×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sisters in Love (Love in Bloom: Snow Sisters, #1)
     

Sisters in Love (Love in Bloom: Snow Sisters, #1)

3.8 147
by Melissa Foster
 

See All Formats & Editions

Voted BEST BOOK SERIES by Supportive Business Moms, UK

"I highly recommend this book to fans of Nora Roberts (one of my personal faves) and fans of a sweet story filled with heat and heart." —Tia Bach "Mom in love with fiction" (on Sisters in Love)

"A beautiful story about love and self-growth and finding that balance to happiness. Powerfully written and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sisters in Love (Snow Sisters, Book One: Love in Bloom Series) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 147 reviews.
k-koira More than 1 year ago
Sisters In Love On the surface of things, Sisters in Love is a love story. And essentially, this is a completely true description of the book. However, it is the style and skill of the writing that elevates it beyond the simple basic love story into an enjoyable novel that appeals for the reread and leaves you wanting more of the story.  The relationship between sisters Danica and Kaylee is a key point in this book. The sisters are extremely different and yet still very close. Their relationship and interactions is an aspect of the book that gives it more depth than your standard quick-read love story. It helps create a real feel for the characters, and leaves a desire to know more about how their story turns out. The male lead, Blake, is not a very likable person, at least on the surface. But the chapters written from his perspective help show the inner turmoil he feels and his desire for change, even when it isn't apparent in his behavior toward others. Danica being a Big Sister in the Big Sister/Little Sister program was mentioned and brought into the book as well. It didn't seem completely central to the main plot of the story, but did offer an opportunity for Danica to really explore some of the feelings and emotions that were going on in her own head, especially in terms of her relationship with her sister Kaylee. Overall, Sisters In Love was a very enjoyable book. The writing is simple enough to make it a relatively quick read, but in depth enough to make it something more than a quick fluff book. I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.
coziecorner More than 1 year ago
Melissa Foster pens "Sisters In love" in a plot filled with heart warming romance. Between the authors clean writing, a great blend of drama/romance/love/passion, and her characters that were believable, relate-able and had great chemistry between the, I fell in love with the story and had a hard time putting the book down. A sweet love story with a touch of humor and growth that I highly recommend to all romance fans. This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
186 pg. The book was alright nothing special. Got a little slow in the middle but overall a decient book for free
RabidReaderReviews More than 1 year ago
I love the way that Melissa Foster writes. She takes some pretty common romance archetypes – the uptight woman not looking for love and the man ho looking for his next fling – and makes them unique. I am a romance reader so have read these characters hundreds of times in hundreds of ways and yet Foster brings something to the table that is new and fresh. As per the usual contemporary romance script, the characters start out a little grating. Danica is something of a prude and almost irrational in her behaviour and then add to the equation that she’s a therapist. I’m gonna be honest with you here, when I first read her I pictured Dana Carvey’s Church Lady from SNL. The saying for mechanics is that their cars are always in blocks in the driveway and this analogy fits for Danica. She’s a therapist who is great at giving advice and doesn’t hesitate for even a minute to share her gift whether people want it or not. She makes somewhat questionable choices in her own life. Blake is the pretty typical alpha male man-ho. Not a whole lot to recommend him beyond a pretty face and big muscles. Foster develops these characters rounding out their rough edges in a way that makes them not only likable but also relatable. Much of “Sisters in Love” builds the base for the rest of the series. We meet the sisters and get an introduction to their relationship and dynamic. As with all of us, we are different people in different relationships and environments and Fosters doesn’t discount that real life dynamic. At the end of the day, “Sisters in Love” is a romance in the truest sense of the word and is a well-written example of that genre. If you like romance pick up “Sisters in Love.”
gaele More than 1 year ago
AudioBook Review: Stars: Overall 4 Narration 4 Story 4 From the start, I was curious to see just how this story would progress: Danica is the typical repressed and uptight character, with a giant case of ‘take care of everyone’. A herculean task, as she has a sister Kaylie that took all of the wild genes in the family. Danica starts out as all points and pokes: harsh and quick to judge everyone she encounters in her personal life, she’s the epitome of someone unable to apply their knowledge to their own life. Fortunately we do see her softer and more caring side early on, as she’s a Big Sister to Michelle, a young girl desperately in need of solid caring guidance. Blake – oh what to say about Blake. He’s so caught up in his own issues and avoidance of them that he comes off as brash, outspoken, carefree and wholly a player. Something not going his way? Use whomever is handy to distract and make him forget. Not the best quality when his distractions always center on his own sexual conquests, with no thought to after. He was not an easy character to respect, let alone like, until he actually wanted to make a change. Danica and Blake have an instant physical attraction, but as her patient working through his own grief and choices, the potential seems limited. But, as they get to know one another, the connection grows and the two see potential. Well, if you discount Blake’s inability to keep his pants zipped up. As a couple – it took me most of the book to find the ability to both see them as a couple and want them together. Narration by B.J. Harrison for this title was interesting. I’m familiar with his Classic Tales Podcast, and his ability to present a story’s emotional moments without overreaching and making the listener uncomfortable is present in all his work. While the character voices were not delineated with changes in pitch and tone, the presentation between narrative voice and character voices did present differences and add to the listen. A clever choice of narrator that works well with the story and holds interest. Overall, if you are wanting a boy meets girl, boy gets girl, HEA story – this isn’t it. This story makes you work for the relationship as you struggle through (and often want to smack) the characters while they wander from good decision to bad and back to good again. They are real people, with real issues and get in their own way more than once on the way to finding one another. I received an AudioBook copy of the title from the author for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility.
420Spring More than 1 year ago
This is the first time I have read anything written by Melissa Foster and the Love in Bloom: Sister in Love series will be added to my must read listing. Danica Snow, therapist, is a strong and independent woman who has led her life as she thought her parents wanted her to while her sister, Kaylie as the free spirit. When player, Blake Carter, comes crashing into her life things start to change and she non longer can keep the attraction she has from her professional persona. Her personal issues with men who are players and trust stem from a father who had an affair and left their mother. Blake Cater cannot stop thinking of the woman he accidently hit in the coffee shop. He had his ski shop and women to occupy his time, but when a tragic accident takes the life of his best friend and business partner, he re-evaluates his lifestyle and wants to change his life. His is where he comes face to face with the woman he cannot stop thinking about, his new therapist to get over childhood issues and the death of his friend. As these to struggle with maintain their growing attraction for one another, Danica continues to breakdown Blake's barrier with his issues and finds a place in his heart but can he breakdown her barriers as well. While Danica is struggling with the growing feelings for Blake, she is also dealing with being a Little Sister to Michelle which has her own issues with her life. Kaylie is also adding to the stress of her sister's issues with Blake since she called "dibs" on him first and also with her self-esteem in herself is not making it better. As she starts to take some of her own advice she gives to her patients, we start to see the more fun loving person appear and is able to help others more since the walls are coming down for other to see. This is a great read and would highly recommend and looking forward to reading about Kailey story.
MsDivatude More than 1 year ago
Melissa Foster has a way with words! No matter what genre she’s writing – I’ve genuinely enjoyed reading her novels and they leave me attached to the characters. Sisters In Love is no exception! As the oldest of 3 daughters – the responsible, mothering one of the bunch, I can relate the internal struggles of the main character, Danica. This romantic novel is one that will take you on a tad bit of an emotional roller coaster, but overall it’s a great read. There are times when the choices made by the characters make you want to shake them – you want to dislike them but you can’t help but sympathize with them and their circumstances. I’m truly looking forward to the remaining books in this series!
Anonymous 4 months ago
This story was just ok to me. Found that I was more interested in the side storyline (Michelle) than main story. Disappointed
Anonymous 6 months ago
I have read a lot of Melissa' s books and they are always great .
JAC0314 8 months ago
did not hold interest
RenWar More than 1 year ago
This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of Audiobook Blast. This is a beautifully crafted story about friendship, love, loss, and family dynamics. Danica and Kaylie Snow are sisters, totally opposites of each other, living in a small tourist town in the mountains of Colorado. Danica is the beautiful, smart, practical one, while Kaylie is the sexy, talented, carefree one. Danica is a Psychologist, Kaylie, is a singer. Blake Carter is the local player. Stunt skier, successful business owner, king of the one-night stand; and he wears these badges proudly. When his best friend and business partner is suddenly killed in a skiing accident, Blake begins to take a serious look at his life and make some changes. This is the catalyst that propels this story. Everything that transpires following the accident will change the lives of the main characters as well as a few others. Blake will discover things about himself that he never dreamed he had in him, and learn to deal with his insecurities. Danica will let go of the tight hold on her emotions and beliefs and make decisions that will affect not only her life, but could also affect many others. Kaylie, will discover and battle with one of her greatest fears and find joy in the discovery. This story totally engulfed me from beginning to end. It has everything you could ever want in a romance novel and delivers it all in a way that will capture your heart and soul. The narrator does a great job of bringing the characters to life and giving them their own personalities. It was a joy to listen to and I can’t wait to get the next book and see where life will take the Snow sisters next.
CassandraNZ More than 1 year ago
Sisters in Love is book #1 in the Love in Bloom series and is book #1 in the Snow Sisters series but can be read as a standalone. The snow sisters as you can guess follow sisters. In this particular book, Danica Snow is a therapist. Danica is also a part of a Big Sister Program, this puts her right in the middle of a troubled teen’s life as her mother undergoes rehab for alcoholism. Blake Carter is your typical player. He goes through woman every night and doesn’t show any signs of stopping. His best friend/ business partner constant bugs him about it but how can a man like Blake suddenly stop his way? Well when a tragic event hits Blake, his world gets turned upside down and suddenly he starts to question everything including himself. When Blake walks into Danica’s office, the attraction between them is white hot, but Danica isn’t the type to give into the heat and rick her career. **CONTENT WARNING: Due to mature content, recommended for readers aged 18+**
Bowers1 More than 1 year ago
Did not care for this book. Too boring and not enough build up of the characters romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love the Snow sisters!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had it's moments. Not what I usually expect from this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A free 150 page story of a self-doubting self-effacing therapist, her Barbie doll sister, and a gorgeous manwhore. The first nine chapters were a continual downer of her view of herself and when in doubt get drunk and be an idiot (physician heal thyself?) but the story picks up and evolves into a good storyline. There are a few places where it seems like a lecture in psychology, but it's probably hard to leave your work mindset in the office. What I couldn't figure out is how she went to two colleges without having a separate interaction with people other than her family at 29 years old.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked it a lot