×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sisters Who Would Be Queen: Mary, Katherine, and Lady Jane Grey: A Tudor Tragedy
     

The Sisters Who Would Be Queen: Mary, Katherine, and Lady Jane Grey: A Tudor Tragedy

3.8 24
by Leanda de Lisle
 

See All Formats & Editions

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Mary, Katherine, and Jane Grey–sisters whose mere existence nearly toppled a kingdom and altered a nation’s destiny–are the captivating subjects of Leanda de Lisle’s new book. The Sisters Who Would Be Queen breathes fresh life into these three young women, who were victimized in the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sisters Who Would Be Queen: Mary, Katherine, and Lady Jane Grey: A Tudor Tragedy 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fascinating true story about three sisters who were heirs to the Tudor crown
jms41 More than 1 year ago
Not knowing much about Lady Jane Grey or her family, I found this book quite interesting. It was sad that she only reigned as Queen for a few days, but that is history. I enjoyed learning about her other two sisters in the Grey family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As can be said of all her books, Leanda de Lisle delivers nonfiction at its very best. She most certainly has dedicated countless hours of research in preparation of bringing this story in history alive. There is literally ZERO dry reading found in The Sisters Who Would Be Queen. The story of Jane Grey is fairly well known but that of her sisters, Mary and Katherine seems to have been pushed in to the dusty cob webbed corners of the history shelves.Thanks to Leanda de Lisle, these young women and the fascinating events of their lives are brought right into your home, library or school. Well done, Ms. DeLisle, and THANK YOU!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Sisters Who Would Be Queen is fairly interesting, particularly if you are into the history of England and its politics. Four Stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
well -- I don't agree with the reviewers who found this book dull or repetitive. I suppose one has to love reading about historical subjects, to enjoy this book. I found it exceedingly well-written and it held my interest over several OTHER books that I was reading at the same time. But then --I enjoy reading history!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. She dispelled myths about the Grey sisters and other Tudor courtiers including the Seymours and Dudleys. Jane is seen as a victim, and her mother as a monster and father as a dullard or the same as Frances. And Katherine as an idiot and Mary Grey is not given much thought too but Leanda deconstructs these pop stereotypes to give us the real Greys. What comes out is an active, staunch Protestant reformer as her cousin Edward VI who was encouraging rebellion in her last days before she and her husband Guildford were beheaded. Frances is tno the monster of Tudor myth but a strict and caring mother who pleaded to the last minute to save her husband and daughter's life. The same goes for the two younger Grey sisters who were the victim of the Tudor sisters' ambition and their fear of the claim they had. Katherine died, near mad, in 1568 and her sister Mary ent years later, also punished for marrying without the Queen's knowledge and for wanting to be happy. She was forgiven after a while and allowed to lice comfortably but she was never allowed to see her husband, and was criticized, ridiculed by the Spanish ambassador.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very interesting and easy to read; a great look at life during such a historic time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dr5934 More than 1 year ago
The writing was good, however there is no need to denigrate other authors to prove the points you're trying to make.  I found this insulting to other historians/authors as well as myself.  Interesting subject matter, however this could have been better without the finger pointing and detailing of other's mistakes or lack thereof.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
editrixSM More than 1 year ago
Dreadful. An exciting family and subject rendered dull by repetition and rote facts - deleted early with extreme prejudice - don't waste your time or money. Unless you are an insomniac.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
question...does this read as historical fiction...or just history? I loved The Boleyn Sisters ( I couldn't give it a fair review because of the question being asked I haven't rread it yet)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Euggffrgghrghefffhhhdteqwqqwe
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi