×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Skin Map (Bright Empires Series #1)
     

The Skin Map (Bright Empires Series #1)

3.8 152
by Stephen R. Lawhead
 

See All Formats & Editions

It is the ultimate quest for the ultimate treasure. Chasing a map tattooed on human skin. Across an omniverse of intersecting realities. To unravel the future of the future.

Kit Livingstone’s great-grandfather appears to him in a deserted alley during a tumultuous storm. He reveals an unbelievable story: that the ley lines throughout Britain are

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Skin Map (Bright Empires Series) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 152 reviews.
laura24 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this book. It was something new. very fast paced.
Chhaya More than 1 year ago
Contrary to my expectations I found 'The Skin Map' by Stephen Lawhead quite entertaining. It revolves round Kit Livingstone and his adventures in search for a map tattooed to the skin - hence the title skin map. This is no ordinary map as it reveals a portal between worlds. The supernatural element in the plot has been superbly woven and once you can understand the concept of the plot, the storyline falls in place. One of the major drawbacks of this genre of fiction is that usually they tend to become boring but Steven Lawhead seems to have done his research well and hence his work is quite interesting. The book is advised to be read at one go or else you might lose track of the plot. Over and above it is a nice work and once you get the hang of the plot it becomes quite unputdownable.
UnderthePink More than 1 year ago
In the very few first pages of this book, I didn't really know what to expect (and wasn't really sure if I really liked it). But boy would that soon change! This is an AMAZING book and Stephen Lawhead is truly a gifted author. From his detailed descriptions to his character development to his humor, he writes a perfect mix for a GREAT book! Heading over to purchase the second book in the series "The Bone House" right now. If you enjoy fantasy/time travel type books, you will love this one.
The_Book_Diva More than 1 year ago
C. Christopher "Kit" Livingstone is an average 20-something male. He is employed and has a girlfriend, and he isn't happy with either one. Kit's life changes when he meets his great-grandfather and is taught about ley lines that provide for inter-dimensional time travel -- different times and alternate universes. Unfortunately he tries to impress his girlfriend, Wilhelmina "Mina" Klug with ley line travel. Mina gets taken to early 17th century Prague whereas Kit is taken to 17th century England. What follows is a wild adventure of discovery and intrigue. Mina finds her place by becoming a successful merchant as co-owner of a bakery and coffeehouse and even earns a royal warrant. Kit is still floundering while trying to understand the importance of ley lines, the "skin map" that depicts and decodes these ley lines, and his role in decoding the information. This story is told from multiple points of views, namely Kit, Mina, Lord Burleigh and Arthur Flinders-Petrie. The reader travels to Macau, ancient Egypt during the times of the pharaohs, early 20th century Egypt and the discovery of Tutankhamen's tomb by Henry Carter and Lord Carnarvon, and alternate 17th century European civilizations. The mystery lies in the ultimate purpose of the ley lines and the search for the Well of Souls, something that only Mr. Flinders-Petrie apparently knew and had coded into symbols tattooed onto his body. There are hints given to myths and mysteries but nothing is ever spelled out. Although Kit's role seems to be pivotal to this story I found all of the other characters much more interesting. Mina is determined to make the best of a bad situation and quickly adapts to living in the 16th century. Mr. Flinders-Petrie is the key and we're allowed a glimpse of his life and travels in Macau and ancient Egypt. I enjoyed reading about the various adventures each person has and even learning about the theories behind the ley lines and their importance in the hypothetical omniverse. The Skin Map is well-written but it moved a little too slow for my tastes, not to mention leaving too many questions to be answered in, presumably, the remaining books. I enjoyed this book but I doubt if I'll be reading any more in this series, it simply wasn't that captivating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Time travel, traveling between dimensions has always intrigued me. This is a well put together story. My only criticism of it is that the author is British and he writes like Brits speak, especially in the time periods. I've never cared much for British authors for that reason. On the other hand, I enjoyed the story enough that I bought the 2nd book in the series.
Grayeagle More than 1 year ago
Stephen Lawhead is one of my favorite authors and I always look forward to any of his new writings. THE SKIN MAP started off a bit slowly, but the story line is a unique concept and it takes a while to develop the format. Don't rush it. That will spoil the fun. Once into it, though, I was hooked. I certainly look forward to reading the following books in the Bright Empires series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I only started reading this because it was suggested after reading the Hunger Games... and I loved it! Possibly more than the Hunger Games. Yes it is choppy between chapters and sometimes you have to re-read a page to figure out who and when you are reading, but after a little while you find the rhythm and it no longer feels awkward. I love the story, I love the characters, and I cannot wait for the final book!
Lady_Diana More than 1 year ago
When I first read the preview of this book I was interested in reading it, it appealed to me. The one thing I didn’t know was how much I would really enjoy the story. This is one of those books that makes you want to get out of your house and try to explore and experiment if it is really just a story or something more. One of my favourite and more desired “wish-it’d-come-true” aspects since a very long time ago, the time/place travel related in this book makes you feel like a child again, with all the dreams and hopes. I think the story was very well written, with a healthy balance of slow and fast reading moments. I loved the multiple languages and cultures that appeared in the book. There is no real climax in this book, except in the end, which makes you hate (in that hate that shares the same line with love) the book’s ending. Why do you hate this? Because you know you won’t stop thinking about it until you have the next book. Completely in on the Steampunk theme, I will almost certainly reread the book, I will definitely read the sequel and my friends will hear me talk about this book until they’re sick and tired of me. I give it 5 stars.
Hana_Rui More than 1 year ago
The idea of time travel has always excited me. Imagine having the ability to go back in time and change a few minor details to make your present somehow livable... It's the stuff fantasies are made of, I know. But there is indeed truth to the saying, 'Reality is stranger than fiction', right? So, we never really know... However, this kind of life-altering adventure doesn't come without a hitch. Stephen R. Lawhead's book, The Skin Map, shows just how time travel can be used for both good and corrupted intentions. From the moment Cosimo Livingstone, his long-estranged great-grandfather appeared in some random alley overridden with ley lines, Kit knew his life would never be the same. He was a non-believer at first, but how much could he really deny after getting transported back in time himself? It became easy enough to believe everything from that point, especially since believing and moving forward was all he had if he ever hoped to find his girlfriend, whom he lost in the middle of a ley line leap. He just wasn't banking on how grave and perilous time traveling could be especially with a group of burley thugs constantly at their heels, tirelessly bullying them to produce a curious thing they called, the skin map. This novel follows the lives of the men and women, good and bad, willingly and not-so-willingly involved in the whole business of the skin map, a whole spread of torso skin that supposedly belonged to one Arthur Flinders-Petrie and that which contained the secrets to ley line travel. I am relatively new to the idea of ley lines. I may have read about them somewhere in the past, but nothing about them having the ability to open portals through time and space. And while it made a good enough concept to get this book started, the fact that it could open avenues to many different plains of reality through various fabrics of time became a little confusing to me in the long run-too many people, too many events, too little brain cells to efficiently keep up with everything. Add to this the fact that nothing was really concluded right down to the very last page. If anything, it just made the story more of a 'woah-what-just-happened' conundrum instead of the 'oh-so-that's-what-happened' resolution. It did have some interesting characters, though. And did good, too, in building up my interest to read the second book, if only to find out how all the loose ends the first book left will get entangled and knotted up right eventually. Not exactly a page-turner, but an entertaining read nevertheless. Just don't expect for any of the mysteries it introduces to be resolved in any way. Apparently, there are two other books to look forward to for that. ^-^
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kit starts to develop some character as the misadventures continue. I liked Arthur and his Chinese wife a lot. Burleigh is a good villain to hate. Lots of mystery in this book. Look forward to the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great writing with a unique concept. The ending was thrown together as though the author had gotten tired of being creative and just wanted to wrap up the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Marsha66 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoy this series! Very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great conict and nice characterization done by the author. Ending was quite unclear although read my times. 4.5/5
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago