×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Skin
  • Alternative view 1 of Skin
  • Alternative view 2 of Skin
     

Skin

4.3 14
by Adrienne Maria Vrettos
 

See All Formats & Editions

I'M TELLING YOU THIS BECAUSE YOU DIDN'T ASK. I'VE GOT IT ALL HERE, GROWING LIKE A TUMOR IN MY THROAT.

I'm telling you because if I don't, I will choke on it. Everybody knows what happened, but nobody asks. And Elvis the EMT doesn't count because when he asked, he didn't even listen to me answer because he was listening to my sister's heart not beat with his

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Skin 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
bootzie_bday More than 1 year ago
In the first chapter of this book, you already can't put it down. Curiosity rings your mind and you need to know more. Karen and Donnie's parents are hard to understand, especially when they fight majority of the time. The parents bickering bring Donnie and Karen closer together. These kids know the drill, to run out front to block out the noise of their parents yelling and screaming at each other-because this is their average every day. If you like reading about realistic lives, you should read this book, Skin.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've connected with Donnie in this book in so many ways, I've spent my entire life in the background. Left out. Ignored. Forgotten. Left Behind. Invisible. I've spent my entire life taking care of others, just like Donnie, whether they realize it or not. It's just nice to know I'm not the only one. SERIOUSLY RECOMMENDED!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shannon92 More than 1 year ago
When i picked up the book Skin I did not know what to expect. I had never heard of it before, i just picked this book up and chose to read it. And wow am i happy i did. This book is one of the best books that I have read in a long time! It deals with a lot of issues that teenagers can understand. If you read this book I promise you that you will not regret it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Donnie is a freshmen freak with a messed up family! So what else is new? This book is ok for a simple and quick read only.If your looking for depth and real drama move on!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Donnie is a teen who is struggling with his existence to others and the survival of his family. He must deal with his sister, Karen's, anorexia. She is the only one he has know to trust and comfort him while his parents are arguing. The bond they share is like no other. He must also try to help keep his parents together. The least of his concerns is himself. Seeing your family fall apart right before your eyes is hard, im glad Donnie is a strong enough person to do all he can. i really like this book. Skin, because it deals with real situations that people struggle with. Donnie takes up the responsibility to help save his sister and his parents.As a teen who is already falling away from society, he tries to do all he can to save his family, afterall they're all he has.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book I read was Skin by Adrienne Vrettos. It is about a boy named Donnie whose sister, Karen, is suffering from an eating disorder. Donnie has to deal with that, and being an outcast at school, and he has to deal with his parents fighting everyday. While his sister starts to get worse everyday, Donnie tries to help her in any way he can, even if it means him becoming invisible. i love this because it has to do with things that are going on in a teens world. Parents fighting and taking a 'break' and some even dealing with anerxia..and also dealing with the presures of the high food chain..if you cant deal your problems do what i do...read someles.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It made me think about my life and the things I do to my own body, I don't want to die. It inspired me to get help. I think this book deserves a 5. Everyone I lend it to loves it. She has written a great book and I hope she writes more!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I'm usually not a book reader, but I started reading this one for a school project and I loved it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
'Skin' was a book I randomely found on the shelf while shopping with a friend. As I began to read the flap I noticed this was going to be a great one. I was so engulfed in it, I finished within one day. It was very deep and made me think of some issues that happen, and the effects my smallest choices make.