance and it deserves to be in the permanent library of any serious reader. And I am eager to read how this story will develop through the series "Brides of Gabriel". This book was written by Diane Noble and was published by Harper Collins that were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1841 recently converted to Mormonism, Lady Mary Rose Ashley travels by ship from Liverpool, England to America. On board the Sea Hawk, she meets ship builder Gabriel MacKay. They are attracted to one another; she introduces him to her new religious beliefs; and they marry. The newlyweds settle in Nauvoo, where Mormon prophet Joseph Smith preaches his revelations from God. Joseph's latest proclamation is that polygamy is acceptable and encouraged. He directs Gabriel to wed Mary Rose's best friend, the widow Bronwyn so she can be taken care of. Gabriel and Bronwyn agree to marry, but she insists on a nonphysical arrangement; however Mary Rose believes that though she is his first wife she might be losing her husband to his second wife. Then there is Enid who plans to become Gabriel's first wife regardless of prior spouses. The first Brides of Gabriel tale is a strong relationship historical drama that takes a deep look at Mormon polygamy without preaching pro or con. Instead the cast makes the tale powerful as engrossed readers reflect on their belief system that encourages under certain proscribed circumstances multiple marriages in order to economically support several households that insures the caring of widows and orphans. Americana readers and those interested in alternate societal systems will relish the well written The Sister Wife. Harriet Klausner
Deidre72 More than 1 year ago
It really seemed like propaganda to me. I thought it was gross. It is a story trying to sell you polygamy and I have a hard time believing ANY non-mormons would like it at all. Especially revolting was a small child character who the author felt must lisp her way through most of the book so some time was spent trying to decipher what the hell this child was even saying. I hated it.